We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's visit to London including seeing family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Year's visit to London including seeing family”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Croydon West Premier Travel Inn was convenient for onward travel into London. We left our car parked in their car park and caught the frequent bus for a 15 minute journey to East Croydon Station; the bus ran all night, which was good for returning in the early hours of New Year's Day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    139
    62
    18
    17
See reviews for
140
126
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I would highly recommend this Premier Inn. The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean with great bathroom facilities. The hotel was decorated in a modern way, with what looked like brand new carpets. Although situated in a built up area, there was very little noise during our stay. The pub next door offered breakfast and meals, although we didn't have time to make use of this facility. From previous visits we would recommend the Premier Inn breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franners83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here Xmas Eve & Xmas Day whilst visiting friends .. The Inn is in a good location, next to the A23 but far enough away so there is no traffic noise; there is a Pub/Restaurant next door. It is a newly built building so it is modern & has plenty of parking. The family room was up to the usual standard, clean comfortable & spacious - it met all my needs.
The members of staff working over this period were extremely polite & helpful.
I paid £59.00 in total for the 2 nights, excellent value .. i would certainly stay again when in this part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just returned from two nights stay at this Premier Inn, the staff exceeded themselves to ensure that we had a pleasant, restfull stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
I would also like to commend the adjacent restaurant, The Gypsy Moth, the atmosphere, service and food was beyond reproach.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322, a nice quiet room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salopianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

good clean, warm rooms, great staff good food at pub next to hotel, great staff and warm welcome at both the hotel and pub.
good car parking,
great service from hotel staff , would like wifi to be free but not a big issue
We will use premier inn again great breakfast lots of choice of food.

Good job Premier Inn

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILLIP K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

So here we go again...... The hotel is really easy to find as its opposite an air museum with a great big plane displayed outside it. There are a few shops and restaurants next to the hotel and parking is plentiful.
Reception was quick and pleasant and the staff on the desk were happy and helpful. The rooms were usual PI standard but seemed cold, even with the heating on full.
I ate with my work colleagues in the pub next door and all I can say is avoid it like the plague!! We both had a carvery and were quite keen while waiting for the meat to be cut, then we got to the veg on the hot plate. This was disgusting, the cabbage was so dry it was crumbling, the potatoes were rock hard in the middle and there is more taste in gutter water than what there was in the gravy. We did try to complain but there were no staff about to complain to. Eat in one of the other places nearby and you'll be dodging a pretty big bullet.
Then we get to breakfast. Once again PI, you have given nothing more than poor performance and even worse food and service. I have never met as many lazy staff members in my life until I had breakfast here. The staff were rude and had no interest in being there. The first woman checking room numbers was the worst, she'd stand at the bar and just tick names and ask if I wanted eggs. She made no effort to show me to a table, instead walking of the other way. The toaster wouldn't toast, it took 7 rotations for it to get brown enough to be called toast. Another guest raised this issue with her and once again her attitude said it all. She really was a vile member of staff. After 10 mins of waiting for my eggs to be poached, she walks to my table empty handed and says my eggs are ready to which I ask 'Where are they then?'. Her reply was just classic, she had left them at the other end of the restaurant for me to go and collect, even though she had walked all that way to tell me that they were ready. If you've walked all that way, bring the damn food with you!!
I would have rated the hotel higher as the staff in reception really were great but as its down to PI with breakfast, I feel the score I have given is over generous. Seriously PI...... SORT OUT YOUR STAFF, THEY ARE NOTHING MORE THAN A JOKE!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimmy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel was great. We stayed (2 adults/2 kids) in a family room and it was very clean and very comfortable. Croydon is a bit of a mixed area, however the car park for the Premier Inn appeared safe and secure. Nice breakfast too ! - I would recommend it. Was good for rail access to London (25mins from Croydon East station - park at Whitgift NCP car park)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
Address: 619 Purley Way | The Colonnades Leisure Park, Croydon CR0 4RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Croydon
#4 Family Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croydon West Premier Inn is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. We are located in the Colonnades Leisure park with a variety of restaurant and bars which include our partner pub, The Gipsy Moth. The Colonnades Leisure park is part of London's first Airport. The Airport Museum is minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 84 En-suite bedrooms with power shower and bath. Each room is equipped with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay. After a great night’s sleep, why not enjoy our All you can Eat "Premier Breakfast" for £7.99 per person. 2 children eat free with 1 paying adult. We are ideally located just off the A23 with free parking. Our parking facility has no height or size restrictions and is monitored 24hrs per day. We are minutes away from Wimbledon, the major wedding venues in and around Surrey and Gatwick Airport. Gatwick Airport is 15 minutes by Train from East Croydon Station. " At Premier Inn-Everything is Premier But the Price...."A GOOD NIGHT'S SLEEP GUARANTEED!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Croydon West Hotel Croydon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing