We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a Japanese Restaurant to keep note of......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Makiyaki

Makiyaki
Ranked #32 of 172 Restaurants in Epsom
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want a Japanese Restaurant to keep note of......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Before leaving UK for a few months we came up from Guildford to Makiyaki in Epsom with an open mind, having been recommended to visit by friends. Not disappointed - have been to Japan twice; if you were parachuted into this restaurant, food taste wise, you'd be hard pressed to not feel you were eating out in Japan itself. Well worth the drive and can happily recommend Makiyaki to you myself. I think we might take a venture to the one near the centre of London when we return back to the UK, just to be sure it wasn't a one-off!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    44
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leatherhead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

went for a family meal on saturday night, june 8th. the sushi was great, we also had miso soup edamame beans, tempura prawns, seaweed salad, tempura ice cream, green tea ice cream etc. all the food was very nice, very fresh. Bill came to £100 for five people, which seems really reasonable. but the service was haphazard and slow... our drinks didnt come until after the beans, soup and salad and we had to ask for it... and the plain rice came ages after the rest of the food... we also had to ask to order desserts. the staff were very polite, tho.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really good evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took our two kids (6&5) for an early evening meal. . . and we all really enjoyed it! The food was well cooked (obviously apart from the sashimi) and enjoyable. the staff were attentive and we were served very promptly.

It got busy quickly, we got there at 6pm when it opened - also good to see quite a few japanese people going to eat too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ports66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Sushi lover? You HAVE to come here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If your a fan of Sushi/Japanese cuisine this place is amazing! I've eaten here countless times and have always had a good experience.

Food wise the dishes are really creative, tasty and of good quality. The restaurants menus extensive, there really is something for everyone! I'd recommend the "Maki' sushi range & the Katsu, you won't be disappointed.

Recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunWorshipper101885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creative Sushi roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Creative ingredient combinations for sushi roll for surprising taste and texture (melted cheese / crispy bits etc). Maki Yaki sauce is delicious and worth the trip on its own. Each individual dish or sushi roll is great. Maki Yaki's menu really shines when you come as a group and get to pick on lots of different rolls and dishes. Sushi and sashimi is fresh and well done. Been to this branch and wimbledon often and never have been disappointed. Staff are polite and the surroundings minimalistic but warm. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hnl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makiyaki also viewed

 

Been to Makiyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing