We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalk Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalk Lane Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A little gem hidden less than 1 kilometre from Epsom's High St. The staff are outstanding and the in house dining will not disappoint.. Certainly it is off the beaten track but if you have a need for accommodation in this area, this hotel will fit the bill in every respect. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
32
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Chalk Lane Hotel, and had a wonderful stay. Breakfast both mornings was very good, and our room (#21 in the older part of the building) was lovely and quite roomy. The day manager, Angie, was very friendly and helpful with advice and directions, and always greeted us with a smile. At her suggestion, we walked along a little country road to get to Epsom Downs where we enjoyed a pleasant pub lunch at the Rubbing House. Although there was a wedding at the hotel the second night, we didn't hear a thing from our room. If I'm ever in the area again, I'd be more than happy to stay at the Chalk Lane Hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 and it was really lovely. The bed was good and we slept well both nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I would not recomend this hotel to anyone. Travelodge has bigger rooms and their beds are 100 times better. I stayed at this hotel for one night for a family members wedding, and i have now been off work for 3 days as I have got agonising back pain and can hardly walk. I called to complain as the beds a rock solid. I was told that these are new beds and are firm. I asked to speak to the manager and the person said she will pass my comments over but they will not take responisblitiy, I am still waiting for the manager to call me.THIS IS DISGUSTING. Especially when they are charging high prices.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I am sorry you had such a bad experience at our Hotel. However, you are the 1st person in over 15 years to complain about the standard of the beds which are supplied to us by a very reputable hotel supplier.
With regards to the manager not calling you back, he did in fact call the next day & left a voice mail.
Regarding the size of the room, it is sold as a small double room of which you had been made aware at the time of booking.
If you wish to discuss any of the above please do get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My daughter had her wedding reception here and had a wonderful time,the staff were attentive without being pushy and we would use this venue again should the need arise. Avery good area and off
of the beaten track.Very close to Epsom downs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOPMARSHAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip in February. Hotel staff were very pleasant to chat with and also very helpful. Nice room at the top of the stairs (#3) that overlooks the front of the hotel. Room was a pretty good size with a small desk, sofa chair and armoir. Had a TV as well but I never turned it on. Mornings were a bit chilly as the room radiator in my room was not providing heat for a couple of my nights.

Hotel restaurant had pretty good food. Hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the city center and perhaps 15 minutes from the train station.

Room Tip: Room #3 is at the top of the stairs so you don't have to lug your luggage very far. Room #3 als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

After a lovely family and friends gathering, last weekend's stay was perfect with some really excellent rooms, a superb evening meal, good quality of service and a satisfying breakfast served up (hot and fresh) during the next morning. We cannot fault this independently run hotel and we would highly recommend it to anyone wanting good quality and great service. All set in a quiet and leafy part of Epsom near to the Downs, and the famous racecourse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPnuts007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are all delighted to read your party enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel has an excellent ambience with attentive staff and unique setting. The hotel itself seems to be three house knocked into one building giving the appearance of being quaint. My room was large, spotless, ensuite and well appointed. The menu was upmarket and catered for all tastes. One slight drawback is no draught beer, but that is a very small price to pay for excelent accommodation

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChalkLane, Owner at Chalk Lane Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a good review. We are all very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Property: Chalk Lane Hotel
Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing