We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocum

Cocum
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in East Molesey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Wales
Level Contributor
223 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have been going most months to the area, and yet seem to have missed this little gem. The service was attentive, and the food great.
Indian cuisine can often be over creamy, but all of the dishes myself and my colleagues ate had a delicate balance of flavours.
Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    20
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extraordinary South Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Up until now, my top Indian restaurants outside of India were in London. The Red Fort topped the list (though it's changed a bit in recent years). The food here, in this village on the banks of the Thames opposite Hampton Court Palace, was that good or better. The wait staff were particularly friendly in helping us decide on a number of authentic dishes as served in Kerala on the west coast of southern India. We settled on three dishes for two of us and it was perfect. Mango Pulissery, Chicken Uluva Kootu, and Chochin Prawn Curry, plus two orders of Pulau Rice and one bread order of Kerala Paratha. Each dish was excellent. Each dish was completely different from the others. This is NOT your typical suburban London high street curry. We will definitely return... and we come from Los Angeles!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my second visit to this Kerala-inspired restaurant. It disproves the assumption that you have to pay high prices for quality food. It's inexpensive, the good is fab, and the staff are attentive without being infuriatingly in your face. My partner and I decided to order things we'd never eaten before and were not disappointed. Anything which proclaimed mango as an ingredient certainly got our vote. The accompanying wines are very reasonable priced. Chablis for under £20? Try to get that in your local Star of India, or A Taste of the Raj. As it happens, we ordered the house white wine which was perfectly acceptable. I shall be making this a regular haunt.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, improving quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a good Kerala restaurant, friendly staff and the food is definitely improving. Chicken Shashlick is quite superb as are some dishes that you don't find in most Indian restaurants such as Mango Pulissery. Great for take-aways - they will deliver - or for eating in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank grueziwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Attentive service; great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the minute we arrived, the owner and waiter graciously advised us of menu offerings, made recommendations, and served us a delicious Indian meal of both familiar choices and new, untried Southern Indian dishes. We look forward to a return visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank eatouteverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocum also viewed

East Molesey, Surrey
East Molesey, Surrey
 
East Molesey, Surrey
 

Been to Cocum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing