We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and good comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great value and good comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is easy to find, and parking is available at a discounted rate in the NCP car park opposite. The location is great for Easy Croydon train station, with easy access to London from there.

The check in was easy, and the desk staff were very friendly and warm. As a Diamond hhonors member I was offered a drink and snacks at checkin.

The rooms are very clean and well presented, though they are a little small. The beds are comfortable, and the shower has good pressure and is double sized.

There is a work area, with a comfortable chair, and the WiFi speed and coverage was very good.
The air conditioning worked well and was exceptionally quiet!

The only real disappointment was the food, and it really was VERY bad. I accept that Hampton Inn's have a limited menu, and that is fine, but the food didn't reflect the menu. (e.g.: Nachos, translate: A bowl of plain tortilla chips). The 'lemon meringue pie' was still frozen when it was served to me.

I would certainly not eat here again, but as for accommodation, definitely can recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    403
    166
    62
    36
See reviews for
236
298
93
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Saturday night as we had a birthday party nearby. For the price paid I cannot fault it. Every single one of the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms weren't massive but they were big enough. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom - all spotlessly clean. The breakfast was fine, especially given it was included in the price with fresh bread, cooked breakfast, cereals, yoghurt and pastries. I really can't fault it and would definitely stay again. We used the car park across the road and with a discount voucher from reception it worked out at £6.50 for 24 hours.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ciboney2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks in August for business. Was very impressed with the cleanliness, size and location and would definitely stay again! Hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from East Croydon rail station, and trains will take you from there directly into central London in roughly 20 minutes. Trains run very often. Also a minutes walk will take you to Whitgift Shopping centre and Croydon town centre where you can find many different shops/coffee shops/bars. Very handy location!

The rooms are typical "London-size" rooms, but the layout is very good at maximising space. Rooms are incredibly clean and wi-fi is free and fast. Great bathroom and a large amount of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner is provided.

The breakfast is great - ignore reviews that say otherwise! It is a basic buffet style breakfast but the breakfast staff are incredibly friendly (probably the most friendly in the entire hotel). There is a small, but adequate selection of muffins, pastries, breakfast cereals, juices,tea/coffee, yoghurt's, toast, spreads/jams and a hot buffet. Staff are very attentive and constantly refilling the selections. The breakfast area is a little small though, and can fill up at peak times, but you can take your breakfast into the bar area right beside it - no issues here.

There is a fitness room, however it really is just a small room with maybe 2 or 3 machines in it. However it serves the purpose.

The only issue I had was with some of the reception staff. They were not the most reliant when asking for something. A few times I asked for things and they never appeared. I would say just make sure to follow up your request a couple of times. But they were never rude, just lacking somewhat in customer service.

Aside from that, great hotel. Definitely worth what you pay for!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel was excellent although agree with other subscribers about the location and the parking. The wonderful room alarm clocks always seem to show the incorrect time and there appears to be no way of adjusting them or is just my incompetence. Hilton use the same alarm clock in every hotel and I have never managed how to adjust the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hampton really surprised me. Well i stayed in London for a couple of days and was not interested in staying in the city center, ended up booking this hotel and i am glad i did. The location to train station is very close, the price was reasonable, good internet connection and had good internet services. Free breakfast too. It was very clean, the hotel staff cleaned my room and changed the towels daily(what not to love)
Now the bad, very small, well European hotels are very small so not a surprise. And breakfast was not the best you could have. they can do much better than what they offer.
I never dealt with the hotel staff so i cannot say much about their service-reason why, i am a frequent London traveler and i know where everything is, come in and go, no question asked. All the same, give it a try, you might end up being surprised.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neema46664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The rooms here are tiny, the beds taking up most of the room. Breakfast was just a joke. The same can be said for the staff here. They seem to not have a clue what they are doing. Simply this place is a shambles. I'd recommend the Jurys Inn or Croydon Park Hotel round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms small - Yes but functional, clean and tidy I could live for a few nights with this....
This is why I gave 2 stars... Below is why they got no more...

Staff - the most inconsistent mish mash group of unbelievably inept 'service professionals' I have ever had the misfortune to encounter!
It was apparent they receive next to no training and are thrown in at the deep end and expected to swim !
They could not even fulfil a simple request like organising a wake up call, only once in 4 nights did this materialise on time, once was 30 minutes late with a very loose apology the other 2 mornings who knows where they went! Maybe the Bermuda Triangle moved to Croydon and swallowed them up!
Breakfast was ok for the money, sausage bacon egg beans, cereal juices etc not bad, however the croissants were that old they would not have been out of place in the British museum.
Evening food choice... Very very limited,only one night of 4 was there anything more than 4 choices. Once again the food was as fresh as a dinosaur, and could have easily started to build a new hotel with the breeze block burger buns.

If you can steer clear

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pc2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing