We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in Croydon by a suburban country mile”
Review of Matthews Yard

Matthews Yard
Ranked #46 of 496 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Matthews Yard is an independent coffee shop, canteen, bar and arts space in the centre of Croydon. We are part owned by the local community and have a varied events programmes taking in art exhibitions, live music, poetry, craft clubs, language classes, writing workshops, theatre, stand-up comedy and so much more.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I love Matthews Yard. The sandwiches are great: nothing over-fancy, but interesting bread, and tasty fillings), and the staff are friendly and helpful.

I love the homespun approach to its design: helps it to feel laid-back, and they've done exactly the right thing, which is to avoid smashing up all the original features of the place.

The arts programme looks good too, they've given Croydon Radio a home, and they're trying to get a studio theatre going. They're new, and to an extent they're probably feeling their way, but to me that's really exciting because the stuff they're trying to do is really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaifB, Owner at Matthews Yard, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks so much for the glowing review Dave. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 170 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

I found the place to be very interesting since it still has a feel of being under development, but that gives it character.

I have been more than once for meetings and often the staff do smile, but sometimes you get staff under training. I guess that is normal for a new venue like this whilst it gets its feet on the ground. The big upside is that you should not have normally to wait long and I have not yet found it crowded. That is unusual so close to the centre of Croydon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank plane007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaifB, Owner at Matthews Yard, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review Peter. I hope all is well with MY GR World!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Matthews Yard is an oasis in Croytdon- so so needed and a real pleasure to viist. Staff are extremnely friendly and helpful The food is great and the coffee even better. I love going there and highly recommend it to any age.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank LondonKathyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaifB, Owner at Matthews Yard, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review. I am glad you like the space we have created. Its changed a great deal since you left this review, so if you haven't been in a while, please do visit again. We now bake all our own cakes and bread and the menu changes monthly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A new quality venue in Croydon definitely worth checking out!

A great place to relax where you can have good quality food at an affordable price in a dynamic environment. I use this venue as it has a unique ambiance and is an excellent place to meet people for a relaxed business meeting over a coffee or a light meal - especially as it is tucked away but within easy reach of the high street and public transport/car parks.

I have always found the staff professional and friendly and the service has always been prompt. The co-working space, with cafe, is a lovely sympathetic restoration of what I presume was once an old historic warehouse. Attention to detail is a bonus eg real hand towels and great handwash! Also has free WiFi

I have also been to some of the evening events which are a good mix of community stuff and good live music events. A real alternative to the souless high street coffee chains.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaifB, Owner at Matthews Yard, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Nikki, thanks for taking the time to review your experience. see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is brilliant for Croydon. The food was delicious and was reasonably priced. Í would definitely go back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank beatbeatbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaifB, Owner at Matthews Yard, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthews Yard also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Cambridgeshire
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Matthews Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing