We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for several days. Our experience was FANTASTIC.
Every member of the staff was extremely helpful and gracious. When we first arrived we had an issue with our car and thought we were going to have to drive back to Heathrow to return it. Immediately upon our arrival, after sharing our frustration, the front desk called Enterprise and arranged for us to return our car here in Croydon. That was way above anything we expected.
The location to the East Croydon Train Station could not have been more convenient.
We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here if we return to London.
Thank you everyone at the Hampton in Croydon. Ruth and Jim

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    441
    185
    66
    39
See reviews for
263
325
103
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Back end of a business trip to UK with one day to spend near London. Great hotel. Just a few blocks over from the East Croydon train station as well as several restaurants and pubs. A very nice place to stay south of London. Rooms are very nice, clean, efficient. A small hike up to the train station, but nothing overwhelming. Croydon is south of London, so you will need to take a train back into :London to see any sites/spots. A nice pub is located a few short blocks up along the main street up from the hotel. Nice family run pub (Bedford Tavern) located just a few blocks north of the hotel.

Hotel security is very tight. Must use security card to access lobby/elevator. Very well run. Breakfast is good, simple, fulfilling. Plenty to eat for everyone. Lobby has pretty much everything you would need for a short stay.

Room Tip: Look for a room on the back side of the hotel (away from the train station). A bit of noise can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aluminut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel and room were very clean. Queen size bed was comfortable with nice pillows, well appointed bathroom with shampoo etc. usual buffet style breakfast but good choice. walking distance to the tube, trains and trams with a car park opposite

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had the worst customer service experience..will never ever recommend anyone to go there..dont go there...horrible customer service..they muddled up our reservations...cancelled one of the rooms we booked

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane A, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Siri,

Many Thanks for your feedback on your experience with us.

As discussed on the telephone and in writing, your booking was an advanced saver booking. We tried taking payments in line with the terms and conditions associated with this booking and the card declined. The system should have generated an email to inform you, which failed. We could have followed through with a phone call and this did not happen. From your experience and feedback, I have now implemented a system where we also follow through with a phone call to our customers to inform them if a payment fails.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Dont get comfortable before organising food as you will be disappointed based on my experience. They dont have enough staff to manage reception and offer room service. The room is great so I had a good nights sleep. If I get as good a rate again (£69) I will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had a very good short stay in this hotel to allow me to attend a function. The room was modern extremely clean, and they had thought of everything. The hairdryer was a proper one, free Wifi, large flat screen tv, and all the shampoo and body wash etc provided. Lots of fresh large towels and tea and coffee facilities, with an alarm clock. There was 24 hour reception and the staff were extremely helpful. My only criticism was that the breakfast was very average for this type of hotel. However, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better at the moment, as there is a lot of roadworks outside and they start work ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

New, modern, attractive hotel (black with red lettering), a 5-7 minute walk from East Croydon station (definitely NOT 3 minutes, as some have said). Room was immaculate, clean, and finished off to a very good specification, in particular the bathroom. As others have said though, the rooms are small but I travelled up for the weekend for a school reunion and stayed alone and it was plenty big enough for me. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, and there was a very large LG tv at the foot of the bed. I stayed on the top floor, in room 815, a corner room, with a 'great view' (if you like car park rooftops, East Croydon station and the general industrial look of an inner city). Staff were particularly polite and the manager was friendly. Breakfast was self-service, as a lot of hotels are these days, only slightly negative comment I would say was that there is no 'restaurant' as such - the self-service area was round the corner from reception, and there were a limited number of small, refectory type tables and chairs. I ended up having to sit right out in the lobby (which is small anyway) opposite reception on a large, meeting type table for designed for 10! All in all, I would recommend this hotel for somebody passing through Croydon, better suited to a single traveller. I probably wouldn't choose to stay here for a romantic/recreational weekend away - rather pay the 'extortionate' prices but you'll get all the atmosphere of London and have all the sights on your doorstep rather than having to take 2 train journeys to get to the West End. I would definitelystay again though when next visiting my home city of Croydon.

Room Tip: 815 - A corner room, near the lift, and accessed through a door with just 814 next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAGAPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing