We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked in, walked out again....”
Review of Bella Italia Croydon - CLOSED

Bella Italia Croydon
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Found along George Street, just off the High Street in central Croydon, Bella Italia is a favourite Italian restaurant for affordable eats. Decorated in the trademark rustic country style with tiled flooring and warm hues, this Croydon outlet of the popular restaurant group is always busy. The menu is wide and varied with something for everyone. Start with a tasty bruschetta topped with tomatoes, red onion, basil and rocket and follow with a steaming bowl of mushroom risotto. Desserts like the Godfather (chocolate fudge brownies, vanilla and toffee ice cream, chocolate sauce and fresh cream) ensure a meal is rounded off in style.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walked in, walked out again....”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went here for lunch on a Friday, restaurant was about half full, we were shown to a table towards the back and were the only people in this section. Waited 10 minutes for anyone to come near us, hadn't even been offered a menu, so we decided to leave and won't be going back there at lunchtime.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    34
    25
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Two enjoyable evenings here!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We came here for two nights as a couple with our three year old. The staff were very friendly to us and our son, made us feel very welcome.

Food was lovely!

On the second night it was our sons birthday and we asked nicely if they could bring out a little cake we'd brough with a candle along with our sons ice cream. They did this with balloons singing happy birthday, and a few people in the restaurant joined in, it made our sons day!!

If we travel to Croydon again we'll definetely come to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulu7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was disappointed at this restaurant. I ate pate for a starter and although the bread was gorgeous, the pate was very bland. My mains of meatballs was very plentiful, but served on a cold dish, it very soon chilled down. The meatballs also lacked seasoning and were very dry. I called it a day at that and thought that at £22 including 12% service charge that you have to tell them you are not paying (if you dare) including 1 beer, it wasn't a cheapy either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldFroggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible service and ok food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I visited as a first night out together alone in 6 months after the birth of our second child. Wasnt expecting the world but to be honest it ruined the very little time we have together alone as a couple.

Bad points:
The service was terrible. All of our food was literally thrown onto the table from a metre away so the plates would slide across the table. I can only presume this is because staff could not be bothered to walk into the corner.

No parmesan or pepper was offered and as food had been thrown from behind me staff had dissapeared before i had a chance to ask.

Finally when we asked for the bill it clanked as its metal tray hit the table, again being thrown. I would have left at this point not ecstatic about the experience but it would not have ruined my evening. However, when we discovered our bill had an 'optional' 12.5% service charge i was annoyed to be put in a position were i had to dispute it. We waited so long for someone to come to the table (restaurant about half full) that we had to find a member of staff to pay. The service charge was automatically numbered in the card machine. I really am not a fussy person but i have honestly recieved better service at macdonalds so to take a £6 tip was utterly disgraceful.

Good points:
On a more positive note the food was ok. Nothing special but what i expected. The calzone was also quite large and the atmosphere pleasant. Having said this i would not go again and would not recommend it. If you want a chain go to wagamamas or Nandos instead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant but just ok food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went here with a friend that didn't want to be too far from East Croydon station for her journey home. The restaurant inside has a lovely Italian country feel but the toilets could do with tarting up but were clean. The service was great and very friendly and helpful.

The food was good but not great! My mushrooms for starter were very tasty but the Carbonara for main tasted like it had come from a jar!!

Probably will go back but wouldn't go out of my to soon

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Croydon also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Kenley, Croydon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing