We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hell”
Review of The Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mitre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 East Molesey B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Myself and a colleague have just returned home having stayed in The Carlton Mitre on Hampton Court Road. From the minute we walked into the smelly, tired reception we knew we had made a mistake booking this hotel and things went from bad to worse.
The 'deluxe' rooms we were shown to were on basement level, which stank of damp. Some enterprising soul had tried to mask it with Febreeze, which only made it worse. The rooms were quite large but had flimsy french doors leading out to a courtyard smoking area, the doors themselves were not sealed properly and a freezing draught was blowing through at gale force.
We promptly complained to the person on reception and rather than apologise appropriately and find us something better he downgraded us to standard rooms for the same price as the deluxe rooms because he said the hotel was full. We saw four people in the hotel the entire time we were there.
The standard rooms were warmer but as my photographs attached will attest, we have never stayed in such a filthy establishment. Had there been an alternative hotel nearby, we would have left immediately. The valance on the bed was stained, the carpet was dirty, the chairs, curtains and pelmut were covered in stains, the furniture was chipped and scored and most disgustingly the duvet was covered with massive brown stains. Gordon Ramsey would have had a field day. The mini fridge was ancient and the air conditioning unit was noisy.
At breakfast a spider fell out of my menu card and another raced across the table, the fringes on the mats in the breakfast room were tattered and grey. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the view of the Thames from the breakfast room and I think that's the only place you can get sight of the Thames.
After breakfast we checked Trip Advisor to see if other people had had a similar experience and unfortunately time and again these issues have been raised. It's not sufficient for management to apologise for their dirty hotel, have a bit of respect for your guest and just clean it!
As we were leaving we were given a voucher to collect for a free stay - not in a million years.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly we would like to apologise sincerely for the things that you encountered during your stay. As soon as we read your review we immediately identified your reservation and conducted a thorough investigation of the rooms in question to identify the problems and absolutely rectify any issues found. We are so, so disappointed that you had a negative experience and therefore would really like to assure you that we have actioned your feedback and absolutely do take all feedback seriously. From your review we have identified and removed any offending items for cleaning and are so upset to think that any such items had been missed by our Housekeeper. We were however unable to change the pelmet as this was not a stain – simply the crushed velvet brushed at a different angle or repair the ‘scratch’ on the cabinet as this was not actually a scratch as it appeared in the photo but part of the wood grain.

In regards to our reception area – we are really disappointed to hear that you found the reception tired and smelly. Our public areas have been completely refurbished (in regards to paintwork, wallpaper and carpeting) just over a year ago and though we are still awaiting new sofas for this area (which may explain why you found the area to look tired) we have never found/or had any feedback that this area was smelly.

We have also checked back through all our records to see if there was any maintenance in either this area or the courtyard area to explain the ‘damp’smell you reported and again cannot find any record which could cause such a smell within either of these areas. We will however monitor the room you were checked into closely for any hint of smells in the future.

In regards to the room move – we are so glad that as a guest you fed back to us during your stay and can only apologise that this did not turn out to be a successful move. Staffing wise there were many more than 4 staff in the hotel on any given day last week and so am a little confused as to why you would think there were only 4. In regards to the spider – we are a riverside venue but our breakfast room is cleaned both at the end of service and again before service so again we cannot apologise enough if one did somehow sneek in as this is again not common in the breakfast room at the hotel.

Finally as a hotel we are situated on the banks of the River Thames with 3 Riverside Patios, a private mooring and 2 restaurants that overlook the river directly. Our exclusive rooms also have super views across both the river and Hampton Court and we are really sad to hear that you did not at least get to enjoy the superb views after breakfast time at the hotel.

We genuinely would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so you could experience the hotel in its true glory and would like to take this opportunity to invite you to contact me directly on gmmitre@carltonhotels.co.uk if you think you would be able to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 679 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently had our wedding ceremony and reception here and we can not recommend it highly enough.
Daniela was our wedding planner and she was so attentive, nothing was ever too much trouble. If ever we had a question or query she was always on hand to answer and she always got back to me immediately.
From start to finish the staff were fantastic, they really looked after my husband and I and all of our guests. They went above and beyond as far as we are concerned, nothing was too much trouble. After the ceremony they set the room for the wedding breakfast up so well, exactly as we wanted it. They made our special day all the more perfect with the attention to detail.
We would highly recommend a wedding here as not only are the staff fantastic but the setting is amazing, right on the river Thames and with the sun shining it was a beautiful day.
The wedding breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and all cooked to perfection, every single guest told us how much they enjoyed the food, the evening buffet was also very good. The whole thing was such good value for money.
The hotel is very nicely decorated and clean, it is not ultra modern but that’s not what we wanted. Being opposite Hampton Court Palace the theme of the hotel blends very well and it has charm and lots of character.
The hotel rooms are very spacious and the beds are super comfy. However, the room is where our only slight complaint occurs. When we were here it was a very warm weekend and the Catherine Parr suite that we were in has no air con, it does have an air con unit but no cold air seemed to come out of it, it just seemed to make a heck of a racket. The windows also opened only a fraction, so it was very hot and while getting ready for a wedding, this was not ideal.
Anyway we would still do it all again at this hotel as that was only a minor thing and in no way affected our amazing day.
If you are thinking of getting married here we can not recommend it highly enough, you really won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your super review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are really glad that you had a perfect day and lots of lovely feedback from your guests too. We hope that we can welcome you both back to the hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent location but that is it.
Quite poor hotel from start to finish.
My main issues listed.
Please be aware that the parking is very limited here. I believe there are on 15 places available for the 36 rooms. If you do manage to find a place your car will be boxed in as they are double stacked. I was told the car park is not monitored so even non guests could possibly park here.
We arrived to a clean room and thought we'd relax for a drink. The complementary mini bar isn't filled till later in the day so all we had to start with was a kitkat and the alcoholic dregs left from the previous guest. I was told this is normal practice in hotels!
I paid extra for the private balcony. On stepping outside I found I was sharing the balcony with 4 other rooms. It was more of a smoking area.
The location is perfect and bar staff and meals were also very good however I will not be visiting again because of the things listed above.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We expected too much for the value of this hotel which I thought was expensive. As in the other reviews a wedding function was on which meant that the restaurant was closed & the Brassiere was mobbed with the wedding party waiting whilst their location was set up. The Brassiere temporarily becomes the wedding function. We were forced out to eat. Upon our return the noise of the function carried on until late.
Our room was very tired & should have been redecorated years ago. It seems an on-going program of cleaning & redecorating is missing. Windows were not clean, landing carpets needed a hoover & the breakfast room rug tassels were grey with dirt.
The de-cantered spirits & complimentary minibar were a nice touch but a bit of a sham. The normal sized de-canter had 10mm of vodka swilling about at the bottom & the minibar certainly did not cater for 2 people in a. (one glass of wine, one 2 finger kit-kat, one glass of fresh orange.......etc)
I mentioned to reception that for a cost of £225 for a night maybe 2 kit-kats would help if the restaurant is closed...........reception were not sympathetic. I am not one to write poor reviews about other businesses as I appreciate how hard it is in this climate but a lot of these problems could be easily avoided.
This hotel is a good location for wedding functions but I am afraid the other hotel guests will suffer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxinemmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location but disappointed that you did not seem to enjoy your stay. Our rooms have been refurbished in a traditional style to be sympathetic to the building however if anything was not clean we do apologise sincerely and will investigate this in detail with our housekeeper immediately. As a hotel we do have a rigorous housekeeping schedule in place which includes all of our windows and public areas and therefore take any such feedback very seriously.
In regards to the wedding group - we can only apologise if this group made you feel at all uncomfortable – we always try to ensure both residents and function guests have a super experience and do have separate areas reserved for function guests throughout the day. Unfortunately as guests of the hotel we cannot stop our wedding party using our public brasserie if they wish to purchase food or drinks from this area; however we do maintain the popular rotunda river view area for diners to ensure that they have a distinct space. Please always do speak to the manager on duty if you at all feel dissatisfied as they will always do their best to ensure that you are looked after and leave with a positive experience.
Finally we are really sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the complimentary decanters of whisky, vodka and brandy or the complimentary minibar selection. As a complimentary gift unfortunately we cannot offer a completely fully stocked minibar but hope that the 2 small bottles of wine, beer, still and sparkling mineral water, pepsi, orange juice, miniatures, kitkat and savoury snacks are a nice touch for our guests to enjoy.
We would really hope that we could welcome you back to the Mitre for a more positive stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here after a visit to Hampton Court Palace with family. Wonderful day out, beautiful sunshine. Ended the day off at the Carlton Mitre sitting by the river drinking Pimms. Wonderful. We had a free upgrade upon arrival. The rooms were amazing. Our patio doors lead to a small private courtyard where we sat for about an hour after breakfast before we checked out. This is a lovely hotel. Restaurant is, I would say, average. Nothing outstanding but the food was good. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, it sounds like you had a super stay.

We hope that you are able to visit us again soon and look forwards to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Superbly located on the Thames right opposite Hampton Court Palace this is a magic location for a hotel. The rooms are well appointed and the staff friendly and helpful.
The real issue for the Mitre is that it is not a 4 star hotel, despite the tariff. It needs big money spent on furnishings and fittings. More than anything, the haphazard development of bedrooms, bar and dining area fails to exploit the fantastic location, and the old property's old coaching inn heritage. When you walk in the door you get a rush of excitement as you anticipate the low ceiling bar with its screens and snug - but it's not there. The overall feeling is that it 's a function hotel which is fair enough if that's the business strategy but it could be so much more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluewatertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback for our location, service and cleanliness. It is lovely to hear that guests love our location as much as we do. As a hotel we are a traditional establishment, refurbished to be sympathetic to our surroundings; however please rest assured that we are constantly striving to improve and maintain our surroundings to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible. We also undergo AA gradings on a regular basis to ensure that our 4 star status is accurate. We hope that our lovely location will tempt you to return in the future and look forwards to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I think you pay 4* prices for the location here, smack bang opposite Hampton Court Palace, which is also located very close to the train station. A brilliant easy location for those visiting the Palace. The room we had was fine I can understand what others have said about a dated feeling, however the hotel is well presented & clean. The room size was excellent, comfy huge bed and all staff we encountered were pleasant & helpful. Parking is a real pain and I'm surprised that they haven't worked something out with the council to get parking vouchers to be able to give to their hotel clients paying quite a lot of money to stay, so they can park in the non hotel parking without forking out yet more money. So based on the above, yes it gets 4/5.

Our main issue was... We travelled with 2 young children and did well to stay out till 10:30pm. But on coming back to the room, the disco at the wedding being held at the hotel had loud music with a vibrating bass till midnight. We are young and fine with music... But this felt like the party was in the room next door, it was so so loud in our room. So although we had a comfortable bed, there was no chance of going to sleep till midnight when the music finished. When you have young kids a good nights sleep is important, which is why we paid for a good hotel. If I'd known about the music situation, we would have stayed elsewhere.

As a young couple attending the wedding this hotel would be perfect! But not if you are planning to sleep before midnight!

So apart from the music, the hotel is fine.



Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMitreHotel, General Manager at The Mitre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your overall lovely review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, the room and found our staff to be helpful. Unfortunately our parking is limited due to our super location but please rest assured that as a hotel we have explored every avenue in regards to offering extra parking within the car park but unfortunately have not been able to secure this. We do however have a very reasonable car park 100m away which offers weekend parking for 48 hours for approx £8.00 which we really hope is a good option for any guests unable to park. In regards to the function – I am so, so sorry that you and your family were kept awake. As a rule our Reception should always make guests aware upon check-in if there is a function at the hotel, and if available offer them an alternative room if they would feel more comfortable. If our reception did not make you aware of the function please do accept my sincerest apologies as this should’ve have been mentioned to you. We really hope that we would be able to welcome you back to the Mitre in the future either as a family or couple and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Molesey
1.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.3 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge London Teddington
1.5 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Teddington
554 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Hotel

Address: Hampton Court Road | Hampton Court, East Molesey KT8 9BN, England (Formerly Carlton Mitre Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Molesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in East Molesey
Price Range: $123 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mitre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Mitre Surrey
The Mitre Hotel East Molesey, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing