We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on several occasions for business in central Epsom. Everything you would expect from a holiday inn and friendly helpful staff. Breakfast is good although more options would be appreciated. Will return

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hipha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it’s lovely to hear from a regular guest. I will pass your comments on regarding the staff, they will be very pleased to receive your praise. I’m happy to read you are planning to stay again, we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    219
    77
    14
    9
See reviews for
133
114
25
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night as we were attending a friend's 50th birthday party.
The location is amazing and we literally walked along the race track to get to the neighbouring pub.
The reception staff were friendly, efficient and polite.
Our room was as you would expect. However, one tip is to bring an extension lead if you wish to use hair straighteners or curlers as the nearest plug socket is located away from the only mirror in the room. There is a perfectly adequate hair dryer next to the mirror but I imagine many women use straighteners too.
The biggest problem was our bed. It was the second worse hotel bed we have ever slept in. My husband is 4 stone heavier than me and I had to sleep top to toe to stop myself rolling into him. We looked at the mattress and saw that it was made especially for the Holiday Inn Express and this has made us book an alternative hotel for an airport stopover next week.
I know from reading reviews on here that the management take on board criticisms and try to improve what can be improved; please would two people try lying on the bed in room 205 and see what you think. (Make sure you're friends as you WILL get close!)
Finally the breakfast - this was free and plentiful and the sausages were delicious. It was also good to have cold semi-skimmed milk on tap.
I really don't like giving 2 stars but on reflection a good night's sleep is the priority of an overnight stay.
I hope this is helpful and feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: Avoid 205 unless management decide to replace the mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Snowhite,
Thank you for taking the time to give your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well because of the mattress specification. Here in Epsom we take guest feedback very seriously and as a result we have started a bed replacement programme. Half our stock was replaced in the summer with the remaining due for completion in the early part of 2014. We also understand that mattresses are a thing of personal choice with some guests preferring a softer feel to the firmer one.
Thank you again for your candid feedback and we do hope that you will come back one day and try out our new beds.
Kind regards
M Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are attending the race course, then this is a simply perfect location. Literally overlooks the course.

Unfortunately, I was down on business, so no horse racing for me :(

Check in was very polite and efficient. it was quite late so I went straight to bed. I had a good nights sleep, that was uninterrupted. Good room temperature etc.

The next morning, I was a little bit frustrated as they have an 'ironing room', rather than separate irons in each room. This is an inconvenience.

Breakfast was average... It was free, so can't complain too much. A choice of sausage, beans and scrambled egg is a bit limited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Toddy0011,

Thanks for posting your online review and happy that you liked our location. Maybe next time you will find time to pop down for the races.
As an Express hotel we do not feature irons and boards in all rooms, but if a guest should find going to the ironing room an inconvenience we do have a couple of spare mobile ones that a guest can take to a room themselves. Our first direction will be to the ironing room as it is a convenient location.
Hope to see you next time you are in Epsom.
Kind regards
M Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

5am woken by 'bong 'noise from lift, continued all morning. Could hear it for this and other floors. No chance of getting back off to sleep.
Waited 20 mins for hot buffet breakfast to be replenished.
Internet very slow
Spoke to front desk in morning. These are their replies.
'The lift noise is for our disabled customers'- must be good to know for anyone in their room!
'The breakfast is free.' - so we don't accept complaints about it basically.
'You were given the wrong internet access code'
No apology, nothing.
Avoid this hotel, unless you're going to drink so much at the races you won't be disturbed by the noise and are not going to feel like breakfast because of your huge hangover!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear friend of a previous guest,

I’m sorry that you feel the need to write this review after a very similar review was removed by Trip Advisor as it was deemed in appropriate. We feel that this review is not from Mark A but from a previous guest who held a grudge against the hotel. Here at the hotel we would ask guests with a problem to approach us directly so we can help resolve any issues at the point in which they occur. Once again I’m sorry that you felt it necessary to come through a third party like this.

Kind Regards
Maria Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The staff were excellent, venue beautiful, modern and clean, everything brand new, stylish and comfortable. Bar and catering were fantastic, service brilliant. The staff even let us use an empty room to feed baby in during the christening party. We had 80 guests of all ages from 4 months to 90 years old and all were able to enjoy the party and the venue, the views are lovely too. I would definitely recommend this venue to all, and all and I would use the venue again,

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Susy P,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your event here in Epsom. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are happy to read that all went to plan. We look forward to welcoming you back should you have any other family parties in mind!
Kind regards
M Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stop at HIEX on business whenever I can, they have a good loyalty programme and they are the same everywhere.............. except here it would appear.

I didn't use tripadvisor before I booked as I knew what to expect, noticed the tripadvisor sticker in the window, never noticed one in a HIEX before ......... surprise!

Very much a cut above the norm for HIEX, spacious, quite luxurious reception really, they do food too, (but I ate out) rooms are standard HIEX (so everything you need) but the location & views are very very pleasant.

Loads of parking, free wifi, got a good nights sleep.......perfect


As I will be visiting Epsom quite often on business this will be my base - probably best to avoid racedays though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Judes_pie_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely trip advisor review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stays with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon as one of our regular guest.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for a quiet stay overlooking the Epsom Racecourse.

Rooms are clean and reasonably spacious, plenty of room to move around comfortably, the en-suite bathroom was clean and tidy.

The staff were polite and friendly. Arrived late evening and the staff were helpful.

Breakfast was adequate and laid out buffet style, there was enough food for everyone and the staff were very quick in replenishing the empty trays.

All in a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Druid75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us and our location. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Laura Davey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalk Lane Hotel
Chalk Lane Hotel
#4 of 6 in Epsom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing