We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good - in the end...”

The Traditional Plaice
Ranked #65 of 130 Restaurants in Farnham
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food good - in the end...”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Ok, so the local fish and chip shop near my Mum was closed (owner is on holiday) so we were forced to go further afield. After having circled the Farnham one way system 3 times in traffic (even at 6.30pm!) we finally parked in the central car park, paid parking, and found our way through to the fish shop. Quite a queue for service but after putting in our order and seeing everyone else served (including those arriving after us) we were beginning to get a little irritated. They were busy, granted, but the way the kitchen is run is so dis-organised!! Half our order was made up and packaged (and cooling down), whilst the other half was yet to be cooked!! We did finally get our order and it was pretty good, except no salt/vinegar was on a couple of the later items. I won't return in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOf5youngkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    14
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went for the takeaway, there was a big queue--so must be popular. As a vegetarian they couldn`t confirm that the vegeburgers were cooked away from the fish!! I did have the chips but not really sure that they were cooked away from animal products!! the staff couldn`t really give me positive answers!! my family liked the fish and chips.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best fish and Chips”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This must be the best fish and chips that we have had, we are now regulars on a Saturday, have tried other fish and chip location around the Farnham area but this is the best by far and the staff are alway friendly and pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Wow… Just had possibly the best fish & chips I've ever eaten… and the service was so friendly. We will definitely be going back. Thank you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I travel for miles to eat here”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Food excellent and so good that we make a special trip every week to buy our fish,chips, battered sausage and baked beans! We've never had a bad meal and are always happy the service. Anyone who has read my reviews in the past will know that I hate bad service - I've never had cause to complain about the Traditional Plaice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotelreveiwer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Traditional Plaice also viewed

 

Been to The Traditional Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing