We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed from the 27th - 31st May. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well appointed. We really couldn't pick fault if we tried, excellent value for money. We would defiantly stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor at the front of the hotel and we had a peaceful nights sleep, no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greengodess373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

DISAPPOINTING BAD NIGHTS SLEEP CHILDREN HAD TO TOP AND TAIL
This Hampton by Hilton is a disappointment and was probably one of the worst
hotels we stayed in and on par with a travel lodge (the worst one you can think of)
We initially tried to book rooms with this Hotel via a public services discount site and then using a discount code for public services, but this added to the cost of the stay at the hotel, we contacted the Hotel and they told us to contact customer services (in the USA) this led to them telling us that we should pay the Hilton internet site price as there are no discounts!! BEWARE HILTON DISCOUNT CODES ARE A RIP OFF.
I therefore decided to e-mail Hilton senior management ref this (Stacy Shearouse, Chris Nassetta (CEO) Kathryn Beiser, Simon Vincent) who clearly can be bothered to try and keep their client base!
Either case as we trusted the Hitlon brand my mother booked the Hotel as we required this for a funeral we were attending, four double rooms were booked and a sofa bed was requested in every room as our rooms had 2 children/2 adults, 1 child/1 adult and 2 couples, the cost was £320.
On arrival at around 18:00hrs one of the busiest times for booking into a Hotel, we were left standing in the reception whilst the receptionist was on the phone for around 10 minutes, although other staff were about no one bothered to come and check us in.
We then checked in and paid a deposit of £50 on our room, despite my Mother already paying £200 for all four rooms!! This was apologised for and poor communication was given as an excuse.
When we got to the rooms only two of the rooms contained a sofa bed for the children and we were told there had been a mistake and that the Hotel was fully booked!! The sofa beds were static to the rooms and could not be moved, our children had to share a single bed top and tail!!!
None of the sofa beds were made and this was up to clients to make, only 2 towels and 2 cups, no more ever arrived even though we asked, one room was dirty with used wine bottles in it.
The room itself was very HOT and the air conditioning that you had to leave on all the time RATTLED all night and kept us awake, this happened in at least 2 rooms.
The Hotel management was fully aware of the reason for our stay, no discounts were offered and in short we were disgusted by the hotel.
POORLY RUN DIVE, ONE TO AVOID UNLESS YOU ARE HAPPY TO GET NO SLEEP.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Copperpot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Hampton hotel 3 nights. The hotel is small but modern and clean.
First we got a room with the connecting door to other room. It was not very pleasant because we could hear the noise from the other room. So we went to the reception ( they were very nice ) they give us a new room. Generally rooms are very small in this hotel but that´s London. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose the room without connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

checked in and found that bins in the room hadnt been emptied one containg a used feminine item !!!!!!!!
so room was changed, when we went to check out found out that they had charged credit card which we asked them specifically not to use, they reluctantly refunded it , so we could then use correct card.

booked the hotel as it stated we would be charged £5 for 24 hours carparking at NCP car park opposite, we went out for the evening and had to pay £4 to get out, hotel told us we would then have to pay another £5 in the morning as we had left the carpark and the £5 only applied if you didnt move your car, so we had to pay £9, receptionist said helpfully "you should of used the train"

when we went to use the discount ticket it didnt work anyway. Overall not impressed, room and bed too small, and breakfast was being rushed to be put away at 10am on the dot, would not use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxydunn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Please do not be put off by reading other reviews! We stayed here 24th-26th May and had a fantastic time. The hotel is just 5 minutes from East Croydon station and is really easy to find. You can actually see it as you arrive on the train! On arrival, the hotel staff were very friendly even at 11pm after a long day and check in was smooth. I don't know why folk complained about the lifts, most hotels nowadays need the room key to activate it. It is for the safety of guests to ensure random strangers can't access the rooms. The rooms are compact but very comfortable, we were on the top floor and had a massive double bed, sofa, 32in tv, hairdryer, iron, safe, air con and the bathroom was amazing!! No bath but the shower was big enough for at least 4 people and the complimentary toiletries were lovely too. The bed was really comfy, I found the pillows were too chunky but that's just me. After dropping our bags off, we went to the bar for a beer and the prices were surprisingly cheap, we paid £3.30 for a pint of Becks and about £4.50 for Bulmers. Bargain! Moving on to breakfast - The dining room is on the small side but if you are not there on business, just go down later or sit in the bar area, there is plenty of seating on the other side of the lobby. The food was never in short supply and there was plenty to choose from. Cooked breakfast included bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, mini hash browns, beans, toast. Continental breakfast was made up of grapefruit, peaches, a massive fruit bowl, yoghurt, cereal, croissants, mini muffins. Breakfast could not be faulted! Check out was just as smooth as check in. I paid £93.50 for our two night stay with breakfast included and it was worth every penny and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Chantel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Hampton Hilton Croydon is a superb hotel with easy access to Croydon and Central London. Rooms are tastefully decorated and well equipped. Only negative issue is I enquired about a long term let as I am working in Surrey and the hotel never got back to me despite me having to remind them. I have found somewhere else now none the less disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

What stood out as soon as I arrived was the very attentive staff; a rarity in the London hotel business. Rooms are well appointed, perhaps a bit small, but comfortble. I really liked the easy chair - great for relaxing rather than 'on the bed'. Good value for money, close to the station, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_from_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#10 of 24 in Croydon
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus London Croydon Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: $79 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing