We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food beside an open fire, prompt service, enjoy it.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Reserve with OpenTable
The Royal Oak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 127 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Food beside an open fire, prompt service, enjoy it.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

For the hungary traveller on the A31, why not make for Wrecclesham and try this pub which fronts the main street. A lovely log fire greeted our arrival and despite being nearly full to capacity we had our drinks in our hand and food ordered within minutes. Just as advertised,
our vegetables were freshly cooked and my husband had Rolled Beef cooked in red wine with carrots, broccoli, leeks and saute potatoes which was very tasty indeed and I had a Sirloin Steak with chips, tomatoes and mushrooms. This meal was equally delicious. My only negative comment must be the pepper sauce which was poor and relatively tasteless especially as it cost £1.50p. There is a good selection of desserts and the filter coffee is excellent. The staff are pleasant and helpful, especially the good humoured chef who just saved my blushes when he stopped me from entering the "Gents"!
Would I return - certainly, just the food would be enough to tempt me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wooster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It sounds like you had a good time and met most members of staff - especially bumping into the chef! We work very hard to provide a good atmosphere and excellent food here and it is always lovely to get positive feedback from our customers. On the subject of the peppercorn sauce; we have decided to have a review of our recipe and try out a few others to see if we can better ours. Sauces are always difficult as everyone has a different idea of what makes a good sauce. However it is always good to review what we do so again we value the feedback.
We hope to be seeing you again soon, kind regards
Ed and Becs..... And Pav (the Chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    83
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“You must try the cheesecake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Sunday lunch - partner is veggie and really enjoyed his veggie roast. Meat roast reasonable, yummy yorkshire, potatoes and parsnips, plenty of gravy.
The stand out for me was the amazing cheesecake - I will be back!!!!!!!
Wish I had a local like this

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are very glad you enjoyed your lunch here, especially the Veggie Roast! We work very hard to try and provide a good atmosphere and delicious home-made food here so it is always nice to get such positive feedback. Since your review we have sold a lot more Cheesecake!!! Look forward to seeing you again in the future
Ed and Becs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food brilliant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Been to the royal oak twice now first time just me and my husband second time with friends both times have been brilliant first time we went about 7:30 in the evening second time bout 3:00pm which was a busier time even so it didn't make any difference to the food or the service would highly recommend anyone to go here

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjaneball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are pleased to hear your enjoy your visits here and look forward to seeing you soon.
Many thanks
Ed and Becs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Came here with my parents in January and we really enjoyed our visit! Great English pub atmosphere and food! My meal, my partners and my Mums all looked fresh and were really tasty - only criticism is that my Dads shepherds pie looked like a ready meal and tasted like one! It lets the pub down as the rest of the food was brilliant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 320Christina_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in tripadvisor, we really appreciate the feedback from our customers. Sorry to hear your father was dissatisfied with his meal, we are looking into the presentation of the shepherds pie, although I can assure you it was homemade. We hope you visit here again soon.
Many thanks
Ed and Becs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Country pub with food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good quality pub food with deliciously tender steaks. Range of beers. Friendly service and adequate car park. What more does one need?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward S, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on tripadvisor. The steaks here are very popular and we are glad you enjoyed them. Look forward to your next visit.

Ed and Becs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing