We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Yes the hotel remains in the same location - close to East Croydon station etc.
I've stayed here a few times now on business trips to London.
Essentially the hotel is still delivering very clean and modern accommodation.
Wifi remains complimentary.
Breakfast still complimentary and very good in terms of quality and choice.
Evening meal options are limited but there are restaurants in the surrounding area.
Overall still a good choice - price vs location is the option to consider.
GBP50 - 80 per room / night seems to be the price band for the hotel for it to remain a viable option against staying in central London - or up selling yourself to the Hilton Purley Way...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MySuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great place to stay overnight if attnding a meeting in London. 5 minute walk from East Croydon station, then less than half an hour to central London on the Train (£10.40 return at peak time). Hotel is clean and has a good TV service with Sky Sports in the bar area. Cold Peroni and Stella Artois on tap, and breakfast is free,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I am an HHonours member, so I always try to stay in one of the many Hiltons when in London.
This time we found a very good pre-paid rate on Hilton website ( around 58 pounds for our family of 3 people) and decided to stay at Hampton Croydon.
For a stay of 2 nights they charged us , on arrival, a deposit of 100 pounds!!! What a stupid thing!!! How can we spend 50 pounds a day in a basic hotel like this , without restaurant and with breakfast and internet included???? I asked the lady at the reception and she told me that the mandatory deposit is 50 pounds/ night. And if I booked 3 or 5 nights?? The deposit will be 150 or 250 pounds?? If yes, it will be impossible to stay there for a long stay...
Last February we stayed at Doubletree Victoria and the deposit was 30 pounds for a two nights stay. More or less the same at Hilton Euston, Doubletree Westminster and so on...
The breakfast was basic and overcrowded ,with many student groups.The staff , however,was kind and helpful.
I booked a room for 3 and it was prepared only for 2 people. I had to ask for extra-towels for my son and made the sofa-bed on my own.
On the plus side the Hotel is new, clean and has really good connections to central London and Gatwick airport. I asked for a room on a high floor, away from elevators and they attended my request. Our room was a corner room on the 9 th floor.Despite of its small size the room was confortable and quiet and we had a good night sleep.
May I return to Hampton Croydon? Yes, but only for a short stay and if I find a very good rate...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a nice hotel, easy to find. We stayed on the 6th floor, I think that it has 10 floors. Had a little road noise, mainly boy racers. Rooms as everyone says are small, we had to move furniture by the room door so we had enough room to put the sofa bed out. (not very good if you had to exit quickly), I think the people in the room above us had the same ideal , but they where moving all the furniture and moving it all night, don't these people sleep.

Rooms very clean, had rooms cleaned and beds made every day, hotel smelt clean and fresh at all times, shower nice and powerful

Beds reasonably comfortable, pillows very soft. Had to keep air con on all night, rooms very warm.

Breakfast I believe starts at 6.30 - 10.30am, Included in our price. we found it very good, just help yourself, it has English breakfast, cereals, toast, fruit, yogurts, muffins, croissants and tea and coffee machines and you can have as much as you like. As most people said it is a small restaurant area but you can use the bar area as well, we had our breakfast about 9.00am and never had a problem finding somewhere to sit.

Hotel is in a ideal location if you want to visit London, just 5 minutes walk to east Croydon station and 15 minutes train journey to London Victoria or London Bridge station. Undergrounds running from both these stations. Underground is not has difficult as it looks after a few hours you will soon have it, just follow the map.

We bought a travel card at east croydon station and it gave us unlimited travel through out the day(9.30am - 4.00am) for trains, underground, buses and it even gives you discount on Thames cruises, the card cost £8.90 adults £3.40 children very good value.

We had one down side with the house keeping, we came back from a day out and found a pillow case in the sink with brown stains all over it, dread to think what it could have been or where it even come from, yek.

I picked it up by the corner and put it in a carrier bag and went to reception, the gentleman could not believe his eyes, very apologetic and said he would have a word with house keeping.
We did not here no more about the matter.

No parking at the hotel but a large car park opposite, when you take your car out of the car park ask at hotel reception for a car park ticket as they get discount, it is £5 for 24 hours, £10 otherwise. I Paid what the car park machine said i had to by Credit card, it has a small fee for using a card, I paid 45p. I got to the exit barrier and it would not let me out, it said I still owed £1.00 don't know what happened, strange

over all hotel O.K. would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewesh S, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton Croydon.

On reading your review, it is refreshing to know that you had a very pleasant stay and our standards throughout your stay met the expectations. Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton, Croydon.

We loved having you here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely
Dewesh Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great Hotel. Staff extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Situated right next to the train station with a quick 20 minute journey to the centre of London. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay in a posh hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Lil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewesh S, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton Croydon.

On reading your review, it is refreshing to know that you had a very pleasant stay and found the team lovely. Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton, Croydon.

We loved having you here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely
Dewesh Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a new hotel, in what was probably built to be an office building and has been converted. Everything is fairly new and very much on the no-frills Premier Inn approach. Rooms are smallish but comfortable and quite adequate (no bath but good shower). Eating facilities are basic, but fine (no room service) - if you are staying there regularly, as I am, you will want to go out to eat at least some nights as the menu is limited. Staff are efficient, friendly and attentive. The location is fairly quiet, so room choice does not matter very much. There is limited parking and a multi-storey opposite, but I would not leave my car there overnight out of choice. East Croydon station (20 mins to Victoria and London Bridge and trains every few minutes) is a ten minute walk. Rates vary quite a bit, from about £69-£85 recently. Worth booking ahead and looking for best rates if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mototripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewesh S, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton Croydon.

On reading your review, it is refreshing to know that you had a very comfortable stay and our standards throughout your stay was good value for money. Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton, Croydon.

We loved having you here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely
Dewesh Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business - new hotel in a good location (that said, not the most scenic area to stay in), excellent staff and beautiful small but excellent room. Breakfast was great, too - a good choice but nothing ostentatious - all you really need - choice of hot and continental - well prepared and excellently presented in a simple, minimalistic dining room. Staff were efficient, polite and extremely helpful. Parking is opposite in the NCP car park but you get vouchers and the discounted cost is more than value for money. Would I stay again - unreservedly.

Room Tip: Top stay - enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewesh S, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton London Croydon, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton Croydon.

On reading your review, it is refreshing to know that you had a very pleasant stay and our standards throughout your stay met the expectations. Our attention to guest satisfaction is something we pride ourselves on at the Hampton by Hilton, Croydon.

We loved having you here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely
Dewesh Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#10 of 24 in Croydon
1,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus London Croydon Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: $78 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing