We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an event!”
Review of The Mulberry

The Mulberry
Ranked #17 of 131 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Mulberry Farnham caters for a variety of customers, with cosy fireplaces and sofas for intimate gatherings, 17 delicious homemade gourmet burgers, a large area for parties and great buffet food, somewhere to relax and unwind at the end of a busy day in the office and a place where you can let loose and dance to live music and phenomenal DJ's.The Mulberry boasts the largest beer garden in central Farnham split into 3 levels. The upper area is laid to grass and can seat 200, often used for BBQs and charity events, and includes a childrens play area. The lower area can seat up to 100 and we have a completely covered area immediately adjacent to the pub with a large screen television.The Mulberry offers 17 fantastic Gourmet burgers as well as ribs, buckets of spicy chicken wings and calamari, salads, baguettes and our legendary Bad Boy plank, all in all embracing everything that is American! We also have a lunch time menu, Monday to Friday, for those who prefer something lighter and a children's menu with some very unique desserts including the Flower Pot, Mars Attacks and Seven Sins.The Mulberry prides itself in only using the best quality products in all our food. Our meat comes from Morgans of Farnham and the mincemeat used in the burgers has been ground to our chefs own recipe. Our vegetables are sourced from G. Hone and our speciality products and cheeses are from La Espanola. All our baps and bread is baked fresh for us and supplied by Loaf of Farnham. If you are thinking of holding a party The Mulberry offers a multitude of platters, bowl food, nibbles or canapes. We also cater for BBQ's for parties or for smaller gatherings. If there is anything specific that is required The Mulberry kitchen team are always available to discuss and provide the perfect culinary solution.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I organised for my company to have an informal team-building event at The Mulberry and it could not have gone better. The room was great and beautifully laid out with great quirky decor. The Staff were extremely helpful, in particular David Young the Manager who helped me put together the event. The food was outstanding! We had the party buffet and there was plenty of choice and everyone in my team went up for seconds (and thirds!). The pub itself is a beautiful 19th century building right next door to farnham station, so very convenient for those catching trains home. All in all a huge success!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and delighted you had a good experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for The Mulberry
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 265 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We attended a party and decided to sit down and eat. Two of us had steak, one burger and one chilli. The chilli came out ten minutes after everyone else's. We ordered a bottle of the most expensive red wine and did not come by the time we were three quarters through our meal so we cancelled it. Our steaks were cooked as we ordered them rare but they were very chewy with lots of sinew running through. We also ordered as an extra a peppercorn sauce which had a lovely flavour but was very runny and as the steaks were presented on flat slates it was impossible to pour over without it going all over the table and spilling on your clothes. Service was poor and was not even asked how our meals were. The pub is good but I would not eat there again. Other friends say the same!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charliebrown03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am sorry your experience was not excellent which we strive to provide to our customers.
I was in fact there on that day and remember you well. The issue of the food not coming out together was because you placed two orders, and the one with the chilli was a separate order made and later than the first. All our food is made fresh to order and is not frozen and microwaved, so when the chef starts he finishes and food goes out when made, if we held it on the pass the quality deteriorates. All our staff ask parties to order together for this reason.
I am sorry the steak was not to your taste, it was a rump stake as stated on the menu, so it will not be as lean as fillet, but I can assure you our local butchers provide us with excellent quality meat.
The issue with the wine arose because you advised the staff you were eating outside but then decided to move inside to the room where the party was being held, where all the tables and chairs had been moved to accommodate a party rather than dining. When the waitress went to find you outside they clearly could not and returned to the bar with the wine. The manager did bring the wine over after noticing the confusion. It makes it difficult for us to provide table service when you move around!
Again sorry you did not enjoy your experience as much as we would have hoped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I came here with a large party of hungover wedding guests from the previous day. Everyone was pleased with their burgers (and we had a good selection between us). Little tip though, don't order your burger with fries - you probably won't have room and the house salad option was much more refreshing and tasty (though there was nothing wrong with the fries i should add). We also had some cheesey garlic bread, but again, it was kind of overkill with the size of the burgers and could also have done with being a little more garliccy in my oppinion.

After lunch we sat outside for quite a few drinks. The beer garden is nice and there was a beautiful friendly tabby cat which always goes down well with us lot.

I would give the burgers 5 stars, and the wine and beer selection was good (a little pricey, but we're Northern so the South always seems a bit dear to us), service was excellent, it seemed like a bit of a wait (but maybe just because I was starving?) and was totally worth waiting for

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brodiepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Many thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

food was great. had 3 burgers in a weekend! is that wise? Do no attempt the burger challenge unless you are seriously hungry. Good range of other option too.

1  Thank onion01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited thus pub with members of my family.
The pub specialises in burgers to suit all tastes and do that very well. We each had a different burger and all were delicious and served with nice crunchy chips.
Prices were reasonable for a "gourmet" burger and the service was prompt and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quelch, Owner at The Mulberry, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulberry also viewed

 

Been to The Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing