We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 143 The Canopy

143 The Canopy
Ranked #17 of 172 Restaurants in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of Surrey���s premier dining destinations, 143 The Canopy has earned itself a loyal following with gourmands from all over Europe. Located on the Epsom High Street, 143 The Canopy is a welcoming and traditional restaurant decorated with crisp white linens and contemporary artworks, and it is a great place for group dining, business dinners or family celebrations. The kitchen���s signature dish is the healthy and interactive Black Rock Grills ��� steaks cooked at the table on hot volcanic rocks. But steak aside, you���ll adore the rest of 143 The Canopy���s menu which is a collection of elegant modern European dishes. All the food here is complemented by an old world wine list with some guest appearances from South Africa and Australia.
Surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely little restaurant, good service and good food, however feel its a little overpriced! Worth a visit though if you are in Epsom. You'll find it just up from M&S front entrance.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    87
    28
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best food in Epsom for sometime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Went here for my birthday mid week and used tastecard. Not everything on the menu was available on the tastecard but there was still plenty of choice. The food was excellent and much better than generally available in the chain restaurants in Epsom. Service was also excellent with just the right amount of attention and no feeling of being second class because we were using the tastecard. Reasonable choice of wines. We will definitely be back and hope the standards remain high and Epsom has a decent restaurant at last.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g_watson980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very poor breakfast !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We called in for a coffee and a breakfast toastie.
The coffees arrived together but my wife had finished her breakfast by the time mine arrived.
I suspect mine may have been forgotten as the sausages in my sausage toastie when it did arrive could only be best described as, luke warm at best. When asked if everything was ok, I explained that it wasn't, to a young man who gave me a sheepish grin and disappeared back into the restaurant, I assumed (wrongly as it turned out) he was either going to get a replacement or someone to whom I could field my complaint to. It soon became apparent that no one was coming back to our table. Some considerable time later the same young man returned to clear our table and asked again if everything was ok, at which point I again stated NO, my sandwich was cold! cue sheepish grin and off he disappeared again. The bill was brought out with no acknowledgment or apology for the poor quality of the fare served up.
@ £3.75 for 1.5 cold sausages in some toast and nearly £3 for a coffee it certainly did not represent value for money.....AVOID

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank celtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“REFILL COFFEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Food average 3 people out of 4 kinda enjoyed, steak average, have enjoyed a lot better elsewhere, however, when requested 2nd coffee, asked staff "is this a comp refill was told yes", when bill was presented was charged for 2nd coffee! queried was told that this was not the case, one paid for every tiny cup of coffee, even though one paid a £109+ bill. If you wish to be ripped off then visit this very dissapointing venue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great local restaurant that I might keep a secret!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Me and my partner went here last night for an inpromptu evening out together and we've been saying for a while that we must go here. We have a tastecard so thought we'd seize the day and go. What a lovely evening we had. A great table, fantastic service (london restaurants could learn a thing or two!!) and the food was absolutely mouth wateringly delicious....
I'm delighted that we have found our new favourite restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 143 The Canopy also viewed

 
 

Been to 143 The Canopy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing