We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveler rating
254
247
205
103
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
247
205
103
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa facilities cream tea steam room and sauna groupon deal health club course dinner bit dated bed and breakfast following morning a lovely stay lovely room full english hogs eleanor carvery conservatory dj
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All the staff we encountered here are lovely; friendly, professional, welcoming and helpful. We stayed on a 2 night Travelzoo deal which included a 3 course dinner on the first night and an afternoon tea. We saw some negative reviews before we booked but have to say our experience overall was great. The room was very clean, if a little dated, and a bit low on the number of supplied teabags, milk and biscuits but that is a minor niggle and one that is remedied by just asking for more. Our room faced inwards and overlooked a small garden/spa building and was quiet, given that the hotel is located on a very busy and noisy slip road on to the very busy A31. Do ask for a quieter back of the hotel room when booking. There are some fine views from the gardens too but walking from the hotel (which we had hoped to do) is not great due to the extremely busy road network.

We booked dinner on the first evening and were pre-warned that there was a wedding on for 150 people and that the restaurant was full, indeed the manger had to override the system to fit us in. That made us nervous as some reviews mention very poor service in the restaurant, especially when it is busy. However, our starter and main courses arrived promptly and were very well cooked, nicely presented and tasty. Dessert was a different matter as I had to ask twice where it was and then was told the kitchen had lost the order so we ended up waiting over an hour for it to arrive. Mine was delicious but my husband's cheese board had four pieces of cheese on it, of which three were the same type of Brie!

For me the measure of an establishment is how the staff handle a situation which does or could lead to a customer complaint. We had already decided we would make a complaint about the final course but we did not have to. Without prompting our waiter came over and apologised for the delay and said our bottle of wine and the cheeseboard supplement would not be charged to our account - and it was not.

Afternoon tea on day two was lovey, beautiful scones nicely presented again. Breakfast was fine too. We did not have time to use the spa facilities so cannot comment on them.

We would happily stay here again. The staff are undoubtedly a big asset and definitely contributed a great deal to our positive review.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the side/back and facing in to the spa area.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Localyokel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ4351, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa.

We always review the feedback received and use it to help our future guests receive a better experience at the hotel.

I will ensure that the team are made aware about your comments and please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered especially those in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The service we received at the hotel from the minute we arrived until we left was impeccable. We booked it through a Thorpe Park deal which worked out brilliantly considering it was raining the next day we could use the spa. It was my son’s birthday and all staff made him feel special. We would really recommend this hotel, the rooms were clean and functional but could be updated - that would have made the 5 stars. Great weekend

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank _sarahj_harman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ4351, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa.

I will ensure that your comments are passed back to the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was an ok hotel, there were a small pool, sauna, steam room and a nice small garden to relax. Food was ok but service was appalling. There was a wedding reception and priority was given there so the restaurant customers had to wait for a long time. We had to wait more than an hour for our starter and main to arrive and drinks also took a long time.

Room Tip: Not a room facing the road.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MnTEngland2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ4351, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review and the comments contained within it. Customer feedback is very important to us and we act on constructive feedback received. It was nice to read about your hotel experience and I have passed your comments back to the Bar & Restaurant Manager about the service issues to review. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From speaking to Siobhan before our arrival to departure three days later all the staff were excellent.
The Manager Tom must be congratulated on his pleasant,helpful,staff.
A special mention to Eleanor,Siobhan,Laura,Petra,Gina and Danny who all went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one.
Food very good.

Room Tip: Not 211 as it is above the laundry.,Rooms facing the garden would be quiet.
Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkJ4351, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback concerning the team here at the hotel and I will ensure that your comments are passed back to the team especially those you mention. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We purchased two deals for two couples for £99 per couple! This included a cream tea on arrival, 3 course evening meal, overnight stay and breakfast in the morning. The cream tea was very good as was the evening meal and the buffet breakfast was a great start to the day. We upgraded to classic rooms which had been refurbished to a good standard and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a spa which we didn't use but we took advantage of the swimming pool. The pool is a good size and has roman steps for easy access and there is also a hot tub, steam room and sauna. All of this for an unbelievable £99. At this price you simply cannot go wrong and our friends are convinced it should have been £99 per person. Lovely hotel and really friendly and professional staff. I booked with David who I have to mention as he was so helpful.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what standard rooms are like but classic rooms are very good.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve070872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us here at the Hogs Back Hotel and Spa.

We always review the feedback received and use it to help our future guests receive a better experience at the hotel.

I will ensure your comments are passed back to the team , especially David who you mention.

I notice that you mentioned the Travel Zoo promotion and whilst this is good value for money we do run on own promotions that can be viewed on our website

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews