We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived to what seemed like a lovely hotel. Helped check in a relative to a good sized room with air-con, fridge, huge bed etc. Got to ours with no fridge, air-con or huge bed although paying the same price and it was like a sauna!! The windows barely opened so we asked to be moved. We were told the hotel was full though we knew a lot of our wedding party were yet to check-in. We then discovered the toilet was not working. A plumber arrived and was unable to resolve the issue, but seemed to have better customer service skills than the reception staff! After several more phone calls, threats of checking out etc.... we were offered similar alternatives above the bar or further along, Finally we were found a better room completely which at no extra cost which we accepted. Our first night was really noisy and we were kept awake til 3 a.m. Other people complained and were moved too. We also had another room in our party with a faulty toilet which reception said would be looked at in the afternoon after it was reported in the morning! Generally the hotel is very dated in parts and needs some carpets replacing, breakfast is very good though. Sadly our relatives must have spent a small fortune having a wedding there, but that didn't seem to have any reflection on proper customer care and service :(

Room Tip: Ask for an air-conditioned room, to be as far away from the bar / function room areas as poss. &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLilLdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. I am really sorry for the shortcomings you experienced.

I am glad that your relative, who stayed on the ground floor, had a good room experience.
However, not all of our rooms offer airconditioning at present and I am sorry you found your room to be too warm. Your relative wouldn't have been charged any additional charges for a room with airconditioning.

I am also sorry that you had a toilet system failure and appreciate that we should have offered a room move for you faster than we did. In hindsight this could have been dealt with quicker and my reception team would like to be associated with my apology.

The music for the wedding on the first night finished at midnight and I am sorry to read that despite us offering you a room away from the function room, you were still disturbed by other guests till 3am.

We have just invested in a complete ground floor refurbishment and hope you liked the look and feel of the restaurant, bar, reception & Bramley suite and we continue to look for further improvements and investments. I am also pleased to read your feedback regarding our breakfast.

Your feedback has been discussed with our team and will help us as we continue to improve on our services. We hope to be able to get the opportunity to welcoming you back for you to experience a hassle free stay.
If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please do not hesitate to contact me 01252-715237 or on H6621-GM@accor.com.

Yours sincerely,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    190
    152
    93
    59
See reviews for
118
197
36
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, we were booked into this hotel by the airline I work for and as we loved the previous hotel we were all dead against being moved and it was going to be bad no matter what...but do you know, It was rather good and very comfortable even for someone that has to sleep through the day! and as for the staff, they were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really good and set in the centre of town it was first class, a very nice place to stay and the staff, well they were magnificient!

Room Tip: When its hot, don't have a room on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis6621, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay to the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. It is a pleasure to read your comments.

I will pass on your feedback to the staff, which will serve as an encouragement.
We hope you will fly back to the local area soon and that we get the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good basic hotel. Room was comfortable,en suite clean and a decent size. Pretty gardens at the back of the hotel which is central Farnham. The breakfast was good quality and the staff attentive and pleasant. We were at a wedding reception and thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ipscullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis6621, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
Your feedback regarding the bedrooms, gardens, breakfast, staff and service are very much appreciated and I passed them on to the team. I am confident this will serve as an encouragement to all.
We are glad you also enjoyed the wedding and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Generally, reception, the rooms and staff were very good. I was disappointed with the poor selection of ales- no decent real ales which these days is not good.
My wife enjoyed her evening meal but my steak was medium well done not medium rare - I was given a discount rather than a new steak and upset our timing. Meals were served on cold plates and not very hot.- ingredient quality was OK
Breakfast food ingredient quality was good but served luke warm on near cold plates.
The restaurant was not busy and I think an otherwise good stay was seriously marred by the kitchen which is not far from the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 70graham70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis6621, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank your for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
It is important to get constructive feedback. We do serve locally brewed TEA from our local Hogs Back Brewery. As a result of your feedback we have extended the selection of ales and other products from this brewery and improved the display to showcase them better.

I also noted your feedback regarding the temperature of our plates and we have taken steps to avoid them being luke warm in the future.
We also now have a very good new head chef, Lee Betteridge, who will implement further improvements to our food offerings.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

ok we had 5 rooms here last month and yeah everything fairly standard mercure hotels provide, besides from the showers in all 5 rooms throw water all over the place (oh well not my job to clean it up but they only make their staffs lives harder)
the bar was ok, stayed open late for us all and very friendly great customer service from the chap on the bar..
however one massive problem is the door cards...... i kept having to go back from the far side of the hotel on the top floor all the way back to the reception in one instantce 3 times for the same attempt to get into the room!! they try blaming it on having phones or credit cards near it so i purposely left my phone and wallet in the room..... mistake!!!!!!!!!
the two women on reception weren't the friendliest but i suppose they dont seem to think that someone in mid 20's turning up in jeans t shirt and sunglasses..deserves the same level of respect that they gave to the person in front of me 50ish in a suit...
heres the problem... i am in an industry where i stay in hotels around the world A LOT!!!! and dint like to be spoken to the way i was... seemed far too snobby for a receptionist....
room was comfy when i could get in it.. great location in farnham right in the centre and plenty of other places to go for food close by.

Room Tip: do not get a room at the carpark end on the top floors it takes ages to get too and from them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis6621, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel. I am sorry that on several occasions the key card did not work and for the inconvenience this caused you.
I took your feedback regarding the reception staff behaviour very seriously have discussed this with the team. All my team members would like to be associated with my apology. It is definitely our full intention to give good customer service and your feedback helps me to address any shortcomings.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freckleton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here for months a few years ago and tried it again last week. It was still a little quirky but good value. A lot of European staff and one or two communication problems but nothing a smile and a little patience would not cure.

Room Tip: new part of hotel is a little tired but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vrodrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyTijhuis6621, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel.
It is great to see that you enjoyed your visit again.
We value your repeat custom to the hotel. If there is anything I can help you with for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time on H6621-GM@accor.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Property: Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing