We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A royal welcome!”
Review of The Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mitre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My company uses this hotel as a watering hole which is quite fitting as it is literally on the Thames on Hampton Court Palace Bridge. The welcome is warm and it is great to sit outside the brasserie, sipping a glass of wine and watching the flora and fauna. There is plenty of activity on the water and it is fun watching people "messing about on the river"!

Room 202 is the one to aim for: not cheap but it is a suite with a palatial bed, armchairs and all the comforts one would expect of a really good hotel. There is a complimentary bar and it is nice to have white dressing gowns and slippers.

We did not dine at the Mitre but the breakfast was ample and I would recommend the poached eggs on toast .....sublime!

A great hotel located opposite the palace itself - spoil yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your super comments. You sound like you really enjoy your visits to the hotel and I really hope that we can carry on delivering a great experience for you and your colleagues. We hope you are due to return to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for The Mitre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 637 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent a night at the Carlton Mitre and enjoyed the whole experience very much. The room was spacious, with beautiful river views and the complimentary night bar was a nice touch. The staff were all extremely professional and friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious. The deck on the river is a perfect place to have drinks. I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your super review. It sounds like you had a lovely time and enjoyed every part of your stay. We really hope that you are able to return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Overall we had a very pleasant stay, the location is first class but the room was average at best for the price.
Breakfast made Basil Faulty look like Gordon Ramsey as it was was one calamity after another.
Having said that the spirit tray and complimentary mini bar was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience, we really appreciate our guests taking the time to do this as it helps us continually assess our performance. It is great that you enjoyed the location and complimentary minibar but we are really sorry to hear that the room décor was not to your taste. Our rooms were refurbished a few years back; however as our building dates back to 1665 their design has been intentionally kept traditional with the added touch of modern comforts to stay in keeping with the history of the building. Re breakfast, I am really sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Our breakfast is generally really well received by our guests; so we will absolutely look into this immediately with our Restaurant Manager. I really hope that we are able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If your idea of traveling is to take home with you, this is not the hotel for you. The central portion was built in the 1600s. You have the opportunity to experience a bit of history. Corridors are short and take odd turns as they go up two steps or down three. The floors creak, and the windows are wavy. It is a small hotel, closer to an inn than a hotel. Keeping all this in mind, I am delighted to say that all the modern conveniences are there. The bathroom was bright and shiny with a heated towel rack and a really powerful shower. Loved the complimentary bar, complete with bar ware, in the room. No wine out of a plastic cup here. The room was brightly lit. When we were confused about an electrical issue, the hotel handyman was in our room within five minutes. The dining room looks out over the Thames. We watched all manner of water craft while we enjoyed spectacular food. While we were there I tried several items from the menu and liked every one of them. Service was impeccable. In fact, all the staff went out of its way to be helpful. Anyone who has read my reviews knows I am not an easy sell. This is a terrific hotel

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Getaride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your really lovely review. It is really great to read your feedback and hear that our guests are having such nice experiences with us. I really hope that you are able to return for a visit to the Mitre again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 to visit Hampton Court, which is directly opposite.

Our room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and a large en suite bathroom. A free standing air conditioner was available. The mini bar was free, with decanters of spirits also provided gratis. We had a nice view of the Thames from our windows. Newspapers of your choice were also delivered in the morning free of charge

We ate dinner in the restaurant, and were more than happy with the quality of the food. Breakfast in the morning was fine, with a buffet, but also with the option of eggs cooked to your requirements.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and we would book here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to read great, positive feedback from our guests at the start of a new week! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you are able to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We only had a quick lunch in the restaurant as we popped in on a whim and we had no booking, but got seated quickly and politely by the staff. Very yummy food and attentive staff. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we hope you can come back and try more of our dishes very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Mitre for one night on a special deal. The staff are very focused on customer service and cannot do enough to help. We had a room as far as you could walk, which was away from the main road, so nice and quiet.
We had a great stay. The only problem you may find is car parking. Suggest either going by public transport, or using the station car park on Sunday during the day, which is £2, and either trying the hotel later or the local streets when main tourists go home. The hotel will assist where posible.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for sharing this. We hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
821 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
749 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range: $128 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing