We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, attentive service, excellent authentic Indian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #116 of 458 Restaurants in Croydon
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for money, attentive service, excellent authentic Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Banana Leaf is a very well known Indian Restaurant in Croydon, although the restaurant deco and atmosphere is average, the food compensate it all.
I both use their take away and eat in options and I have never been disappointed.
Go for Korma or Tikka for a mild curry whilst I recommend their special curries (South Indian), I tried yesterday the Chettanadu Meat Curry and was very pleased with it.
Attentive service and friendly staff!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    7
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Curry that tickles your tastebuds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went with a group of colleagues on Friday 24th August 2012. The food was really good, I had a chicken jalfrezi which tasted nice and spicy which I really enjoyed. You do have to avoid eating the green chillies as they are very hot but the flavour of the food danced on my tongue. My colleagues who had not been there before were really surprised at the quality and that restaurant will be on our next night out. There was an excellent selection of main dishes ranging from the mildest korma to the fiery madras and vindaloo. Well worth a visit for the curry lover.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fruitytealeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Enjoyed attentive service, lovely food with generous portions, good selection of food on menu, variety to choose from, king prawns delious, highly recommended, would visit again definitely. Parking however was an issue.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very tasty, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Unlike many Curry houses, each dish was distinctly different with interesting flavours. Only downside was a rather indifferent welcome and white wine served too warm... Lamb also just a bit too chewy! Will go again though...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodsideGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best Indian food in Croydon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Banana Leaf is the best Croydon has to offer in terms of Indian food. Its authentic, tasty, fresh and served with a smile, this place needs some love from Croydon residents as its tucked away - but well worth a visit. Look beyond the tacky shop front and drab decor... when you get your food you will be happy. Try the Chicken Chetinnadu, and the Dry Masala Okra - they are excellent, as are the other "chef's specials" - fish curry, prawns, and the fried lamb all hit the spot nicely. Go there!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaifB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing