We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven for business people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Ashgill, Scotland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A haven for business people”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I often stay in Croydon for business, so wanted to try somewhere different and as this hotel was relatively new, I thought it would be worth a try.

Located just a few minutes walk from East Croydon station and the shops, it is in a central location, although wouldn't recommend roaming the area at night. There is a multi storey car park directly across the street if you are driving.

I was very impressed with the room as it is very chic and had a very comfortable sofa in addition to a comfy bed. Another must for me is a shower with some power and I wasn't dissapointed. Soap and shampoo dispensers are in the bathroom, so need to take these with you if travelling light. A good range of TV channels and a MP3 AUX connection for your IPOD if you want to listen to it on speaker. Another nice little touch that I hadn't seen before in any other hotel was a laptop tray, the only thing missing is free WIFI.

Breakfast was self service and there was a choice of a few cooked items as well as the usual continental suspects. Check in and out was very easy, so if in the area, well worth a try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    419
    173
    65
    38
See reviews for
244
309
99
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Overall, this hotel was excellent. Check in was quick and efficient, the room was great and the staff lovely.
As the title says, only down point was breakfast. It was a help yourself buffet style breakfast. Unfortunately there was not much selection and the hot food took sooo long to top up!
It a shame that i had to mark this hotel 9/10 as we really enjoyed our stay and loved our room- breakfast let it down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaynyc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

New hotel. Clean and tidy.
More than enough space for one or two people.
Small safe in the room.
5 min walk from East Croydon Station.
15 min to Victoria Station and about 15 min to London Gatwick.
Ticket costs about £ 2.6 to Victoria with Oyster and 3 to 5 £ to Gatwick.
Located on a side street with very little traffic.
Breakfast buffet with full English breakfast.
Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL200 and Climbing
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

What a superb hotel.

I won't deny that the rooms are small, but heck, this is London. Regardless, the staff more than make up for it - from the General Manager through to the receptionists and night porters. Everyone here seemed enthusiastic, warm, welcoming and genuinely interested in their guests.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and, in terms of staff, this has to be one of the best.

The hotel's breakfast is small, but offers a good selection. The scrambled eggs, though ordinary looking, are actually the best I've tasted in years. They are outstanding.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the main shopping streets of Croydon, a two or three minute walk to Croydon East station (direct trains to Gatwick) and has a bus stop almost right outside offering access to a direct bus to Heathrow!

This hotel is superb. Really very good. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHHDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

room is small, but enough space for 2 people, queen bed can be suplemented by fold away sofa on request,everything is new, room is quiet, though there is construction on Dingwall street next to hotel, so weekdays can be noisy from 8 am. Front desk staff extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Thank you very much to Simrat, Rashesh, Akilah, Tom, Dana, Ilonda and all others for your professionalism, patience and help

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leche062489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malmesbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

this hotel has only been open a couple of months. It is pristine! All the staff were very welcoming, when you are travelling alone, this makes a big difference. I stayed there twice in the last month and both times it was excellent. Couldn't fault it. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, views are better and it faces onto a quiet road. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RupertTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

room:
It is modern but quite small for a family to share. It has a small sofa bed. If you use the sofa bed, you won't have any room to walk around the room. the size is good enough for one person. I had 3 people in the room, and it was really packed!! BTW, the sofa bed is extrenmely uncomfortable. There is no bath tub. The heater did not work in my room, so it was quite cold. One day, it was windy and rany, and the water leaked from ceiling. It did not really matter much, but it kinda bothered me. The soup dispensers did not work properly, so I had to take the dispensers apart and pour them to get some soup.

location:
~5-10 min walk from East Croydon station. When rains, it feels quite far. It is convinient to go in/out to London. It takes ~20min to get to London Victoria station. Be sure to use Oyster card. It cost 2.80pound one way. If not using the oyster card, do expect to pay 5.60 point one way.

Breakfast:
not good. not many selections, and too many people. Don't expect much here.

Staff:
nothing special. My room was not ready for the sofabed, so I asked the recption to set it up, and they said 'All the linens are in the closet, so do it yourself!' Well, I forgot I was in a inn, not a hotel.

value:
I think this is a good value Inn. I paid <$100 per night, and that is the main reason I am giving this hotel 4 star. |Otherwise, I would rate this hotel 3 or 3.5.

Remember, you get what you paid for. No exception!

Room Tip: Be sure to use Oyster card. It cost 2.80pound one way to London. If not using the oyster card, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shoshosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton London Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton London Croydon

Property: Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Address: 29/30 Dingwall Road, Croydon CR0 2NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton by Hilton London Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton by Hilton London Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing