We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft... Don't stay here, our belongings were stolen from our hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Selsdon Estate
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We hosted a large black tie event here in October 2012 and our hotel room was accessed by someone with a key card and some valuable and personal possessions were stolen. On the following morning we were told that they could not say who two cards had been issued to, and these were used to enter our room. The hotel will not take responsibility and are now saying that the cards were issued to us, which seems unlikely as if that were the case they would have been able to tell us that straight away. Apart from the terrible shock of this event, the most upsetting part has been the lack of care and concern shown to us by hotel staff at every level. I would not recommend that you stay here. As an additional piece of information, the room was not equipped with a safe so it is possible that it may have been targeted by someone who knew this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your review. I must respond however to your comments as our staff endeavour to assist guests at all times and are of course disappointed if we do not meet our guests expectations. I can confirm that at this time the theft you refer to is alledged and is being investigated by the relevant parties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,276)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Selsdon Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,276 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Just returned home from 1 night stay at Selsdon Park Golf Hotel. And boy, I am glad to be home.

Nearly all the negative review are true. If you thinking of going to stay at this hotel, check if restaurant is open for guests. We were told its fully booked last night and then we find out that restaurant is being used for wedding function.

Executive room is small, old and needs a good clean. I would hate to see what a standard room look like.

You have to walk through bar full of people to get to leisure club. Which is a bit embarrassing if your wearing bathrobe and sleepers. JACUZZI is still out of order.

Ladies toilet near the reception are all dirty. All toilet seats are loose.

Had a good round of golf though and a fantastic course.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maltese_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was frustrating to hear that we did not met your expectations on this occasion and i can assure you that your feedback will be addressed with the relevant Management Team. In the meantime i can confirm that we do have the flexibility to be able to move our restaurant to other dining rooms in the hotel and at peak times it is advisable to book prior to arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The worst hotel i have EVER stayed in, especially on the occassion i was staying for. Allowed racism onsight, managment slow, response slow (VERY DISAPPOINTED) considering i paid between £400- £500 to stay over for one night JUST FOR MYSELF AND A COUPLE OF MEMBERS FROM MY BRIDAL PARTY. Other family members choose to stay at the hotel aswell some coming from overseas (i booked there rooms and PAID FOR BEFORE HAND) the hotel took payment from me and another family member LIED and said money will be returned in 2hrs which turnt into 24hrs and then 2 weeks. Then a women parked across a passenger bay into another parking space (which i was parking into at the same time) shouting obsenities, (when questioned by me); i then went to get a member of staff (I HAD CHILDREN WITH ME AT THIS TIME) the member of staff (security) treated this women as a victim because she was of age and had a clear disability with her leg!!! took her 20 mins there after to move her car. Outrageous events i was not even compensated or reasurred by managment. A £2000 diamond braclet was also left by mistake in the morning rush, in the space of an 30mins the bracelet was never traced. (Oh and i almost forgot and spa and advertised faciltilies were out of use) NEVER WILL I RECOMMEND TO A FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBER, NEITHER WOULD I EVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Naomi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
I am extremely disappointed to read your comments - and I can confirm that the General Manager has been in contact with you directly to address the issues you raise. I must stress that we do not accept any racism or indeed any discrimination of any kind. The comments and instance you refer to was not one made by a member of staff, but one of a guest who was spoken with directly and addressed appropriately in accordance to our policies and procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was staying at the hotel as a family member was getting married. The bar staff were quick and very friendly especially kenna and Charlie. Who made my night as they were serving us tequila ( only real shot they had!!)
Extremely helpful and service was quick thank you :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katieannedaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and i am pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable. I will of course pass your feedback onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in an executive room that was very tired, although extremely large. It was actually empty, with basic furniture. There was no service information and not water in the room.

The bed was comfortable and the shower was great.

The service in the bar, restaurant and spa was poor.

Spa: No toiletries, no bathrobes, you have to walk through the bar to get there. So it isn't great when you in your shorts and coming back with wet hair to get ready in your room. Or you can walk outside through the reception. The robes were only for none staying customers and the jacuzzi was not working. The changing rooms had towels all over the floor and you needed £1 for the locker which you may have thought a hotel of this star could put on your room bill.

Room: Very large, bed comfortable, power shower. no information, no fridge, no water. table and chair at one end of the room this the tV at the other end about 3 meters inbetween. Very cold feel to it.View to the gardens was lovely. The room I stayed needed painted and a light bulb was out.

Bar: slow service, but when she arrived she was lovely and very helpful. not attentive.

Restaurant: arrive at 8.30 was rushed to order desserts and it was only 9.45. They wanted you out very quickly. Could only order cheese and biscuits which wasn't correct, but the waitress tried her best as the kitchen staff had left.

I was looking for a bit of luxury in amazing surrounding. I recieved amazing surrounding. The ground are fantastic. I would not recommend this hotel only if you needed a room to stay in the area and their was a deal on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Naturally i am disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion, and please be assured that your comments will be passed to our Quality Wins Team for review to identify the areas for improvement to enable us to enhance our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped here for 2 nights on the 2nd and 3rd Nov for business, we got a very good deal on our room price but we were on the lower ground floor and the room was very small as was the bed .The view from our room was of the back yard so we could hear trollies and vehicles delivering.The room was small but clean and tidy, the tv was very old but worked fine...bathroom was lovely with powerful shower and toiletries supplied although no toilet brush?...bath was very comfortable and room was warm, although we didnt test out the radiators( there was no need)...no biscuits in the room and limited tea and coffee etc ...Staff were very friendly and helpful and cant find fault with any of them at all, they went out of there way to please.Breakfast was buffet style and was lovely as was all the food we had all weekend !Didnt experience any of the facilities so cant comment on those...but a lovely hotel full of old world character ..not sure i would class it has a 4 star though but thats down to the little things like just 1 bed side cabinet and small double bed. We would certainly stop here again but would ask for a room with a view next time ...luckily we were at the hotel for a business weekend so it wasnt so important

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the golf course
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Whilst i am disappointed we were did not meet your expectations in all areas, ie biscuits in the room, this is under review and i am pleased that you were able to enjoy the characteristics of the building that we are able to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for a relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked a spa break with 3 friends. Hotel entrance was lovely, nice open fire in foyer which was very welcoming. Checked in and showed the way to our rooms. A long walk, up stairs, down stairs and up more. Amidst some vey wobbly staircases! Our rooms were Clean, but very run down and dated with incredibly old tv's? It dawned on us that the receptionist did not give any information about our stay, I.e. what time and where dinner was served, where and how to book our treatments, breakfast time and just general info. So thought we would phone reception, only to find that the phone did not work.! So a walk along the corridors, up and down the stairs, trying not to fall via the wobbly staircases, we went back to reception, and eventually spoke to the lady who checked us in, who In turn gave us the info we should have been given at check in. Pool area was lovely. But the steam room and sauna were awful, not cleaned in a long time, the Jaccuzi was closed, thankfully, the changing rooms were disgusting, I don't think they had been cleaned in months! Found out that the staff on the leisure club reception should also do the cleaning! And also waitress on those ordering lunch by the poolside. Not enough loungers for the number if people wishing to use the pool. I fact it is not a spa hotel, just a hotel with a pool and gym aspiring to be a spa hotel. The treatment rooms were lovely, well the one room that was not in the reception area that is! Listening to the noise of reception whilst having a relaxing treatment is not good. The staff, however, we're very friendly and dealt with requests well. Our evening meal was delicious and the wIting staff were very good and attentive but needed help from each other i explaini g the guests needs. Overall I think the staff need customer service training, this is throughout the hotel not just the leisure/spa area, the grounds are shabby, the walled garden needs some attention, beautiful box plants are ruined by overgrown brambles and grass. The outside if the rooms need some attention! A run down hotel that charges high rooms rates.
I would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMCarthur510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPHGC, Management Administrator at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review - I am disappointed we did not meet all of expectations and that the standard of our leisure facilities were not to the expected high standards. Please be assured your feedback will be passed to the relevant Management Teams and addressed immediately

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
2.7 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
3.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon South (A212) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Selsdon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Selsdon Estate

Address: 126 Addington Road, Croydon CR2 8YA, England (Formerly Selsdon Park Hotel & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Croydon
Price Range: $71 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Selsdon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 200 acres of beautiful Surrey countryside, De Vere Selsdon Estate is an historic country mansion with an 18 hole championship golf course, luxury beauty treatment rooms and well-appointed leisure club. Perfect for large scale business events in the area as well as romantic weddings, this picturesque setting also features extensive grounds ideal for outdoor team-building and celebrations. From the 23rd Dec -7th Jan that there are no restaurant open during this period. Breakfast will be available – lunch & dinner in the bar from a limited menu. Room Service will be available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Vere Selsdon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selsdon Park And Golf Course
Selsdon Park & Golf Course Hotel Croydon
Selsdon Park Hotel Course
Selsdon Park Croydon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing