We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weddings at the Carlton Mitre Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mitre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weddings at the Carlton Mitre Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I held my wedding at the Carlton Mitre Hotel in July and had an absolutely fantastic experience. The staff and wedding coordinator did everything they could to be helpful and make the wedding run smoothly, taking a lot of the stress and organisation away from us - which was an amazing relief. Everything fell into place and ran so perfectly on the day, largely down to the experience of the staff. I cannot thank them enough for making our day so perfect.
I also stayed at the hotel along with many wedding guests. The bridal suite is amazing, very spacious and perfect for the bridal party to get ready on the morning. All of the rooms I saw were spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is great, with a lovely range to choose from and all fresh.
The terrace in Summer is the hotel's best feature - a wonderful peaceful spot on a beautiful part of the Thames, yards from Hampton Court Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your absolutely glowing review. We are so glad that we helped make your special day perfect and will pass your kind comments on to the team. We hope that we are able to welcome you both back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    211
    92
    31
    18
See reviews for
74
305
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had high hopes for a weekend at this hotel, it is in a great location and the facade suggests elegance and great character, not to mention the £200+ per night for an 'exclusive' room.
The room was very spacious and had a great Thames view and everything worked (but no satellite tv in the building!) but it lacks style and finesse to allow it to live up to it's 'exclusive' title, and the price!
However, the restaurant was the biggest let down. The food was good enough and the service was a VERY pleasant surprise (generally the staff were excellent) but the room is tatty and lacks ANY style, the table was sticky, the wine selection very limited and the dinner menu selection very small. What a shame. Breakfast was a much more pleasant experience but, even here, some staff training would be beneficial...
Generally the weekend was relaxing, the hotel is warm and (mostly) clean, the staff were very polite and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate all feedback and are really glad to hear that the staff were lovely throughout your stay. We are a little surprised to hear that you think our menu is limited as there are 13 starters and 18 main courses but we will absolutely take that on board and feedback to our chef when we look at our next menu. We are also continuously looking to improve all aspects of our service so please rest assured that all your feedback will be taken into account. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Mitre very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with lots of character, perfect location with Hampton Court Palace directly opposite, over the bridge to a few quaint shops and cafes and Hampton Court train station which is only 30 minutes into Waterloo. Special mention has to be made to Sherisse on reception who was so friendly and helpful, a lovely welcome and she made a point of wishing us a happy anniversary as I'd mentioned that when I booked the room! Superb service. The room was large and had everything we needed including a complimentary mini bar and 3 decanters of spirits (my husband particularly enjoyed the malt whisky!), a nice touch and the first time we've ever come across that kind of generosity in a hotel! Would definitely return again, we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQ2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you had a lovely anniversary. We are really chuffed to hear that the team made your feel very welcome and will pass your special thanks on to Sherisse. We hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel just a few minutes walk from station. Directly opposite the entrance to Hampton Court. Idea location for a boat trip on the Thames. Very friendly reception staff. We had a large room with a free mini bar, which was restocked daily. Lovely view do the river. Good choice for breakfast. Breakfast can be taken in your room for a small charge. Definitely be back

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IHAVEBEENTHERE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your super comments. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and loved the hotel's location. We hope you are able to return for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thank you for a perfect day, from start to finish it was faultless. Julie and Spencer would like to thank all the staff for there wonderful service to make our day perfect. I would recommend this venue for your wedding day and night, we were so pleased we chose the carlton mitre.
We will return and thank the staff in person one day and enjoy another great meal. Thanks again all at the mitre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Julie and Spencer. We are so glad to have shared in your special day and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at hotel to visit Twickenham and Hampton Court. Great location for both , with the hotel on the Thames and only a road to cross to enter Hampton Court.
Lovely welcome at reception , with great advice on transport and opening times.
Whole hotel is slightly dated , shabby chic, faded prints, but the room had all the facilities one needed with a great selection of snacks and drinks included in mini bar.
Breakfast was tasty and the view over the Thames from restaurant was perfect.
If you are used to polished modern hotels, the Carlton Mitre is not that, but if you are willing accept that and just enjoy the amenities, service and location, you will have a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are a character hotel and it sounds like you had a lovely stay. We hope that you are able to return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We looked at and researched a number of different venues locally before we chose the Carlton Mitre for our civil partnership in October '12. From the very start of our preparations Daniela (the events coordinator) was particularly helpful and knowledgeable about what we needed and how she could help. We had regular meetings prior to our big day and anything we requested of Daniela was carried out efficiently and thoroughly.

Our day went seamlessly from the ceremony which we held at the hotel to the wedding breakfast – where the food exceeded our expectations for quality – to the evening reception where the buffet we had chosen was equally as high a standard as our earlier meal.
Throughout the day the hotel staff were attentive, well-organized and competent and available to help whenever required.

On both the prior evening to our day and the actual day we stayed in the King Henry Suite which was fantastic with its four poster bed and spaciousness as well as the wonderful views of Hampton Court Palace just across the road.

We would highly recommend the Carlton Mitre Hotel for your wedding without hesitation and argue that for value and setting you would be hard-pressed to find a comparable venue for your day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard671066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your super comments. We are so glad that we could be part of your big day and hope that you will return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lensbury
The Lensbury
#1 of 3 in Teddington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Property: The Mitre Hotel
Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing