We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make a meal out”

Loch Fyne Seafood & Grill
Ranked #45 of 128 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our restuarant is beautifully renovated with oak floors and character features. We have a conservatory on the side as well as al fresco patio seating. We also have a private dining room, a separate bar area and a fishmonger counter. We are delighted to offer an excellent a la carte menu at our Loch Fyne Farnham restuarant and you will find nothing but the freshest and most seasonal dishes to choose from.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Staff make a meal out”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Today as a birthday treat I was taken, by friends, to Loch Fyne Farnham
Yes it is a chain restaurant but there the everyday banality ends
Loch Fyne is located in a beautiful spacious and light building in the centre of Farnham. Better still it is located next to two car parks, but what makes this particular restaurant stand out is the customer service
We ate a late lunch which could have meant tired and unhelpful waiters, just wanting to go home. However we were warmly greeted, with no worries that we chose to sit at a different table to the one allocated.
Throughout the meal Tristan, our waiter, looked after us in an attentive but not overpowering manner, always a smile on his face. His attitude and standard of service resulted in a good meal being a happy and memorable experience for us all. Thank you Tristan for making those moules and frites everything they should have been and more

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    126
    93
    76
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Disappointing!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

On Thursday 3 April 2014 I went to Loch Fyne for en evening meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had been there a number of times before and though the service has always been slow, there was a pleasant ambience there. However,on this occasion the service was so lamentable that we will never return.
After being greeted rather over-obsequiously by the Assistant Manager we were shown to our table. After placing our order, despite prompting from the waiter it took 45 minutes for the starter to arrive. By this stage the toast was cold. After 15 minutes our plates were taken away, though again we had to ask the waiters to do this. After another 15 minutes the main course arrived though we were on the point of leaving. The slow service was totally unacceptable and there was never an apology from the waiter. Eventually the Assistant Manager re-appeared to offer an apology laced with self justification. He took our names and address so that the Manager of Loch Fyne could offer a formal written apology This has not happened.
The Assistant Manger then offered a modest reduction to our bill which was not commensurate with the appalling service that we received on that evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorj444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disaster!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Arrived at 1155 for an early lunch for three adults, a boy of three, and a baby of three months we ordered drinks which came in the normal way and then we ordered food, artichoke risotto, fish pie, a child's portion of sausage and chips - which was on the menu. After 20 mins the waiter returned to say there was no sausages. so the order was changed to fish fingers. after another 40 mins. I complained to the waiter about the delay, (the restaurant was not crowded) and was told the order was being plated up. What came was extraordinary! The fish pie was a tartlet no bigger than a mince pie, it had no fish in it. the risotto had no artichoke in it. Neither meal was inedible. what made it worse was that the waiter agreed that it was inedible and said we should not pay. We didn't, but with two small children it was an experience to be avoided.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

a lady travelling on my own; i was welcomed and given a nice table and well looked after.
lovely meal 2 nights running.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but variable service”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Went here on Mother's Day and it was surprisingly empty - not a great sign!

The food was generally very good but the service was a bit more indifferent.

It took time for for our aperitifs to arrive and the new potatoes with the main course were virtually untouched by any cooking.

They made a mistake by not charging for the lower cost children's menu and instead charged the higher amount for the separate courses, although this was quickly corrected.

The venue is very attractive and will be more popular if they can improve the quality of service

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CM_Farnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Loch Fyne Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing