We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear - lukewarm food and high prices.”

Brasserie Vacherin Croydon
Ranked #24 of 475 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Brasserie Vacherin in Croydon is a traditional French brasserie where you can saviour the taste and enjoy the experience created by award winning chef Malcolm John.Just like the best brasseries in Paris, the atmosphere is relaxed with a varied menu to suit all tastes whilst the service is professional and friendly.The French bistro style decor features pictures from all regions across France and are displayed throughout the restaurant. The innovative lighting creates an open, contemporary space ideal for locals enjoying a light lunch or in the evenings for a post-office drinks. In the evenings whether you are celebrating a special occasion or want to experience a French brasserie at its best please join us for a memorable evening.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Oh dear - lukewarm food and high prices.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was meant to be a treat family meal out. Wines were good. However, when the starters came the mussels were lukewarm and the shells cold. When I asked for this to be put right the waiter summoned the manager(?) who took them away; they returned a few minutes later very hot and overcooked, indeed many were welded to the inside of the shell. I asked for extra bread to dip into the creamy sauce and we were charged for four!

The mains came very quickly and were again far from hot. The waiter pointed out when we ordered that the meals(average £15) are only accompanied by chips; so we ordered sea vegetables - small bowl of mixed of samphire and seaweeds at £3.50 and broccoli which was £2.75 for five small florets! Thats ridiculously expensive.

A compulsory service charge of 12.5% is added - for what? This place was a big disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    125
    55
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went here to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. There were several other celebrations taking place at the same time but the atmosphere remained very relaxed. The staff were absolutely excellent and the food great too. We had eaten here a few weeks earlier and it was so good to see the set menu had been refreshed - a nice surprise - the previous menu was just as good as yesterday's.

The staff were attentive without being in your face. There were lots of food choices to suit all tastes including the fussy eaters amongst us.

Birthday cake was presented with a smile. All in all a great afternoon had by all. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Fish & Grill offers very good food at reasonable prices.

Given realistic expectations, there is only one negative: the piped music is a tad too loud, making conversation more difficult than is necessary.

Otherwise, the service is both friendly and attentive; the food very accomplished (the scallops in my starter were slightly overdone, but it wasn't anything major) and the wine list both reasonably priced and interesting.

Croydon has a burgeoning "restaurant quarter" and Fish & Grill stands out from the middle-of-the-road offerings along South End. It's well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SprinterSacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good gastro pub style food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a Sunday lunch or can't be bothered to cook tonight solution for us in Croydon. Nothing overly fancy but nice food in comfortable surroundings. Service had taken a dip late last year but seems to be improving- staff could be a little more watchful of when customers are ready for their order to be taken/ need a drink. Overall great value for money though, hence the very good rating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went here with my family to take our Mum out for Mothers' Day. The service was very good, all the waiters are really friendly. The menu isn't over complicated. There is just enough choice, we all chose different things and all enjoyed our meals. The price is actually very reasonable. The cocktails were amazing, we all tried some different ones and were really impressed. If you want a nice dining experience for good value then this is the place to come. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NVMuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vacherin Croydon also viewed

Sutton, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Brasserie Vacherin Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing