We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Standard of hotel, let down by faulty shower” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Standard of hotel, let down by faulty shower”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Bush many times in different bedrooms, and overall thehotel is of a high standard. On this occasion, the shower would not not work properly and the shower head was encructed with dirt and needed descaling. I compalined and was offered another room, but too late to make any difference, to m one night stay. I was asked when leaving whether I had enjoyed my stay and again pointed out the problem with the shower, but was not offerred anything but sypathy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wadsworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Wadsworths,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm very glad to hear that when you have stayed before you have found the hotel to be of a high standard.
I have raised the issue that you found with the shower to our housekeeping and maintenace teams, to ensure that this is addressed and does not occur on your future visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    188
    149
    90
    54
See reviews for
116
191
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here fro teh second time a few weeks back, for 4 nights. Had to carry luggage 300 yds to reception as the drop off area was full. Check in seemed OK but I was given a room overlooking the main street and at the end of a labyrinth of doors, steps and other hazards. I was given another rom, at the furthest end of teh hotel, quiet but a major trek, its the way teh place is laid out. Room was cleanbed and pillows OK.

Breakfast was crowded due to a number of wedding parties and on one occasion I could not get a tabel for one person. Food was Ok.

Overall not bad, but expensive for what it is, a basic bed and breakfast

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CurryPuff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear CurryPuff1,
Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry to hear that you felt that the breakfast was crowded during your stay. We are a very popular venue for weddings in the area as well as wedding accomodation, so demand can be quite high at weekends as a result. I am pleased to see that the food standard was to your liking.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have known this hotel for many years so there were no surprises. It is a bit tired in need of updating. We had a room in the very old part of the hotel overlooking The Borough which I feared would be noisy but was not. Slight surprise to find a man in a cherrypicker outside the window on Sunday morning changing the advertising banner which goes across the road!! Four poster bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious with a large sofa . The bathroom is very much showing its age and needs to have better ventilation and updating. The staff were very pleasant and even though there was a wedding going on this did not cause any problems. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice to suit all tastes and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creakychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Creakychris,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your most recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found the room to be comfortable, and that you noticed just how little sound from the town centre you hear once within the bedrooms. Being so central in Farnham town is great for guests who want to shop or visit local businesses and we have great access from the main roads, but we are pleased, as you found out, that the noise does not filter into the bedrooms.

I'm also very glad to note that you found the staff pleasant and the service excellent during your stay. We're increasingly receiving positive feedback on the range and quality of the breakfasts at the hotel, and we are workig hard to ensure that this continues.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on several occassions and the staff are always very good. Its a great location for the business I was doing, and catered well to my needs, of location and convenience. It is also a very beautiful historic building in a nice village. They also do a particularly good breakfast buffet
Downside: Really does need some maintance. Toilet seat only attached one one side, and for executive room (implying I thought the need to work) the lighting was terrible

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear KBE9,
Thank you for your review following your most recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that we catered to your needs so well during your stay, and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffett. This is rapidly becoming a very popular opinion I am pleased to say. A lot of our regular guests, like yourself, find the hotel an ideal base when in the area for business due to the transport links and convienient town centre location, and we are always glad to welcome you back.

Thank you for raising the issue you had with the toilet and lighting in your room during this stay, I have passed this on to our Maintainance manager to address. I hope you will find this has improved by your next visit.

Kind Regards
Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly helpful staff. A good location in the centre of the historic town. The hotel is old world and has some history. Room are comfortable and the grounds well kept. Good links on to the major roads and the M3. Foodb is good.

Room Tip: Close by to some great pubs and eating places. Do not have a room above the patio area outside the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Steve K,
Thank you for your lovely review on the hotel, the grounds are a hidden gem in Farnham town so I'm really pleased you found them to be well kept. As many of our regular guests know, they are a lovely place for afternnoon tea or just to enjoy on a summers evening. We are very proud of the history of the Bush Hotel and it's place in Farnhams history over the years.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have recently stayed at the this hotel for business, I feel it is a good base if you are on business, I would not rate it as somewhere I would wish to stay for a relaxing break, it is very tired in need of a serious update.
Although I would seriously recommend the breafast it was first class, an excellent selection from the buffet or from the menu, with smiling helpful staff to greet you first thing in the morning. (always a plus) All staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The older part of the building is excellent if you you like tradition, if you require a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Mary186258,

I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel a good base when visiting for business, we do have a number of guests who use the hotel in this way when visiting clients or one of the many large corporate companies in surrounding areas of Farnham, Aldershot and Camberley to name just a few.

I'm glad to hear that you found the breakfast food and service first class and that you would recommend it. Our Kitchen and Restaurant team were so pleased to hear your comments. I have also passed on your comments regarding the staff as a whole about how helpful and friendly they were, as we undertand how important it is to make our guests feel at home, so to have this acknowledged is always a boost for the team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel for one night in August.

First the bad points, our 'Privilege' room was in dire need of a makeover. The bathroom sink was badly cracked, the bedroom furniture was very worn out, the carpets were marked and the whole room was very dark. I do understand that the rooms are being updated, this cannot come quickly enough.

The good points, great check in staff, room ready nice and early, comfortable bed with clean linen, helpful staff throughout the hotel and a great breakfast. The hotel is well located in the centre of Farnham with plenty of parking.

If Mercure can get to work with the room updates this will be an excellent three star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an up dated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUSHFarnham, General Manager at Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear crazypom,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that you felt that your room was in need of a makeover, however am pleased to hear that you found the bed comfortable and clean.
I am pleased to hear that you found our Reception and Hotel staff as a whole to be helpful and that you had a great check in, and will pass on your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Paul Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#2 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel

Property: Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
Address: The Borough, Farnham GU9 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Farnham Bush hotel is located in the centre of Farnham, a very short walking distance from the railway station. The Hotel is only 15 minutes drive to Farnborough Airport, around 30 minutes from Heathrow Airport and 35 minutes from Gatwick. Thackery's Restaurant serves modern European cuisine, and the Coachman's Bar is a cosy spot for a nightcap. The 6 fully equipped function rooms can host varying events from small meetings in a boardroom style right up to 140 people for conferences, parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Farnham
Accor Bush Farnham
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing