We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for six nights in October 2011.

The hotel is centrally located in Croydon and it's just a five to ten minutes walk from the hotel to the train station East Croydon, where you can get a direct ride to London Victoria station and the heart of London lasting around 15 to 20 minutes. The train runs every ten to 15 minutes. There was never a problem to catch one, no matter what time of the day.

The rooms were very clean and the staff was most helpful and friendly!!!

The offered breakfast's just increadible. You can chose between a huge variety of food of a continental and british breakfast: juices, coffee, fruits, rolls, croissants, baked beans, sausages, muesli and so on. In addition, they never ran out of anything, even until shortly before the end of the breakfast times.
The only downside was that the cutlery, the plates and the tables sometimes weren't cleaned properly. We were often cleaning the cutlery with napkins before starting to eat.

Near the hotel are some clubs and discos, causing a lot of noises, especially during the weekend (friday to sunday). During our first night we stayed in a room in the direction of a disco next to the hotel. It was nearly impossible to sleep well, due to the loud noises of drunk and partying people outside in front of the disco and loud music coming out of the disco itself, especially the heavy bass of the music was extremely annoying. The next morning, we complained about that and the staff told us to give the disco a call about that matter. When the same problem occured the following night, we were complaining again immeadiately. The staff on night duty, especially Keisha, was understanding and increadibly helpful! We were offered another and quiet room in the other direction of the hotel on the same floor and we could move into this room around 30 minutes after the complaint.
At this point I'd like express my thanks for this great service!

This hotel is a great stay and I'd always chose it again. It's an excellent value for the price, it's clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Most important, if there's a problem, the staff is doing it's very best to solve it!

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, ask for one's in the opposite direction of the disco, especially duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freie_Meinung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving us such a great review on your recent stay with us.

I am so happy that you found our central location helpful for you; the trains to Victoria and London Bridge from East Croydon are very frequent and most ideal for our travelling guests. You are just a 15 minute train journey to all Central London attractions, which I know is great if you are on day trips and sight seeing tours.

The breakfast supervisor will be happy that you found the food and service good, but had you alerted them to any problems you were having they would have put it right, immediately for you

It is very pleasing to see that you found both the rooms and staff to be to your satisfaction and I will see to it, that all staff are made aware of your kind comments. Keisha will be most pleased that you found her prompt and helpful in dealing with your noise issues.

I am so very sorry your stay was marred by the noise level from the local night club, but as you know from our staff, we only need to call them if the level is becoming a nuisance and they will lower it for us. We work alongside many local nightclubs and restaurants to not only keep any problems down but to find our guests discounts when available.

Croydon is a very busy town centre with a wide variety of clubs, pubs and restaurants and sometimes the noise of the people can be heard from the hotel and for that I apologise deeply to you.

Once again I offer my sincerest thanks for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to Croydon should you return.

Yours Sincerely

Maxine Short
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 854 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Right on a huge shopping mall and commercial street in croidon... Eating out and shopping wont be a problem.
In reception very very friendly staff.
Free WIFI. ;)... but only in the lobby :(

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrvellerPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Member

Thank you for entering and letting me know you posted the above review, and for your great ideas and comments you left me with. I will look at implementing all your comments in the future and look forward to showing you the improvements we have made on your next stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Croydon.

I was pleased you found the Free Wi-Fi of use and the hotels location was ideal for your requirements. We are working on more partner restaurant deals and can currently offer our guests discounts at six local restaurants or use of the local Virgin Active gym and spa.

I hope to welcome you on your next flight to London.

Kind regards

Stuart

Stuart Clay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

After 4 weeks of travelling and staying at various hotels, this is by far the best in the budget line! And really nothing was budget about this hotel. We had travelled the rail system in Paris, flown to London, travelled the rail sytem in London before arriving at this hotel. We were tired , but on arrival we were met by the lovely Keisha who was on night duty, with a lovely smile and a quick check in to our room. This hotel is wonderful value for the money, we could find absolutely no fault! Rooms were large enough, breakfast was plentiful and staff were all quite exceptional. This is a great location for Gatwick airport, about an hour and a half by tube from Heathrow and therefore not as good for Heathrow, and 15 minutes from Victoria station from which many tours depart. also only 20 mins from London. Shopping is right outside your door, and plenty of it. Would I stay here again? You bet I would! It was excellent1

Room Tip: Can't say anything about getting better rooms, but it is only sya half a kilometer away from Eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Jenny

Thank you for taking the time to complete the above review, following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express London Croydon. I hope you had a good flight home.

I am delighted you found the hotel to a high standard and that the service Keisha and my team provided you with surpassed your pre arrival expectations.

We work as a team to keep the hotel as fresh and up to date as possible whilst offering all guests a good value for money stay. My breakfast team were pleased to hear your comments. All the hard work and effort that has been put into our breakfast area is bring nothing but satisfied customers. Who are enjoying our well stocked free hot and cold buffet offering.

I hope to meet you personally on your next visit to London, thank you again for your feedback all your great comments have been passed onto Keisha and my team.

Kind regards

Stuart

Stuart Clay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

As a family we are always looking for good deals and this hotel fit the bill big time.
Staff,friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a surprise as we were just expecting a continental but there were hot items too. Unlike most "budget " hotels,there is an area with a microwave,plates ect. That if you wish to purchase meals outside hotel for other meals,you can do so and eat it in the main area or take to your room. I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel or stay again myself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemencass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your feedback on us, we appreciate very much the time you have taken and also all of your comments.

We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Also the fact that you look around for great deals and we fit the bill for you, shows that we are getting things right.

It’s very pleasing to hear how our team looked after you all and that breakfast came as a surprise. All Holiday Inn Express hotels have now started serving the hot items, which has been received well from all guests.

The choice our guests have for an evening meal is quite extensive, seeing as we do not serve one at the hotel. Its great you made use of the microwave that’s available and that you found there is a wide choice of restaurants in very close proximity to the hotel.

Many thanks for your recommendation to use our hotel; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Best Regards

Maxine Short
Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed two nights in order to attend a family celebration in central London - nearer hotels were so expensive. Have stayed here before. Really nice room and very quiet on the 7th floor. Particularly like the choice of pillows. Breakfast excellent value and staff very helpful and welcoming. Near to both Croydon stations. Only drawback was the large amount of exuberant club goers in the streets around the hotel which made me feel a little anxious as I walked from the station to the hotel but police in evidence on the beat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on the hotel; it is also great to know that you are a returning guest.

I am very pleased to see that you found comfort with the new choice of pillows available to our guests, having this choice does help go towards a more comfortable nights sleep, along with the new mattresses we have upgraded to.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast with us and that our staff looked after you and made you feel welcomed.

As in most town centres you will find lots of bars, restaurants and nightclubs, but I am sorry to hear that this made you feel a little anxious. The town’s security do keep a high profile at weekends due to the clubs.

If you are back in the area needing accommodation, we hope we can offer you our services again.

Yours sincerely

Maxine Short
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel is located in the centre of Croydon and not far from the railways station. We have traveled from and to the railways station always on foot.
We decided to stay there because we were going to Brighton on a day excursion and moreover it is well connected with London Victoria (about 15 minutes by train).
So if your destination is near Victoria is really convenient.
The day we arrived (Sunday) the town was quite sleepy but the following two days there were a lot of people walking around.
Moreover, we had some spare hours before taking the train to St Pancras (a direct train so really convenient) we made some shopping. Just in the centre of Croydon and so near the hotel there are two big shopping centres with a lot of shops.
As the hotel is not in London (but we used the travelcard which is not really expensive) the price for this hotel is very competitive and the quality is quite high as all Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, Its great news to hear that you felt welcomed by our team.

I am happy to hear that you found the links to central London were convenient for you,. the 5-7 minute walk to East Croydon train station is quite handy for our guests. It’s great to also notice that you made use of the nearby shopping centres; the wide variety of stores does make for a happy shopper.

We aim to deliver a 5 star standard and I am glad that you left feeling that you had received this.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back, should you be in this area in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Maxine Short
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I went to holiday express inn at the end of september with 3 friends of mine. We booked 2 rooms in a very good price! The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was very good. This hotel is 5min walking from the railway station and about 20 min away from the central station of victoria by train.2 years ago we stayed in jurrys inn hotel, which is in the same town but this year we choose holiday express because of the price and we didn't regret it. Near to this hotel is the american express bank where you can find the best exchange with no fee. The only thing that you should do is to take an electricity adaptor 240v to 110v(it is cheaper outside than the hotel) and for your convinience i mention to you that there are no fridges at the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerex, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

I would like to thank you so very much for leaving your comments on your recent stay with us, we appreciate the time you have taken.

It’s very pleasing to hear how you found our staff were friendly and helpful toward you and your 3 friends. Also, I am happy to see that you enjoyed our free breakfast as we have now begun to offer the hot choices.

The convenient links we have with Central London via East Croydon station are great for our guests and I am glad that you also found these useful.

The American Express bank nearby is very useful to our guests, as not only do you get the best exchange, as you and your friends found, but its situated among the vast variety of shopping centres and major high street stores.

As we are a limited service hotel, we do not offer the fridges in the guest bedrooms, but as we are located by many supermarkets, there does not seem to be a high need for them. Guest also have access to the microwave oven should they wish to heat food in the evening.

Again I offer my sincerest thanks for your review of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back, should you need accommodation in this area in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Maxine Short
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus London Croydon Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Croydon

Address: 1 Priddy's Yard | off Frith Road, Croydon CR0 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: $61 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Croydon 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon is the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting Croydon, only 15 mins from Central London by train. The hotel boasts 156 contemporary style, air-conditioned, en-suite bedrooms each with high speed internet access offering guests a comfortable and connected stay .After a great night’s sleep, they enjoy our FREE Hot buffet breakfast All this is coupled with conference facilities for up to 70 people on a dedicated floor. WiFi in the lobby area is free to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon Hotel Croydon
Express London Croydon
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing