We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Twynholm, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and great value”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I frequently stay at htis hotel when on business in London and I do so because it is far, far cheaper than a central London hotel. Croydon is 15-20 minutes from London and is served by frequent services to and from the capital. Try to avoid rush hour, though, as the trains are often absolutely packed!

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from East Croydon station but can be hard to find as it is off a street down a poorly lit alley next to a lap dancing establishment opposite a KFC. The reception area is clean and welcoming and the staff are friendly although many of them do recognise me from my frequent visits. Rooms can be slightly small but fine for an overnight stay. Unfortunately, some of them are close enough to a bin collection area for a shopping complex that you may be awoken by rubbish collections or by vans arriving to deliver to the complex. The rooms are clean and usually well maintained but I personally find the beds a little uncomfortable and I find the heating ventilation system annoying (they are common to many HI Express hotels).

There is a very limited choice of food but the receptionists will provide take away menus for a range of delivery services if you don't fancy exploring the dubious delights of Croydon. I think you can also get discount vouchers for a number of nearby restaurants such as Tiger Tiger which is not too far away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors and as far away from the bin area as possible (you will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear StuartA,

Thank you for the review which you have left on our hotel, we very much appreciate all comments received and also the fact that you have been staying with us on a regular basis.

Best Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    325
    177
    80
    47
See reviews for
160
234
77
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brereton, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Quite simply, one to miss for me.

Finding this place, even with a modern TomTom was difficult to say the least. It is hidden off a side street, and in a very daunting alley. There were two parking spaces outside of the hotel, and these are both reserved for disabled drivers. My first thought about the parking was, "Oh well, the local multi-story car-park is only a stone's throw away." FIRST MISTAKE!! The local multi-story car-park IS only a short distance if after 20:00 hrs, and before 08:00 hrs. Otherwise you have to follow the one-way system around, which is quite a distance, and the car-park is very difficult to find. (Road signs for the Car-park are dreadful.) You are then faced with what I felt was a very scary walk through dark and daunting streets, and the previously mentioned alley. (I am a former Rugby League player, and am not easily scared. Heaven knows what this must be like for ladies.)

The hotel staff were polite, if not particularly friendly. (They must be used to polite comments about the alley. I was polite.) I arrived shortly after a bus-load of Chinese students had been dropped off, and the foyer was packed solid with people and cases. The staff were very efficient, and soon cleared the foyer, when you considered how many guests were there.

The room itself (410) was reasonable. It was a good size, and had four sets of electrical sockets. Unusually for Holiday Inn Express (by my own experience) one of the sockets was on the same side of the room as the bed, and so I found it easy to plug in my CPAP machine. (Usually a problem, as the socket(s) usually exist on the opposite side of the room only, necessitating a request from reception for an extension lead.) I was disappointed to see several stains on the carpet of unknown origin. One thing I like about HIE is the comfort of their beds. Once again, this was a pleasant experience. I also like the choice provided of hard or soft pillows. The room was quiet, with no apparent street noise.

The TV was a modern, flat screen model, and there were a reasonable choice of channels. The internet was free, but is not Wi-fi in the rooms. (It is wi-fi in the foyer, but only accessible by cable in the rooms. Cable was provided, and was in the room when I arrived.) The speed was very good.

The bathroom was modern, and clean. the only items provided though were a shampoo dispenser and two plastic tumblers. (Two electric shaver sockets also available.)

There was a kettle, two cups and free coffee / tea in the room. Once again, no thought for non tea and coffeeee drinkers. Once again, I asked in reception, and no chocolate sachets were available.

Breakfast was in with the reasonable price, but it was only so-so. The hot option was tired looking sausages, dry looking scrambled eggs, and baked beans. Why do HIE not like bacon? I would have thought it standard fayre along with the other options. There was cereal, toast, yoghurts, and various preserves as cold options. Also provided were two machines providing fruit juices and hot drinks. (The hot drinks DID include hot chocolate.)

There are places to eat close by, if you are brave enough to venture out through the alleyway, and into the surrounding streets. (Very close by is a KFC.)

Overall, the quality of the hotel is reasonable for the price, but I would never use it again due to the difficulty finding the place, the threatening nature of the approach, lack of parking and just the "feel" of it.

Room Tip: If you are a lady, and don't like being in daunting situations, I would certainly give this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_LDSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Alan_LDSUK,

Many thanks for the comprehensive review of our hotel; we very much appreciate the comments, time and effort taken.
I will be in contact with you personally to discuss each point raised.

Kind Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very conveniently placed in the centre of Croydon but quietly tucked away. Staff were helpful and friendly and there was a very warm welcome. Room was clean and functional and breakfast was good. All this for a very reasonable price. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Vancast,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, we very much look forward to welcoming you upon your return to the hotel.

Best regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a twin room on 2nd floor of this hotel. The room was fantastic, fresh looking, clean and comfortable. The view on our side and on our floor practically non-existent, but we didn't mind since we were in London all day (very good connection to the centre from local train stations). It was quiet at night because of good soundproofing. While the hotel is a little bit hidden, the location itself is alright and there are lots of shopping opportunities around. Staff friendly and welcoming. A big plus is the free breakfast with several hot and cold options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marr3wk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Marr3wk,

Thank you for the fantastic review, its so very pleasing when we recieve such great feedback from our guests. Should you be back in the area, we would love to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights while attending a course at Mayday Hospital and found the service, cleanliness and the hotel in general to be excellent and all my needs were catered for. I will be returning again later this month and will be booking my stay here as.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Nana,

Thank you so very much for the great review of our hotel, the entire team will be very happy to hear your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

,Just spent the weekend here whilst visiting my daughter & son in law. This is our second visit & just as the last time very happy with our stay. Staff we have found to be very friendly & helpful, and our room clean & welcoming. The free breakfast is adequate, and we have no complaints & can only claim a good experience at a budget hotel.

Room Tip: State smoking or non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Hetherington,

Many thanks for the lovely review on your stay with us. It's great to read such kind words of praise, I will feed back your comments to the team,who I know will very much appreciate them.

Best Regards
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed on New Years Eve. Was checked in by a straight faced girl called Jana, I told her my full name and that I had a room booked, she ignored me and asked, "Surname?" (This was the only word she said to me on check in.) I gave her my name again and she checked me in in complete silence which made me feel very uncomfortable! She didn't bother to tell me breakfast times, any information about the hotel or even how to get to my room.

- Hotel room is of holiday inn standard, very basic but comfortable.
- Hotel is placed right in the centre of the shops so everything - bars, restaurants etc - are right on the doorstep
- 20 minutes away from London Bridge on the train
- Breakfast consists of sausages, eggs and beans, cereals, toast and juice


On check out, was yet again made to feel uncomfortable when I overheard a receptionist telling a guest who enquired about where his friend was - that his friend had been taken for questioning by police for apparently sexually assaulting someone. Left the hotel to see for myself the police cars parked outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollylewly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Lollylewly,

Thank you for the time and effort to leave your review on your stay with us.

I will contact you personally to discuss each point raised.

Yours Sincerely
Maxine Short
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Croydon

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Address: 1 Priddy's Yard | off Frith Road, Croydon CR0 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. The hotel boasts 156 contemporary style, air-conditioned, en-suite bedrooms each with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay .After a great night’s sleep, they enjoy our FREE Hot buffet breakfast All this is coupled with conference facilities for up to 70 people on a dedicated floor. WiFi in the lobby area is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Hotel Croydon
Express London Croydon
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing