We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food for the price”
Review of Bella Italia Croydon - CLOSED

Bella Italia Croydon
Price range: $9 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Found along George Street, just off the High Street in central Croydon, Bella Italia is a favourite Italian restaurant for affordable eats. Decorated in the trademark rustic country style with tiled flooring and warm hues, this Croydon outlet of the popular restaurant group is always busy. The menu is wide and varied with something for everyone. Start with a tasty bruschetta topped with tomatoes, red onion, basil and rocket and follow with a steaming bowl of mushroom risotto. Desserts like the Godfather (chocolate fudge brownies, vanilla and toffee ice cream, chocolate sauce and fresh cream) ensure a meal is rounded off in style.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food for the price”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Local Italian who do nice food at a nice price, perhaps special offers would get more people in as their is always passing trade and a Pizza Express now opened so they will have competition.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    34
    25
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great menu,very tasty food,got a 30% discount for next meal in any Bella Italia

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 212095Maura_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not good. Service awful.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I visited the restaurant last week for dinner and it was very quiet for a Saturday evening- now I know why.

It took about 5 minutes to even get a menu even though there were only about 4 tables taken. The staff here seem to disappear when you need them.

The food came quickly and seemed to be microwaved- hot but tasteless.
When we attempted to order more drinks (as no waiting staff anticipate that you may want another) the staff were too busy laying napkins at empty tables?! It took nearly 10 minutes to order another glass of wine!

I'd never return to this restaurant, and probably never to the chain- the food and service was bad enough but then they add 12.5% to the bill!

In a word: rubbish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall U.K.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Typical Bella Italia”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were very hungry at the time so it did its job but don't expect great ambiance.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julian&Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Went in lunch hour with my husband as we both work together. Hardly anyone there, but still took a while to fullly take our order. We only ordered one largish lazagna (£15!) to share between us, and I ordered a desert for me!
Didn't mention that we were on lunch but... i've never needed to anywhere else before at lunchtime! And this place was a ghost town. Was nice in a way that it was nearly empty & intimate, but doesnt say much about Bella Italia in Croydon though!

After about 40 mins, in an almost empty restaurant except for 2 tables when we first walked in!!!! Told waitress we were on lunch hour! that's hour! And within 5 or so mins had a microwaved tasting Lazagna brought to our table...
really disapointing, could have made a far better one at home - even if it were microwaved! Certanly not worth the wait!!! Canceled desert as barley had time to get back to work! Think there's a lazy chef in that kitchen.

Bar man said "see you soon" as we walked out the door, thought to myself "not even if you paid me"

Went to the new Pizza Express, George st, Croydon (whcih is a few doors along) the day before... and was a million times better in every which way pos!!!! Tasty, speedy, excellent service, fab lighter decor & cheaper! Had starters & meals each in that time!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazzie_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Croydon also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing