We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better”
Review of The Chateau

The Chateau
Ranked #22 of 473 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

i went to the chateau last night with my wife and 2 sons, there was a wedding reception upstairs, a private party in the back room and the restaurant had about 40 dinners, there was 2 waiters, serving the restaurant. Our food had been kept under the warmers for so long, skins had formed on the top of the sauces.
Why didnt the management bring in extra staff, when they know in advance they are fully booked.
for about £50 per person food and wine, i expect good service and food the Chateau offered neither.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    47
    27
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had just a small gathering of family & friends for our meal after our civil partnership . We were met at the front door by Jeremy (the ever helpful and attentive restaurant manager) who presented us with a glass of bubbly ! The meal and the service we second to none and I would always recommend a visit to The Chateau . They have both a set menu and Alacarte menu to choose from .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special evening”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I have just had a really lovely evening at The Chateau, we were warmly welcomed and the room we ate in had a very special feel about it, the food was delicious and the staff were friendly and accommodating. This was our first time here but we have already booked again for my birthday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE CHATEAU - OUR FAVOURITE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been coming to The Chateau for a number of years now. Also bringing friends. We have NEVER been disappointed. Always given a super Welcome either by Farid or Jeremy. In fact all the Staff are friendly and helpful. We have come for many different reasons - Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a nice evening out. The food is excellent and such a good choice. Always well presented by the Waiter/Waitress who are polite and friendly. All our Friends and Family who have come with us have gone away delighted with the experience and wish to return. We would recommend The Chateau to all and sundry who want an excellent meal and good service. You will realise why we are Celebrating our Golden Wedding at The Chateau.

PHILIP AND SYLVIA (M)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank philippcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm back for my lunch after a fantastic night in this place. I had to stay the night in Croydon as we had a very late night that started by having a fabulous dinner with friends in Chateau. Getting up late and missing the breakfast timeline at our hotel I suggested going back to Chateau for a brunch.
My wild boer with salad( not exactly on the menu) was cooked just right and tasted very fresh. My partner had the steak and fries which again was perfect.
This restaurant was an excellent find and will definitely visit again when in London(30 minutes away)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chateau also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to The Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing