We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of The Derby Arms

The Derby Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Derby Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 177 Restaurants in Epsom
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having read some of the not-so-good reviews and having had some disappointing experiences in other 'gastro pubs' I did not have overly high expectations of The Derby Arms. I met a friend and her baby here for lunch today and was most pleasantly surprised. It's a good sized room and the tables in the restaurant are, unlike many others, well spaced out so that you don't feel you are sitting on top of your neighbour. The decor is modern but not too 'feature wall' so. Service was attentive and prompt and there were plenty of tasty sounding dishes on the menu. We shared the Calamari and Soft Shell Tempura starter which was really tasty and not at all greasy. Keeping on a sharing theme we then shared the mixed plate of ribs, chicken wings, kofta, tzatziki and flatbreads - very moorish. Not that we really needed anything else we then shared the warm lemon sponge with lemon curd and vanilla ice-cream - delicious and we felt all of it was good value. So my faith in finding a decent local gastro pub has been restored and I'd definitely return. An added bonus is that there is a decent sized car park at the back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hughol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    195
    121
    91
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Food very good service a little slow”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our first visit to this pub on the beautiful Epsom downs. We were shown to a table in the restaurant part and although a bit dark it was ok. Service to begin with was good but towards the end it was very slow. We waited just a bit too long for our drinks and then it took ages to get our bill and then again to make payment. Apart from that the food was very good - we ate from the £10.95 for 2 courses set menu and the mushroom tagliatelle was delicious and my husbands gammon, egg and chips was very good. The desserts were TO DIE FOR and would definitely make me come back for more. You have to watch out for a little catch on the set menu - read the small print and it says FROM £10.95 and therefore paid £13.95 for the gammon and dessert. I've never had that before on a set menu so wasn't expecting it - bit of a shame. So a few tweeks with the service (although all staff were friendly and cheerful) and this pub would be perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One redeeming feature of a week in London/Surrey!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent a dispiriting and horrendously expensive week staying in Morden recently but on the day we returned to our home in France we had lunch at this pub. It was the one good experience of our visit; we had the set lunch of 2 courses for £10ish, which were excellent, served by happy, smiling, helpful staff in a quiet well decorated pub with a log fire on the very wet day we lunched there. The staff are a huge bonus to the pub and their simple and clever salad accompaniment to their fishcake starter was very good indeed. Having dined at Windows 2 days before we felt that this pub as the other end of the dining scale was a great all round experience. We are baffled by the poor reviews and will be returning next time we have to visit the UK. Thank you staff and chef!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fitz7647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice on a warm summers day, to sit outside and enjoy a cold beer. Food is pretty good too. Packed and mobbed out during the Derby. Evenings can get a little busy. There is a good sized car park behind the pub.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and beer in good surroundings”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This has been refurbished by Mitchell and Butlers ,which gives afforable food in pub surroundings. Value for money and standards are high.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrotbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Derby Arms also viewed

 
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to The Derby Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing