We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Kirkdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kirkdale Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Croydon B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Perfect location, with the hotel being literally a minutes walk away from a whole street of at least twenty restauraunts along with the croydon nightlife there is plenty to do. Also to keep busy during the day, the huge "Whitgift Shopping Centre" is only a short walk away (Approximately 15 minutes). If you want to go out of Croydon, then there is also an extensive transport network to take u into or out of london within walking distance. The hotel is better suited for those looking for a quiet stay, it makes a perfect place for couples or those looking to get a peaceful get away. Breakfast could have a better range but the friendly staff compensate for this willing to meet your every need. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becker_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2006

People here are friendly (I say people because it is never quite clear who is staff and who owns or runs the place) but look beyond the pseudo-gilded mirrors and the relatively new carpet in the room and it shows that this is a stingy little place. Talking about mirrors, the one in the bathroom can only be used by those 5 foot 6 inches (1.65m) tall and less. Rooms are small, loud and austere. They call this a hotel but you only get a one-hour period for breakfast, and that is on the basic side. To top it all, they ask for money upfront, i.e., you won’t get the key to your room unless you pay up. I have to say, I have never seen this before. But it is still a rather nasty habit. How they ever got, allegedly, a four-diamond listing with the AA is beyond me and shows how utterly useless – even misleading – AA and RAC accommodation guides are (for those not living in the UK, these are our two main automobile clubs/associations). If one is not being kept awake by the neighbour’s snoring it is the plumbing with its range of strange noises. On the whole, my advice for this hotel is, stay well clear. It’s not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Peterbilt_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2006

This hotel is a little on the average accomodation. Confusion about our booking and obviously they have a problem in that area. Room was large but very basic. Bed cover had a tear in it. Room was abit drab. Breakfast was very limited. Rooms are non smoking but the smoke drifts up from the sitting room.

2  Thank Adelaide Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirkhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
easyHotel London Croydon
easyHotel London Croydon
#19 of 24 in Croydon
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tulsi Croydon Aparthotel
Tulsi Croydon Aparthotel
#20 of 24 in Croydon
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkdale Hotel

Address: 22 St. Peters Road, Croydon CR0 1HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Croydon
Price Range: $66 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirkdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing