We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Surrey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had an evening dinner here with a party at Christmas and a very nice meal. The beer selection is appalling, John Smiths smooth and that's it although there is Heineken and the obligatory Fosters/Guinness but these are NOT beers.
I was here again for a lunch party the other day and we had all pre-ordered meals my starter was fine but the main course left a lot to be desired. I chose fish from the market, well that was stretching it a bit Tuna steak, the market likely being some wholesaler to Mercure who deals in frozen stock weeks old, I wonder where the market was. From the market to me is fresh fish, probably whole. The vegetables were soft and looked glazed.
I don't normally have coffe at the end and wished I hadn't - the cup and saucer were frozen and the coffe was cold within seconds of it being poured.

Well come on The Bush, get your fingers out and work at it or don't you think it necessary given your prime position and general shortage of beds in the area.

Room Tip: Eat and drink elsewhere the town is full of good places
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete-n-Suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your regular custom and would like to apologize for the shortcomings you received when you had your last meal with us.
Rest assured that the quality of our offerings is extremely important to us and that measures will be put in place to ensure your next visit will even more pleasant than your positive Christmas visit.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    193
    153
    95
    63
See reviews for
122
202
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent service and friendly hotel. Good food and very clean public and private areas. Staff a friendly, polite, well presented and knowledgable of the local area. hotel is situated in the centre of the town yet is quiet and has good parking facilities

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Peter0022,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the Bush Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were well looked after by the staff in the hotel. Thank you too for your recommendation. We appreciate all of our guests feedback, but it's always especially pleasing to know when we get things right, and when people love the hotel as much as we do.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have always held the hotel with great affection; it's good value, it's well located in Farnham which has some excellent restaurants and there's a good choice of tasty food options at the hotel.

However, the last couple of trips I've had rooms varying from the tired to the downright outdated - from just rather old or fraying styling to things in the bathroom not working or poorly positioned. The staff react quickly, but one particularly noisy night (there seems to be some student accommodation nearby and if you're on a still night in rooms facing it, you hear the bass) there was nothing they could do with finding an alternate room.

Could do with a bit of an update; it remains a nice hotel, and good value but needs investment to stop it becoming another Potters International in a few years time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Bush Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you have held the hotel with affection and hope that you will continue to do so.
I understand that on your last couple of trips that you have found some elements to be less than you have come to expect, and would like to assure you that our maintenance team are constantly working to upkeep the standards in the rooms on an ongoing basis. We appreciate you bringing these issues to light and will ensure that these are flagged to the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had arrived to have an evening meal for 6 people, and were surprised that we were all alone in this rather large dining room. As the evening went on it appeared that the waiter was the man cooking the food out back then providing extra heating in the way of a 39yr old electric one!!
Food arrived late and some was either over done ie Stake or wrong altogether. Overall non of us were impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Bush Hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and I am pleased to say that we have begun to open the Oak lounge for diners in the evening, which allows for a more intamate dining experience when the restaurant is not busy. I am sorry to hear that you felt at the time that the waiter was the person cooking your food, and would like to assure you that this was not the case.

We do value all of your feedback, and would hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel looks very pretty on the internet, the best bit of it is the outside back garden that is very sweet. However the hotel itself is really dated, the carpets are worn, the rooms very 1980's, the walls are scuffed, the bathrooms very old, the decor in quite bad taste and generally needs a face lift. The floor boards creak constantly so you cant relax without someone walking past and waking you up, and you cant walk around your bedroom without totally annoying other guests.
We had room service breakfast which turned up late and freezing cold, the staff were really friendly and good about taking it off the bill but not what you need when you wake up in a place where they seem to charge nearly £20 for breakfast.

I would recommend this place or stay here again. Sorry!

Room Tip: Dont go there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliPep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Ali Pep,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel.
I am sorry to hear that your experience of the decor in the hotel was not what you had hoped for, however I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful.
We will bear your comments in mind when looking at future work for the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
4.3 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
104 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
278 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,854 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Property: Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing