We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very English, needs an upgrade”
Review of The Bishops Table

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bishops Table
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel in central Farnham is conveninetly situated for shopping & seeing the pleasing town of Farnham. The arrangements for late-night guests is good; a security number is given to open the front door. The Reception area is pleasant & there is a very nice garden at the back; the rooms opening onto this are quiet. Rooms overlooking the High St could be noisy early in the morning. My room, No 8, was very small. The bathroom was fine, toiletries generous & although there was only a shower, I prefer that. There was central heating, (needed in this English Summer!) a new TV & a window which opened wide. Free wi-fi access was possible in my room but some rooms can't receive this, so a fee is payable. The Public areas do offer free w-fi.
I felt my room was tired & undistinguished; more thought needs to be put into making such small rooms pleasant. I would not return because it failed to please me. But you could stay comfortably enough; I require a little more from a hotel than was offered here.

Room Tip: 8 & 9 are small & quiet. 14 is quite good. Avoid front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel right in downtown Farnham. walking distance to everything in town including the train station to London. We stayed a total of 5 nights because we were there for 2 family weddings. The rooms are clean and each one has its own character. They vary in size. There is also a beautiful outside courtyard with picnic tables. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingduoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at The Bishop's Table for three nights at the beginning of June 2012 and, having read previous reviews, were pleased that it was not the unpleasant experience we were fearing.

We used the hotel as a base for a family wedding in the area and found it perfectly adequate for this purpose. Our party stayed in rooms 3, 4 and 5 and they were clean and comfortable, although I would comment that the pillows in our room (3) were terrible - only one miserably thin and cheap effort each.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast quite good, although a proper fresh fruit salad would have made the continental breakfast bettter value and the coffee was poor.

There was a nice garden at the back and I wondered what it was used for as the hotel seemed under-used. The bar, although smart, was OK for a quick drink before going out, but it was expensive and not somewhere I would spend an evening.

As a base, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on business for the past three years, and it does seem to be deteriorating. The staff are pleasant, but the rooms are very tired. During my recent visit I noticed badly fraying upholstery under the bed, unpleasant discolouration to the tiles in the tiny bathroom and a general air of neglect. The bed's mattress was rock hard and so it was impossible to sleep. It's just become rather a depressing place to be.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was booked into the Bishops Table by a friend and was expecting the worst given most of the reviews on this site. However, although it wasn't the most luxurious hotel, it did exceed my expectations. The man on reception was very friendly, and very helpful to our entire party. The room (number 7), although slightly dated, was clean and spacious. It was quite warm in the hotel, but there was a fan in the room and all the windows opened fully. The breakfast in the morning I thought was quite good - plenty of juice, fruit and cereal, and the full english was surprisingly delicate, and didn't leave us feeling stodgy for the rest of the morning. I would stay again if I was in Farnham.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymooner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I was warned to stay away from this place by colleagues and some of the reviews but I think it's not so bad really. The room I had was a decent size, the bathroom very basic. Couldn't get internet to work in the room which was a little annoying. There is something of a garden to sit in and relax. The bar and restaurant looked smart, though I didn't try either. For the price and location, it did the job. I'd say again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

After seeing mixed reviews I thought I'd take a gamble, hoping that this privately owned townhouse in the centre of farnham may have some kind of unique charm, but it didnt.
The rooms arent just dated (period rooms with character I can handle, even if they are a bit shabby) but these are newly built/furnished rooms. Rather than 18th century, think 70's upward.
On the whole the stay was ok, no big issues, certainly nothing to raise with the management particularly. Our towels were marked slightly, perhaps dropped on the way to the room, and our two calls to reception were not answered.
I think this is just a bad a choice compared to some of the other hotels in Farnham, and I can understand now why the room images on the website are limited.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.2 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
215 reviews
4.2 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
1.6 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
297 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bishops Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bishops Table

Address: 27 West Street, Farnham GU9 7DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range: $99 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bishops Table 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, privately owned and managed 18th century hotel in the heart of this beautiful town offering comfortable en-suite bedrooms, fine dining, cafe/bar, and excellent personal service from a team of dedicated staff. The Plum Brasserie is no ordinary hotel restaurant; it is recognized as one of the finest Brasseries in the area for both its fine cuisine and excellent service. Farnham has easy links to London, and a number of local places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bishops Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bishops Table Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing