We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money with nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on business. Similar to Premier Inn, only the evening food is better. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. Bed a bit soft for me(bad back prefer a firmer bed). Reasonable selection at breakfast, but only Sausage, Beans & what is supposed to be scrambled Egg are available as a hot option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atters68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your trip advisor review. I’m happy to read you enjoyed your stays with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel last night with my husband and my 2year old son.we arrived late yet the gentleman on the welcome desk was amazing he was so caring and considerate.my son was very tired and I required warm milk this was given without delay and free :-), room was a decent size,breakfast was a good selection and staff more than happy to assist.would defo recommend this to others

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assmakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stays with us and found the staff to be so welcoming on your late arrival; they will be pleased to receive such nice feedback. Thank you for your lovely trip advisor review we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from the Holiday Inn Express, Epsom Downs and was very impressed. Don't be put off by the Express tag, it's a great place. The location is to die for with views over Epsom Racecourse, which you can walk or jog through and close to Epsom (obviously) and Ewell.
Inside very impressive foyer and really helpful staff. Communal areas spotless, as were the rooms.
Our room had a double bed and a sofa bed, great for relaxing, and the shower room (no bath but I was ok with that) was very well laid out. Plenty of hot water too.
Complimentary breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice for all tastes.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the racecourse
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayviewLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your great trip advisor review. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stays with us and our fantastic location. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked for ourselves and friends and family to stay for our daughter's wedding which was held in Epsom. The hotel was excellent and the staff and Event Management team very helpful.
It was easy for people who had come by train to access the hotel by taxi from Epsom station.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with good hot showers. Breakfast was very good and being on the Downs was a great location for people to go out and have a quick walk.
We were pleased that there was a twenty-four hour desk because we did not arrive back to the hotel after the wedding until 1am and there was not any difficulty getting in to our rooms.
Altogether a good experience and one to be recommended!

Room Tip: All seemed fine and we had approximately 70 guests with us!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your great trip advisor review, our location certainly is great. Its lovely to hear you found the hotel to be excellent and the staff very helpful, we pride ourselves on our service. I'm glad everyone enjoyed themselves, thank you again.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a lovely one night stay in this hotel with my children, would defintley return again as the hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast was also very nice. Good place to stay if visiting chessington world of adventures as its only 11 miles away from hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameronchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. The hotel certainly is convenient for those visiting Chessington World of Adventures. Thank you for your lovely trip advisor review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for one night and found the room very clean, however the bed seemed very small (not quite a double?) as were the pillows. Unfortunately a 6 am wake up call, via the television, was completely out of order. We had not asked for this and it was so loud! This was the first time in ages we could have had a leisurely lie-in and we were unable to get back to sleep. The reception desk thought someone had accidently given the wrong room number and we got their call but all the guests were from the nearby wedding party or 40th birthday party so doubt they would want to be woken at six! The Premier Inn give you a refund if your sleep is disturbed - so think on this Holiday Inn Express and do the right thing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your trip advisor review. I would like to extend sympathy and apology for your disturbed morning with a 6am wake up call. I have investigated this and I cannot find any wake up calls logged on the reception system on the Sunday morning in question. However wake up calls on the TV can also be set in the rooms for the current guests stay. I am happy to read you found your room to be very clean. Our beds at the Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs are standard 4x6 double beds with a choice of firm or soft standard size pillows. They may appear smaller to people who are used a queen or king size bed?

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

yes the room was clean (as you'd expect), but my towels smelt musty. The bed was awful - you can feel each spring poking you in the back.

Cherry on the cake was the piece of plastic in the scrambled eggs in the morning. I called someone over "should I take it away?" I was asked... at checkout, I asked for a complaint form. "No we don't deal with that." I was told...& they'd already taken my money as I booked through last minute.com AVOID

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrplastic321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEEpsom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am very sorry to hear that you found a piece of plastic in the scrambled egg, I will take this up with the food and beverage team. It is not a normal occurrence and will be dealt with appropriately.

Kind Regards
Laura Davey
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Epsom Central
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chessington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London Sutton
3.6 mi away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs

Address: Langley Vale Road, Epsom KT18 5LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range: $97 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Each of the 120 Holiday Inn Express London Epsom Downs bedrooms are contemporary, bright and spacious with a comfortable bed that makes falling asleep easier than ever before. Relax on crisp white linens and your choice of pillows. Each room is modern and recently refurbished and has a en suite with refreshing power shower and a set of fluffy cotton towels to wrap you up in warmth as soon as you step out of the shower. Our Standard hotel rooms in Epsom have a double bed and a foldaway sofa bed to accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children up to the age of 18. Our twin rooms have two single beds to accommodate up to 2 people. You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs Hotel Epsom
Holiday Inn Epsom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing