We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UNBELIEVABLY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE REGARDING COMPLAINT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northbrook Park Mews
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE REGARDING COMPLAINT!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

WHERE DO I START? I travelled from South Wales to this venue to attend a wedding in October and despite the beautiful settings/grounds and very helpful and polite waiting staff I am absolutely appauled by the attitide of Joe [---] 'assistant estage manager' when I needed to complain about the room. My problem was this:
Check-in might have been 1pm but we didn't get into our apartment until 2:15pm. As a result of everyone getting into their apartments late, the wedding time had to be pushed back so that the bride and bridesmaids would have time to get ready and the experience became very stressful for all involved. The only people we could speak to were the cleaners who kept saying ' the rooms are not ready yet', which meant a lot of hanging about for those waiting to get into their rooms. I would have thought that as the rooms were not available for over an hour after they were supposed to have been that a senior member of staff would have been there to apologise to the bride and her guests, however, we didn't see anybody.

We didn't have time to complain about anything to do with the room as we needed to get our stuff unpacked and get ready for the ceremony and of course the next morning we all had slightly heavy heads and had to get back to Newport for work and other commitments.

The lady staying in the bedroom next to the living room, felt uncomfortable because the lock on her bedroom was broken which meant that anybody in the living room would have been able to access her bedroom when she wasn't there and as we only knew her as a guest at the wedding, not as a friend, this was quite awkward, as I know she did not feel comfortable with that situation, so we did not feel comfortable using the lounge.

There was no hot water for us to have a shower, or in the neighbouring apartments and as we had been travelling since 6am and had been rushing around in the morning helping with wedding preparations that was very inconvenient and after paying £110 for the room, unacceptable.
The lack of communication regarding us having to stand outside the apartment for over an hour in the cold and in the rain, with our bags and the lack of hot water available for us to prepare for the wedding made this stay a stressful disaster.

My reply from Joe was something to the effect of 'check in is at 1pm so if you arrive early we can't guarantee you can check-in early. Despite sending him an email twice explaining that the problem wasn't that we arrived early the problem was we arrived on time and couldn't even get into our rooms the response I keep getting is 'i believe i have responded to your email'.

If you are hoping to have your custom valued and to be respected and spoken to properly then please, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    23
    17
    19
See reviews for
59
24
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I attended my neices wedding recently.Several cottages had been booked as family were coming from far and wide. Unfortunately they weren't ,staff were still cleaning them when we arrived so had to stand out in the rain waiting(we had phoned ahead and was reassured they were ready). There was no welcome from the staff just a list posted outside the office door with peoples names by each cottage. The cottages are a lovely idea and great for sharing, however several of ours had no hot water for showers,no keypads for the rooms,and lights didn't work. The bride had to have a cold shower,and no lights to have her make up done. The staff didn't care just walked off and locked themselves in their office.This made the bride late by an hour as we ran round trying to get light etc.The staff were unfriendly accusing family they had broken the patio door as it wouldn't shut properly even though they had just entered the room and were reporting it as a fault they had found.I'm afraid it's a case of we have your money so get on with it yourself.
Not a venue I would recommend for a nice wedding without extra stress.
Trying to speak to someone afterwards is a nightmare still haven't heard from them in fact the bride hasn't heard from them. Maybe they need to focus more on customer service in the future.
I would say a lovely venue but needs a change of staff. If you are going to book a wedding there be advised to allow for extra stress due to lack of staff customer service and warmth. Save your money and go somwhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farnham hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were only staying here due to a friends wedding. Lovely spacious kitchen / lounge. We had the downstairs room which was sufficient for our stay, bathroom was small so we had to take turns in getting ready but couldn't fault it for anything else. Location was lovely and picturesque for a wedding.Great selection of breakfast food that was supplied. Liked that it was it was just a code to get into the rooms rather than having to look after a key!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellethekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My Brother recently got married at this venue. Firstly it is worth saying that I have no complaints about the setting or facilities... the ceremony room was lovely, very light and picturesque. The cottages were also nice enough and suitable for an overnight stay for many of the wedding guests. The reception room is quite large and can comfortably accommodate approximately 70-100 guests.

Unfortunately, I did feel extremely let down by the venue as their communication and organisation was very poor. Having parted with thousands of pounds to book the venue, I don't think it is unreasonable to expect great service at all times. There was a large storm 2 days before the wedding, which I accept is out of the venue's control. The storm knocked out the power at the venue. Again, I do not blame the venue for this problem, but their response was simply unacceptable.

They did not provide any warning of the power problem until 3.5 hours before the wedding when the groom arrived. A generator was in place to provide power for lighting in the reception room, but there was no power in any of the cottages. Many of the guests were relying on using the cottages to get ready for the wedding, including the bride who was intending to finish getting ready at the venue (not unusual!).

If we had received warning the day before or at least first thing in the morning, then it would not have been a problem as guests could have been notified and made alternative plans. Instead, many family members had to drive home again to get ready, making them much later to the venue than planned. This added considerably to the stress of preparing/decorating the venue (staff at venue also provided very little assistance in helping to set up reception room).

As well as the lack of warning, the venue's attempts to resolve the problem were embarrassing. Their attitude was simply 'there is nothing we can do'. Whilst I accept they could not have stopped the storm... they had 2 days to try and solve the problems it caused. Even on the day of the wedding, they did not endeavour to help us in any way. I can only assume this is their reaction to all problems whether they are weather-related or something else. They seemed perfectly content they had received their huge sum of money for the booking and didn't think that included any element of customer service.

Also future guests should be aware there is no sound system or anything like that so unless you hire a band (we did but they didn't arrive until later in the evening), it is difficult to do the speeches or play music.

Overall it was a very stressful experience and I would certainly not recommend this venue to anyone else looking to book their wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Venue was so beautiful for a wedding attended all day and night. Few hiccups with the seating arrangements but all ok in the end. So picturesque with its grounds, lake and lovely country house. (Not to mention the friendly peacocks roaming around!)

Now for the accomodation.... the apartments were all booked out by us and between the 4 'houses' each with 3bedrooms, not one of us had hot water. The rooms were not ready when they told us they would be so the bride was an hour late due to having nowhere to get ready. The bedrooms were supposedly accessable via a keypad (by the way the 4digit pin is same for all the houses... so not very safe) not that this matters as most of the rooms had broken locks anyway and couldnt lock at all. When queried this, we were told that we can have a key to the house (and lock everyone out) as currently you can only lock the house from the inside.... or wait until next day for maintenence man?! To which is pointless as we're all going home the next day.

Did I mention the rooms smelt like sick? And some of them couldn't open the balcony doors.... some couldn't close them. There was some kellogs variety pack - mini cereal left in the kitchen for 'breakfast' which was also below standard considering they charge you upfront abd it isnt exactly dirt cheap!

Altogether the accomodation was awful. Will not recommend anyone stays at the mews... just come for the wedding and drive home!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yateley hants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Northbrook Park was an amazing venue and so beautiful in October with all the vibrant colours in the gardens and walls, great for photographs. Ceremony Room so light and airey and the Orangery was spacious and unusual with all the vines. Accommodation was great with easy access. Just a little strange adjusting heat levels to all rooms. Everyone that came to my Son and Daughter-in-Laws wedding were impressed with everything which encompassed it to be a wonderful day filled with happiness. Thank you Northbrook Park

Room Tip: Higher mezzanine rooms were cold and too bright early morning - shutters would be good on the very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caren57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeFoxAsstEstateMgr, General Manager at Northbrook Park Mews, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your for your comments regarding your wedding day celebrated at Northbrook Park.
It is always so appreciated when someone takes the time and trouble to express their pleasure with an event which has been successful. I have personally passed on your very kind sentiments to all the staff involved in making your event with us so enjoyable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having enjoyed a very good wedding reception and evening function we were disappointed by this accomodation. We were staying in a three bedroom terraced townhouse essentially with each of the bedrooms accessed by a keypad.There was a communal lounge/dining/kitchen area.
Our first floor bedroom was a reasonable size and the bed was comfortable.The room had one functioning light as both the bedside lamps failed to operate.One lacked a bulb. The room could only be ventilated by opening the patio type door which gave access onto the balcony.This door/window had curtains but the triangular glazed area above it did not which meant that the external lighting came into the room until such time as it was switched off. The ensuite shower room was compact.The shower tray was not non-slip. The toilet had a seat but no toilet lid. The towels were good. We could hear a baby crying in the adjoining townhouse and other guests had their sleep disturbed by the noise made by peacocks in the grounds.
The breakfast tray was provided the night we arrived and comprised some individual cereal packets, some fruit, yoghourts, packets of sliced meat and cheese, some croissants, a loaf of white sliced bread and two pints of milk. The kitchen came equipped with tea bags, coffee and sugar.It was not exciting. The rooms we used were clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandISomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farnham hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
2.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northbrook Park Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northbrook Park Mews

Property: Northbrook Park Mews
Address: Northbrook Park Northbrook Estate Northbrook Park | Northbrook, Farnham GU10 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northbrook Park Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nrthbrook Park offers a truly spectacular venue for your special day. Set within 120 acres of stunning countryside, nestles the privately owned Grade II listed, eighteenth-century manor house, offering a choice of unique wedding settings to tailor a truly bespoke celebration. Set on the Surrey and Hampshire border, the property is only a short distance from London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northbrook Park Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbrook Park Mews Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing