We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely day out”

Hampton Court Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.01*
and up
Hampton Court Palace Priority Entrance Ticket
More Info
$104.06*
and up
Windsor and Hampton Court Palace Day Trip from London
More Info
$70.71*
and up
Hampton Court and Windsor Tour from London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit the famous hedge maze, Tudor knot garden and the state apartments at this splendid red-brick Tudor Palace, which is set in formal gardens and open parkland along the Thames River.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A really lovely day out”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hampton Court has the benegit of being free. Yes you read that right. If you just go to the gardens, there is no charge. The maze is worth paying for and we went ice skating which was fabulous, right by the river and the palace as backdrop. Magical. Bushey park accross the road has a free car park and a really good children's playround,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,097
    1,046
    203
    65
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Excellent attraction bringing Tudor history to life.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A family visit as part of a birthday weekend and what a great experience - it was so good we swopped our tickets for annual membership the of the Royal Palaces as we would like to return to Hampton Court and the other great Royal attractions. It was a bitterly cold day which with the log fires burning added to the overall ambiance and stepping back in time. Every part of the Palace is so interesting and if you enjoy history you will certainly enjoy a day here at Hampton Court .Various characters of the era including Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn wander around engaging the visitors bringing the whole place to life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimMillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went there with my family and it was a very interesting and adventurous viewing that catapults you back in time and gives you a real impression on how Henry VIII lived there. The little church in the inside of the castle had a huge impact on me because of its history behind it. I'm not gonna tell you what history as I don't want to spoil it for you.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cherievani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ghost tour at Hampton Court Palace”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have been trying to book the ghost tour for years and kept forgetting about this hidden little trip. Anyway I finally managed to book myself and hubbie onto this in late November and at £25 per head its not a cheap night out but one not to be missed.

We arrived at HCP and the Palace looks really good at night, especially as it was lovely and dark, the tour only had about 25 people on it, and the tour guide makes it really informative, whilst also trying to spook you out! It was a great tour and the best bit had to be the "Haunted Gallery" at the end which you get to walk through in the dark either on your own or with the other members of your party.

It was a fun and different night out and one I would definately recommend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Inspiring day out”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I last visited Hampton Court Palace five years ago; I went again today with a visiting friend, and the experience has been transformed since my last visit. The palace and the exhibits are now really interactive and informative, with much better displays and information, and the staff, all dressed up beautifully in a Tudor theme, make a real effort to engage with visitors and share their knowledge of the place and its contents. During our visit, some actors were prowling, dressed as Henry VIII and his courtiers, and this was great fun for our French guest who was drawn into a conversation with the king about Anglo-French relations. As a tourist attraction it's pretty expensive, but at least you know the money is going towards upkeep on an amazing building. The bedchamber exhibition that opens next week looks like it will be really good, so I was sorry to just miss this. Our visitor loved the day, and is off to read Wolf Hall and any other Tudor-based historical fiction he can find, so it was a very inspiring visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissMomiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Court Palace also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Hampton Court Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing