We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent selection of pies for the match - or any time”

The Spread Eagle Pub & Theatre
Ranked #1 of 18 Nightlife in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now one of the best pubs in Croydon, The Spread Eagle was originally built as a bank. Not much has changed though - you're still welcome to deposit your money here - and truth be told the returns are better! Invest a little of your time with us and try our finest ale and pie.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Working in Croydon and this is the best place to watch any football. Great range of beers, outstanding choice of quality pies and very friendly staff and clientele. As Man City fans in South London we're welcomed with excellent good humour. There are smarter restaurants further down the main drag, but if you're looking for reasonably priced good honest food you can't better The Spread Eagle. They've just opened an occasional upstairs theatre which looks promising too.

1  Thank Blue_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butlerrobj, Manager at The Spread Eagle Pub & Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Many thanks for your recent review on us here at The Spreadeagle. We thoroughly enjoyed your comments and appreciate your review. Hopefully you will visit us again and we will educate you on the finer points of the Red side of Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pies"
in 17 reviews
"mash"
in 4 reviews
"sunday roast"
in 3 reviews
"upstairs room"
in 3 reviews
"steak and ale pie"
in 3 reviews
"excellent food"
in 4 reviews
"selection of beers"
in 4 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 4 reviews
"after a long day"
in 2 reviews
"leather sofas"
in 2 reviews
"wedding reception"
in 3 reviews
"on tap"
in 4 reviews
"real ale"
in 3 reviews
"katherine street"
in 2 reviews
"lovely staff"
in 2 reviews
"pastry"
in 2 reviews
"friendly service"
in 2 reviews
Filter

100 - 104 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We lived in Croydon for 4 years and whenever we're back we always go to the Spread Eagle.
It's a Fullers Ale & Pie house, which means the ale is all excellent with a fantastic selection by the pump and the bottle and the eating is good, with an interesting selection of tasty pies and traditional dishes.
The staff on our latest visit were lovely - you can always taste a beer before you buy and the specials change over regularly and according to the season. They show all the major sports events but it never gets too crowded. And what's really special is the space - there are lots of quiet nooks to sit in and have a chat and the upstairs room is tall and comfortable. Add in the cinema club (run by the Save the David Lean campaign group - the David Lean cinema next door was closed down a couple of years ago) and the fine building itself and this really is the only place to go if you're staying in one of Croydon's hotels.
Tip: on Fridays/Saturdays the centre can get quite intimidating in the late evening. Though the pub isn't in the thick of the action, it's best to turn right out of the main entrance as you leave and walk up the road past the clock tower rather than walk on past the late bars into the centre.

3  Thank thejesmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is no shortage of pubs and bars in Croydon but most of them employ door staff, which for me is an instant warning sign. Are they expecting trouble?!

The Spread Eagle has no door staff, as it is a decent, pleasant, friendly, old-fashioned English pub. It is the kind of place where you can sit in peace with your pint and nobody will disturb you. No loud music, no rowdiness and no vulgarity. During a week spent in Croydon I popped in here for a pint several times by myself and felt very much at home.

Location is good, as it is walking distance from East Croydon station and the Croydon Park Hotel.

2  Thank WarsawBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butlerrobj, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Pub & Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hello WarsawBrit.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Spreadeagle. We appreciate all the feedback we get. I am glad you enjoyed you're visits to The Spreadeagle and we'll try our hardest to continue the good work.

Kind Regards

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I walked into this pub to find out about their menu.
was greeted by warm friendly staff who were more than happy to help.
the next night we came back and ate.....the service was excellent, the food fantastic and the prices very reasonable.
the pub itself has a great character, lovely dark wood throughout, everywhere you went in it, was clean, tidy and well kept........went again the following night and will be next week.
by far the best pub within walking distance of the jurys inn, and worth travelling to as food was top class.

3  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butlerrobj, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Pub & Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hello Steve P

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Spreadeagle. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I had a pleasant experience here. The music was too loud but otherwise good. I'd happily come back here.

2  Thank elsie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spread Eagle Pub & Theatre also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to The Spread Eagle Pub & Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing