We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bon East

Bon East
Ranked #45 of 127 Restaurants in Farnham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Been around Farnham for some years and by far the best Chinese in the area.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Took my three children there on Sunday for lunch as I have heard good reports from local Farnham residents. Arrived and was presented with an 'all you can eat' menu. I am not a fan of this style of eating as I feel the restaurant merely churns out bulk food to fill you up rather than provide you with something that is actually pleasant to eat. However probably my fault for arriving for Sunday lunch.
We ordered starters which included the usual. Satay, prawns on toast etc and it was absolutely fine. We followed this with crispy duck pancakes which was quite good. The main course was poor. The shredded chilli beef came out and if they had turned the lights off it would have glowed in the dark.the cha Sui pork tasted like it had been doused in syrup for a month. They both tasted so synthetic it has put me off revisiting again. Shame. Crying out for a decent Chinese.
Perhaps I should return when it isn't all you can eat or for a take away but I will avoid the two main courses I ordered at lunch like the plague,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    42
    20
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chinese takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Have had many takeaways from Bon East and always get first class food and service. Lovely interior design and convenient setting with easy parking. They do not use mono sodium glutamate so no prawn crackers which disappoints my son! Excellent crispy duck , lovely soups, wonderful sesame seed prawns with chunks of fish, subtle scallops with asparagus , reliable sweet and sour dishes with nice rice and noodles. Always a treat tho at top end for cost.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod4go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant have their own parking, and quite a lot of it, so parking is no trouble! We went as a party of 3 first, and then went again in the week as a part of 5 (it was that good!).
The first trip was absolutely lovely! Service was brilliant, food was lovely (we had set menu A - £18 a head) with drinks and the trip was very much enjoyable!
When we went again in the week, with 5 of us, we had the set menu B (£21 a head), 4 extra dishes, drinks and dessert and paid £150 for it all? Including the 10% service fee! Again service was brilliant - they were very attentive! Food was gorgeous! And the trip was enjoyable!
My only criticism is that the restaurant appearance, though lovely inside, does look a bit 80's pub from the outside which might put people off if they didn't know the restaurant! Also, the inside could do with a more oriental theme (a bit of bamboo woodwork here and there) and could be split up/separated more for some more privacy!
A fantastic place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpmhtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Easter Monday,2013,Disappointed,Not as good as before,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bon East was THE Chinese Resteraunt to go too,on a par with the high class establishments of Hongkong & such like,seems something is a miss,Very sparse n cold in side,No Music or atmosphere,MaitreD was dressing at the Lecturn,and just lost that edge they demonstrated on previous visits,The waitresses did a good job & were the saving grace of our family (11Pax) night out,Food was not its best,again far superior on previous visits,tasteless & use of substandard ingredients as well as over priced for portion sizes offered,coupled with a 10% service charge,left a bitter taste,Sorry wont be going back,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Always top notch but the menu is getting a little tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We like going here as a family but we feel its time to chnge the menu. I cant recall the selection varying since it opened, and although the service is great and the staff wonderful, its much in need of some new dishes and a little more variety...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RollerCoaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon East also viewed

Runfold, Farnham
 

Been to Bon East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing