We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Selsden park hotel -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Selsdon Estate
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Selsden park hotel -”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Got a good discount and glad I did would have been very disappointed if I had to pay full rate. I stayed in a one bed room, very small tidy but small reasonably clean . Didn't sleep at all for the 3 nights due to noise coming from other rooms. Could hear everyone talking in all rooms right upto 3 in morning. As for the gym and health spa. Very low quality swimming pool you can't swim in as too shallow sauna is at top of a very dangerous staircase made of metal and rusty. Steam room freezing cold, gym equipment un-motivational.

All in all only benefit was security of vehicle and belongings and decent location and decent staff. Wouldn't rush back and certainly not somewhere I would take the wife for a romantic break.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paracdo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Naturally I am disappointed that we did your exceed your expectations in all areas whilst you were with us, however I can assure you your constructive comments have been carefully noted and will be reviewed with our Quality Wins Team to ensure that we identify any improvements to the service we deliver which will enhance our guests experience.
Olivier Six, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    516
    511
    404
    416
See reviews for
348
734
66
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We've stayed here before and had a great time. But this time we particularly asked for quiet rooms and were not advised that there were 2 weddings taking place. There was a fight in the evening between guests and the noise of people outside our window and running up and down the corridors and banging on our door went on til almost 3 in the morning. The breakfast room was chaotic and the staff seemed disinterested. The rooms are old and tired. We will not be staying again - waste of money!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It was frustrating to read that you were disturbed by the noise and actions of other guests staying with and i would like to apologise on behalf of the team for this. Of course we do ask guests to be considerate of others whilst staying with us, however this can sometimes be difficult to enforce especially when guests have been celebrating. All issues that are brought to the attention of the team at the time, are investigated and addressed appropriately, and I once again would like to apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Having stayed with us previously and enjoyed this to return, i sincerely hope that you would afford us the opportunity to restore your faith in Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club by returning to stay with us again the future.
Olivier Six, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times as my partner is currently working on a business project nearby. The hotel lives up to its grand image and is quite an interesting building with ornate plasterwork on the ceilings, it has real open fires all over the place and plenty of antique furniture such as working grandfather clocks dotted around here and there. There are odd signs of wear and tear beginning to show but generally the place is quite up together (especially considering the scale of the building) and is a comfortable place to spend anything from a romantic weekend to a quick business trip.

I'm no golfer but by partner has cast his eye over the golf course and is itching to get a chance to spend some time out there spoiling a good walk in the luscious grounds. Once you turn off of the main road into Selsdon Park it is like turning into an oasis in that you immediately find yourself in an isolated pocket of countryside despite the busy towns that surround it. The swimming pool is a bit chilly and quite darkly lit, but it looks as though they have a disco lighting system installed that would be interesting if it were to be turned on as it almost adjoins the bar area. The hotel also has a jacuzzi, a gym and a sauna.

The only downside that we have encountered with this hotel is the limited and overpriced bar menu which comprises of burger and chips, salads, sandwiches, pizzas and a couple other easy to warm up dishes. The bar is also pretty hefty on cost considering that their rooms are often available for £50-£60 a night and so it defeats the aim when you then have to pay £5 for a pint of beer or £20 for a bottle of wine in the bar!? I would definitely recommend Selsdon Park as a great place to stay, but if you want an evening drink or a more aptly priced meal then take a short walk down the road to the nearby Weatherspoons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you fot taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that having stayed with us on many occasions and have enjoyed the time you have spent with us. I am pleased that you have been able to appreciate the facilities and grounds that we are able to offer to our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them at Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.
Olivier Six, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

see the pics
We went to the leisure centre and entered as indicated through the bar area. There were no staff present at the desk, no indication of how to get into the changing area, no towels available, the steam room was not working with no sign to say it was out of order and no locker keys.
NO FOOD on first night! On reserving dinner, we were informed that dinner would be served in the ‘surrey’ room but this was not the case when we got there, it was elsewhere
We entered for dinner at 7pm, the order was taken until 7.19pm and we had still not received food by 7.55pm, yes ten to Eight At this point we left the dining room and requested the duty manager. A first for us
the limited menue had chicken a curry PORK with MASHED POTATO ,HADDOCK with MASHED POTATO AND SALMON with ...MASHED POTATO
. We spoke to the ‘housekeeper’ duty manager about our unsatisfactory experience in the restaurant. She was attentive but out of her depth with facts and the restaurant protocol. We agreed to forget that evenings experience, re-book for the following evening and that a complimentary bottle of wine would be sent to our room – it did not arrive.

We arrived for Breakfast the following morning at 8.30am. There was a selection of tinned fruit with the exception of some freshly cut watermelon, the tea was served stewed from A FLASK and it was difficult to attract staff to get our cups refreshed, there were no fried eggs left and only a two rashers of bacon, there were no croissants at all. I asked one of the senior members of waiting staff if more croissants could be sent from the kitchen and was informed that she had already requested some and the kitchen had said that they were not cooking anymore as it was nearing the end of breakfasts – this was at 8.45am and breakfasts were served until 9.30am. I went to the toasting machine only to find ‘HEALS’ of bread left and an old lady in front of me was toasting them as she was fed up waiting, so I went to request bread.

The choice on the dinner menu the following evening was an improvement over the previous evening. We both had the catch of the day (haddock, chips and peas). The battered haddock was oily, the chips were processed and the mushy peas tinned. The waiting staff asked if we would like a sauce, we requested tartar sauce. 5 minutes later we were informed that the Chef was making it up freshly –15 mins later my partner had finished and I was on my last bite when it finally arrived
! Would you not have a batch pre-prepared with this planned dish as part of Mise-en-place?! The Pate also was a processed product, * Not suggesting it was a problem meat *
. Unsatisfied we retired to the bar, with our complimentary wine which we requested at the table in the restaurant, to a chlorine smelling bar.. it sits beside the POOL
Breakfast next morning was a slight improvement with a pot of fresh tea, but again the serving area contained little cooked food. .. see pics

Room Tip: room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOOSYGOOSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write you review. Please be assured that i will be addressing your comments with the relevant parties to ensure that any improvements are identified and implemented to ensure that the high standards of service are delivered. In response to your dining experience I would like to offer the following response to ensure that you are aware of our policy. We of course allow our guests time to settle and review our menu, before taking an order, and i would like to apologise if this was not done in a more timely manner. All food served in the hotel is freshly prepared and cooked, and whilst pate is pate we do not use processed products ie vegetables or chips. I can also confirm that the offer of a bottle of wine was made to take with the following evenings meal, and i profusely apologise for any misunderstanding or misinformation at any time during your stay.
Naturally i am disppointed that we did not meet all of your expectations and i personally apologise for any shortcomings you experienced, and it is my understanding that we have addressed the issues you have raised directly with you. Once again i would like to thank you for your constructive comments which enables me to monitor the service we offer to your guests and identify any improvements and implement these.
Olivier Six, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visited Selsdon Park on a weekend break and was very impressed with the whole experience.
We had dinner in the restaurant which I must say was of a very high standard. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable with great recomendations on wines and dishes.
The room was very spacious and extremely clean, breakfast was very good and with a lot of choice.
We spent time in the health club which was very relaxing having full use of the facilites really makes a difference on a short break.
I will definately be coming back to Selsdon Park for a weekend break with my girl friends in the near future.
A real find with great facilities and staff to match!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyable all of the facilities we have to offer and that you found all of the team to be professional and helpful during your stay. Once again thank you for your lovely comments which i will ensure are passed to the relevant parties and we look forward to welcoming you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.
Olivier Six, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

For the package we booked (£135 2 night spa break) this hotel was superb value, if you consider diner/breakfast both days and 90 minutes of treatments were included. Adjust your expectation accordingly and this hotel delivers, two remarks if I were to pay more - pool/spa needs modernising including changing facilities (not an issue if you stay, but worth noting) - service in the restaurant and bar could be more attentive, at reception the gentlemen was very helpful and polite however several times the bar staff were few and far between and in the restaurant you had to prompt for refills (however the food was excellent). As I said, for the package price it was great value, the room was spacious, clean and in keeping with the building, food was good quality and the Spa staff were professional and polite. Highly recommend this hotel on the package deal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pragmaticguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will of course be discussing your comments relating to a more attentive service with the team and identifying and implementing any retraining to enhance our guests experience whilst dining with us. In the meantime thank you again for your constructive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.
Olivier Six, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I was worrying what we would find at the Selson Park Hotel, but after a one night stay last night myself and partner had a great time and would defiantly recommend this!

We visited the hotel as a part of a group-on offer and was in the executive room 239 which was lovely! The bed was massive and comfortable, great views, huge bathroom, complimentary champaign, and was very clean. The furniture was slightly dated but it is an old country home and would not suit modern furniture and added a more homely feel!

All staff were friendly and explained exactly where everything was on check in! With our group-on offer we had dinner and breakfast included and both were lovey! The only thing was that drinks were quiet expensive but that was to be expected.

We did use the pool facilities and found the area to be clean, the pool is quiet small but ideal for a one night break and nothing too fancy. You can book beauty treatments at the spa too!

I would defiantly come back again and would not listen to all the bad reviews. They must be coming from either really fussy people or we have just got lucky with our room/ food!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JammyScone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for leaving your feedback. It was great to read your comments and I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable and you were able to enjoy all of the facilities we have to offer. Please be assured that your feedback will be passed on to the team, which enables us to continualy monitor the high standards we strive to deliver and we look forward to welcoming you back to Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.
Olivier Six, General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
2.7 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,035 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,129 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
3.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Selsdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Selsdon Estate

Property: De Vere Selsdon Estate
Address: 126 Addington Road, Croydon CR2 8YA, England (Formerly Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Selsdon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Et in 200 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, De Vere Selsdon Estate is an historic country mansion with an 18 hole championship golf course, luxury beauty treatment rooms and well-appointed leisure club. Perfect for large scale business events in the area as well as romantic weddings, this picturesque setting also features extensive grounds ideal for outdoor team-building and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your De Vere Selsdon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selsdon Park & Golf Course Hotel Croydon
Selsdon Park And Golf Course
Selsdon Park Hotel Course
Selsdon Park Croydon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing