We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty and dusty- but fantastic food!”
Review of Dove House

Dove House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farnham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dove House
Ranked #17 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
winscombe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dirty and dusty- but fantastic food!”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Bedroom Ok but small and cramped. Lots of space taken up by the owners locked wardrobes that were not to be used.
Bathroom at the end of the passage- containing a step up and a broken landing light. When we told the owner she said- oh no that one doesn't work!
Breakfast and home made cookies and fresh milk for tea ( on request ) were fantastic BUT........................................................
All very dusty, lots of thick cobwebs that looked as if they had been there for months. Urine on the top of the toilet seat there when we arrived and still there two days later. Bath grubby complete with dust, hairs and a few spiders.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winscombecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stopped in this lovely quiet family home while on a journey of many nights. It was a lovely quiet interlude in a very nice town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Lovely area to stay. Very peaceful, well catered for, clean and friendly.
Definately worth a second visit. Not far from the small town which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I had three night stay at Dove House and it was very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Roz is a lovely host and provides an excellent breakfast. Just a short walk from Farnham town centre and not far from the station makes it well situated and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peeweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

What a fabulous stay at Dove House. It’s a superb B&B and Ros was very welcoming. The room was very comfortable airy, bright and clean with a TV, kettle and a good selection of complementary drinks in the room. In the morning there was a great choice of food for breakfast, including cereals, fresh fruit and a freshly cooked breakfast, which kept us going all day. We also requested an evening meal on our first night, which was excellent and there was plenty to eat. The house has a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere with a 15 minute walk to Farnham, but also in a quiet area with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Very highly recommended and we will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydranger
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Wow what a hidden gem!!!! I really loved my stay at Dove House and would highly recommend it. Ros and her husband were both fantastic! they made me feel very welcome! The homemade food was absolutely delicious and the rooms were extremely comfortable. It was real home from home. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hydranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

A couple of very hectic daily commutes on business from E London to near Farnham, had left me stressed, grumpy and exhausted. So I decided to find a B & B rather than risk the 5-6 hours in the car daily. I was hoping for a place to lay my head after a long 10 hour working day, but Dove House proved far more than just that. Single rooms are usually grim, but this room was extremely comfortable, with everything you could wish for : stylishly cosy, spacious, and with the most delicious home-made cookies to accompany the relaxing herbal teas. Breakfast was wonderful,with lots of choices- fresh and fruity, organic and wholesome. And then the wonders of the calming treatments. Ros is a Reiki Master, and I can truly recommend treating yourself, or a loved one , to one of her restoring massages- Bliss! The only negative at Dove House is the shared bathroom. However this is managed well, never seems to present too much of a problem. And of course this is reflected in the reasonable prices. Better to live with this small inconvenience, when Dove House has so much else to offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Farnham hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
4.2 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Vie
Hotel de Vie
#3 of 22 in Farnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove House

Property: Dove House
Address: 22 Byworth Road, Farnham GU9 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove House offers friendly comfortable Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Farnham near the town centre and the A31 and the M3. You will have a peaceful stay with good fresh food and home made bread. There is always fruit, cereal, yogurt and toast plus a full cooked breakfast. The rooms have TVs and kettles and a hairdryer and iron are available. Guests are welcome to use the garden in fine weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dove House Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing