We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small cafe - well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo Basket Ltd.

Bamboo Basket Ltd.
Ranked #9 of 172 Restaurants in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bamboo Basket provide noodles and rice dishes to eat-in and to take-away. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked in front of you. We also have fresh home made steamed Chinese buns (Bao Tze), which are amazing, and home made chilli sauces! Our focus is on healthy eating, and we do not use additives or colourings. We have around 60 different loose-leaf teas for sale by the cup, or to take home, with an extensive range of teapots, teaware and chopsticks for sale. We have now opened our indoor seating area and now have 12 seats indoors; as well as the 14 seats, under cover, outside.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great small cafe - well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I've often been tempted by this cafe / restaurant but the weather was never good enough to tempt me to sit outside. The weather is no longer a problem because they now have a small amount of seating inside.

The menu is not extensive - either noodles or rice in various varieties (chicken, beef, prawns, vege etc.). I suspect they they do not have an alcohol license although I did not confirm this. We drank tea which they offer in a number of different flavours.

My chicken noodle dish was excellent. Freshly cooked with a good flavour. My wife had the rice dish with beef. She said that the beef was excellent but the rice could have been hotter.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the service was quick but we were not rushed. I was asked if I wanted chopsticks and when I said yes, I was asked whether I wanted throw away wooden chopsticks or lacquer ones. The lacquer ones were supplied. That's an indication of the standard of service.

Note that this is a small restaurant / cafe with a limited amount of seating both inside and outside. It's great value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpsomJaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for your review.
We can seat 14 inside and a further 14 outside. Most of the outside seats are under cover, but you are right, the inside seating is better on a cold day!
We keep our menu focused so as to ensure quality and consistency. We do, however offer 'specials', usually on a Friday and at the weekend. We offer a delicious, healthy, balanced and filling meal, in most cases, for less than £5.
We do not have an alcohol licence at this time, our focus is on tea, we have over 60 different varieties, many sourced ourselves directly from tea farmers in China.
Thanks again for your review and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    29
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Love this place, wish they opened at night or had a big restaurant. Authentic food, street style! We have travelled in south east asia and it reminds me of the delicious, quick, street style food. Great portions, low key place. Wish there was more places like this in epsom!

Helpful?
Thank tiggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for your review. Our food is authentic home-style cooking, with a small difference - we strive to keep it healthy! we use little oil, no additives, colourings and no added MSG. We are now open until 8pm on Thursdays, along with the rest of The Ashley Centre. We hope that helps a little! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My first visit to this little cafe today was a delight. Very tasty dishes and friendly staff, my two young daughters enjoyed the food too. A must go if in Epsom.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zippyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. The food we serve is derived from what we eat at home, including our children, so is suitable for all. If your little ones have a smaller appetite then please let us know and we will prepare a smaller portion for a smaller price - unless, of course, you wish to help them finish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Often a lunch time treat when I'm at work. Great value, they cater to your requests, food is amazing & staff are friendly. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. Weekday lunchtimes are very popular and, with the addition of brown rice to the menu, we offer a very affordable, healthy and delicious alternative. Seating indoors and out in the Square makes it a nice place to get away and relax for a while. If you are in a hurry then call us first to place your order in advance, we will have it ready for when you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Bamboo Basket is a fantastic place for a quick lunch on Sunday! The ingredients are fresh, the rice dishes as tasty as the noodles. We like to complement ours with the golden prawns.

Wide choice of tea, would definitely recommend the matcha tea or the flower dragon

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A-Patten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenDen1London, Owner at Bamboo Basket Ltd., responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are very happy that you enjoy our 'alternative' Sunday lunch. We also have roti paratha and our home made steamed buns if you still need that little bit extra! We are open on Sundays from 11am to 4pm, 6pm on all other days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Basket Ltd. also viewed

 
 

Been to Bamboo Basket Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing