We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Farnham(Farnham)(Great Value!)
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Farnborough(Farnborough)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aviator(Farnborough)
$133
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
123
212
175
112
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
212
175
112
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoak loungehigh streetground floormiddle of townan updatestayed here for one nightcomfy bedafternoon teavenuepubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 699 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We recently stayed here for a family wedding . The town itself is beautiful with lots of individual shops and restaurants not your usual chains that was lovely to see! The hotel is right on the High St which is great and within walking distance to Farnham Castle which is where the wedding was .
The hotel I itself is obviously well used which is apparent in many the fixtures and fittings but at the same time homely as there was a lovely sitting room with log fire. The staff were never intrusive . The rooms were very clean, although on one occasion my mothers room had no housekeeping done! Was pretty noisy too perhaps with the Christmas parties with music easily audible from our room hence poor sleep .
The breakfast was plentiful although the cooked breakfast buffet never seemed that hot which is a shame as the food was all lovely.
The check in and out however was not seamless , issues with not all rooms allocated from booking.com thankfully had the evidence as not sure what would have happened ! And also on checkout wanted a further sum of money for the extra room ....Pardon ? So beware if booking several rooms like we did months in advance. Staff need to be a little more courteous I would suggest.
Farmam Castle however is a stunning venue for a wedding nothing could be faulted there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter19966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay and the location of the hotel.
We appreciate your various suggestions and will be working hard with the team on the areas you mentioned to make further improvements.
We hope you had a nice closure of 2013 and wish you all the best for 2014.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Unfortunately I have to agree with some of the other reviews about the quality of the food at a Christmas function. It really was awful!
We arrived at the Conference Centre to find none of the heaters were on. This was the weekend before Christmas and the room is very large with high ceilings. All the girls were shivering in our party dresses.
The food went from bad to worse with the majority of people leaving at least half of the main course. The beef I had (at least that's what it was supposed to be!) was inedible and the roast potatoes were anaemic looking on the outside with no crispiness and watery tasting on the inside. On the plus side at least the brussel sprouts weren't overcooked!!
My colleagues commented on the weirdest baked Alaska they'd ever had, although I didn't eat the dessert so couldn't comment.
Really hoping the company doesn't book The Bush again next year, as I think I'll be giving it a miss!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
I apologize for the fact that you didn't enjoy your meal for your Christmas party.
The temperature in the room is often perceived to be too high at Christmas parties, but I am sorry this was not the case during your party.

The beef you chose was slow cooked braised beef, which is a typical winter dish. It might not be to verybody's taste. We will look very closely at our menus for 2014 to ensure that the dishes we chose are carefully selected with a wide variety of tastes in mind.
The Baked Alaska is often served in a large shape and then cut. We served it in individual smaller shapes. Once again, I am sorry you didn't like your meal.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The company booked their Christmas function here and the hotel offer a discounted rate for staff. Bearing this in mind, the room is good value for money, good size room, clean and a reasonable shower. Breakfast buffet also good bearing in mind the room price. However, whilst the room was perfectly good, do not go here for a function. Food quality was poor, crackers were the lowest budget and generally the whole event was poor.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine, functions are not
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinatDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, following your stay at the Bush Hotel.
We hope you had a great Christmas and New Year's celebrations.

I will pass on your positive feedback regarding our rooms and the extensive breakfast buffet we do.
Please do get in touch with me regarding your feedback about your company event just before Christmas. We had some really nice feedback from functions, but yours and only an occasional other one stated the opposite. I know it is not always possible to please everybody, but it is certainly our intention to do so and it would be good to discuss this to be able to look at what can be done to improve. May I take this opportunity of wishing you all the best for 2014.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night due to a diversion. It was clearly short notice due weather and we weren't the only crews there. The place an oldie, and verging on a goodie too. Only complaint was the noise from the bar downstairs (rowdy pilots and flight attendants) which isn't entirely the hotels fault. It is also right smack in the middle of a nice town which is a big plus.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Bush Hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you also like its location in the middle of the town centre. We don't tend to get a lot of noise from our bars, but in December, this does increase somewhat as it would in many other hotels, due to the busy Christmas season.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future and wish you a very happy New Year.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

On arrival not easy to see reception desk. Reception staff average...not really wanting to do much more than had too and that really did come across.
Our room was fine. Rest of Hotel really does need cleaning up and revamped. Yes I know its an old Hotel , but other Hotels have done it. I can see possibly why people book here as its very central as its in town and has a good size car park.

Our evening meal was fine as it was a pre booked set menu for a group of aprox 35 people in a private room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzielovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your room and your evening meal in your group of 35 guests.
I appreciate your feedback that some of the corridor decor still needs to be updated, but do hope you liked the new decor on the ground floor, which was redone in April 2013.
We have discussed your feedback regarding reception to ensure everybody is very committed to provide a very nice hospitality.
All best wishes for 2014 & we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews