We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cafe in Pretty Surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach House Cafe

Coach House Cafe
Ranked #233 of 458 Restaurants in Croydon
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe in Pretty Surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just inside the entrance to Coombe woods is a very pretty pond and some pretty well tended gardens too which I imagine will look beautiful in the coming Spring/Summer months. We had a short stroll in the gardens, the snowdrops were lovely to see as well as the lovely pansies but we did not walk as far as the woods due to time constraints We decided to stop at the Coach House Cafe in it's lovely courtyard surroundings . We did not dine, we just had a pot of tea but the food in the chiller cabinet looked delicious from scones to divine looking cakes. I did read the menus on the tables and the cafe offered a wide and extensive selection of reasonably priced meals from breakfasts to main meals and snacks. I noticed on the menu that the cafe was open until 9.30 pm in the Summer months.

On a shelf in the cafe there were very pretty ceramic hearts to buy of all sizes.

We would certainly visit this cafe again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    21
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely place in an idealic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I often go to the Coach House Cafe with my wife, and family. It has good home-style cooked food. The service is friendly and efficient. I woulld recommend stopping there and going for a walk in the enchanting woods and beautiful gardens there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went for lunch over the christmas period as it was recommended by a friend. Had liver and bacon and my girlfriend had garlic chicken. Both meals were ace. The staff make the place a joy to be in and are all really friendly.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenAyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to come here after a friend recommended it. It is tucked away in a woodland park with a small pong and waterfall along the frontage. We had the Sunday roast which was mouthwateringly delicious. The waffles and homemade cakes were very good too. We have already visited this place twice and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, not so secret hideaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We decided to come here after a neighbour of ours recommended it. She seems to come here most weekends and has always spoken very highly of it!

It's a short (5-10 minute) walk from the Lloyd Park tram stop for those people, who like us, don't have access to a car. The walk itself is fairly pleasant in the summer time.

It's nestled away next to a nursery, the coombe woodland and old manor house.

My partner and I took a walk around the beautiful gardens and followed a couple of the tracks through the woods. Once we had finished we stopped at the coach house which was bustling with locals!

Some were eating their sunday dinner (which looked very tasty), while others were doing exactly what we came for, enjoying a coffee and a slice of cake.

The selection of cakes was great, all looked home made! They included Victoria sponge, carrot cake, scones and clotted cream etc. I had the Victoria sponge and I can tell you they don't skimp on the portion size here.

As we went during the summer, we were able to sit in tea gardens which are cut off from the rest of grounds and decorated with large mirrors, lovely flowers and so on which attract some of the smaller birds who are certainly curious.

The overall experience was lovely, we both left feeling very relaxed and as though we had a nice treat.

The walk home meant we could burn off the calories from eating far to much cake!

This is much recommended and many of the locals seem to love it for the relaxed atmosphere, great food, and very friendly staff.

Can't wait to go back soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach House Cafe also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Coach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing