We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and lovely people”
Review of Mae Ping - CLOSED

Mae Ping
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely food and lovely people”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is just by the traffic lights near the station. They have the usual Thai dishes and some that seemed a bit more adventurous. Not too expensive, and some vegetarian. The modern design of the place lacks a bit of soul, but the lovely people and food make up for this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Notsogood”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Disappointing is all i can say, went there on Sunday afternoon with family and friends, and it kinda all went down hill after that. The buffet eat as much as you like was £15.00 p/h not too dear, but not cheap either, considering it's next door to a Jimmy Spices at £12.99 for a vast selection of different foods. We ordered the buffet for 4 people and a soup for the fifth member, who having just had a major op couldn't face a big meal. The first course came out eventually, after quite a wait, though it was enjoyable, we then ordered some more starters and after a lengthy wait they arrived, we ordered our mains course which also took quite a while, and after that the staff never really came back to us, we did want to order some more but waited so long we just wanted to leave. On arrival of the bill they duly charged us for a buffet and not the soup!! and a 10% service charge!!!!! the gall. We obviously had both removed from the bill.
To summarise food is good, service was shocking, though the waitress apologised as she was on her own?? confusing as there was 3 of them all afternoon with only a dozen customers max to look after. Certainly wont rush back, i think 3 staff should be able to accommodate 12 people easily. And don't offer an "eat as much as you like buffet" and then resent supplying it!!! Just glad it wasn't a busy afternoon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Tai food that's tasty”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We did take away, by phone. On our arrival it was packed up and ready. Perhaps a bit pricey, but the food was good. Would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britishcanadianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, authentic thai food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have eaten here many times before and will continue to do so as we love the food. The atmosphere is lovely and the staff exceptionally friendly – it takes me back to my holidays in Thailand! There is a great variety of dishes on the menu, with our favourite being Weeping/Crying Tiger. It is such a tasty dish with just the right amount of spice. Not the cheapest Thai restaurant in Epsom, but we think you get what you pay for. Cocktails are brilliant also. I just wish they did takeaway!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellersUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A favourite..”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I absolutely adore this restaurant, the food is delicious, the staff very attentive but not overbearing and all at a good price.

The menu has a great selection of dishes and the portion sizes more than adequate.

My boyfriend and I eat a lot of Thai food (both cooking from scratch and eating out) so we appreciate a good Thai restaurant. I always look forward to going to this restaurant as do my friends/family who I have previously taken.

I would recommend Mae Ping to anyone looking for good Thai food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellsey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing