We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, stuffy, cramped room, very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Magoebaskloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Small, stuffy, cramped room, very basic”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for the night after a local friend's party. Room was very small, boxlike and didn't even have a cupboard - just a hook on the wall with some 'token' hangers. Bedside tables had some small drawers but not big enough for much. No air-conditioning so very hot, window could open but the noise from the road was too much. Shower-room was fine but no toiletries or soap in the shower, so had to use the hand soap from the basin. Not ideal. Bed mattress OK but pillows hard and felt like stuffed with fudge: awful. The only redeeming feature was that at least the room was clean. Breakfast was OK if you like cooked breakfasts and cereals, no continental style food. Parking is scarce, but be sure to ask for a Permit as the pub does give these out to customers; however, that is only after specifically asking 3 times for one - the staff seem reluctant to give them out!! Probably wouldn't return and would find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the suites on the Hampton Court side to avoid the noise from the road then do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivrelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    95
    52
    35
    30
See reviews for
59
128
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

One night stay for a nearby party. Double room was very small, en-suite shower room tiny. Lots of water ingress marks in both our room and the stairs. Small double and uncomfortable pillows. Room very warm, but there was a shower. Ok for £100, but hardly a bargain I would say. Various drunk people who appeared to be in a lock in making comments as we came back and went upstairs at around midnight wasn't impressive either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Visited for a family meal, they were clearly short staffed. I was told where my table was , not shown.the table was sticky.We were eventually served with drinks,and orders taken.the food was very average, my steak over cooked, part of my brother's was burnt.we were not offered desserts.The meal was expensive, the service poor.
Would never go back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at pub for one night in March booked last minute for a work related course and overall was impressed, good value for money.
The hotels is located near to the gates of Bushey Park and is a large Pub obviously with some tradition and stories behind it.
On arrival went into the pub which seemed like a good mix of families enjoying wholesome food.
Showed to my room (11) all of the rooms. We're named after Kings & Queens mine being Mary I.
Room obviously recently refurbed to a good standard itch nice bedding and quirky furniture. With an ex suite and flat screen tv. It was a bit different to a chain hotel.
My room was at the front of the premises so there was a little road noise but no noise from the pin below, I slept well!
Only gripe there was meant to be wi-fi in the room. The password provided didn't access the only wi-fi that I was picking up. I would suggest that the instructions be amended to include the name of the wi-fi as ell as the password and this be looked into.
Next day breakfast- it was a Saturday so breakfast was at 8, this was a little late for me as I needed to be gone by 8.30, fortunately the kitchen staff arrives at 7.45 and were kind enough to let me start. The breakfast options looked good the only shame was I didn't have the time to mfully participate.
Usually I'd stick to a chain but this was a good little find. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PetenJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Kings Arms Hotel is a lovely old building that backs on to the Hampton Court Maze. The staff were efficent and courteous, and check in was quick. We had the Anne Boleyn room: clean, comfortable and perfect for our needs. The meals were very good, well presented and hot, with a good choice on the menu. Breakfast was excellent, with a fair choice. The ancient bar is well worth a good look and a drink or two. Being so close, we were in the Palace just after 10.00 – there is an entrance to the gardens beside the hotel. Parking could be a challenge, but the railway station is just across the river. For a short break and visiting the area the hotel ticks all the boxes. It is only about 30 minutes drive from Windsor Castle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Third stay at the Kings Arms - as always efficient booking in process and courteous welcome - stayed in a large room on the first floor- late night access through side door - good for when visiting friends.
Loved the fact that there were kippers on the breakfast menu.
Great setting with half hourly train service to London and the stunning delights of Hampton Court Bushy Park and shopping in Kingston on the doorstep.
Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a great location, and how shocking that both the De Ja Vu restaurant and the Lionsgate Hotel opposite are now empty and boarded up.

Turning to this hotel, the bar area is full of great artefacts and history - each table looks like a medieval work of art. Particularly impressive to me was the stained glass above the bar and an open fire - no "upgraded" same as everywhere else decor here. But we neither drank or ate so cannot comment on service or quality as a pub.

Our room (Turrets) was a deluxe double with four-poster. The bed was wobbly and creaky and one of the struts underneath had fallen off ...so use with care. Other than being a little tired, with a lightbulb missing here and a motionless clock lacking a AA battery there, it was fairly comfortable room and we both slept well. The bathroom was fairly new and clean but the room itself had a slight stale odour of tobacco smoke or from the wood fire downstairs - not too bad though.

Staff friendly and efficient. Price very expensive at £99 though - and that at a price reduction from £210. I would value a night in such a room/hotel at no more than £70 out of season - but then London has silly prices for everything which is why i choose not to live here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BushyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.0 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 2 Lion Gate Hampton Court Road, East Molesey KT8 9DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing