We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, never.......please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lansdowne Hotel Croydon, never.......please”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Here are my personal experience and recommendation if you want to find a hotel near East Croydon Railway station. Travelodge Central Croydon is cheap, comfortable and nearest to the rail station and most accessible to nearby restaurants and shopping centre. The nearby hotels I recommend is Hampton by Hilton London Croydon and Jurys Inn Croydon. They are clean and comfortable. Jurys Inn Croydon has a 1-minute short cut to the nearby famous Whitgift centre. Hampton by Hilton London Croydon is a good choice but it is 2 minutes walk from Jurys Inn Croydon. However, the price is only two-third of the Jurys Inn Croydon and the breakfast is marvellous and FREE. However, never consider Lansdowne Hotel, it is dirty and the staff is rather rude. They reception doesn't really realise that she is working in a hotel. She doesn't seem to welcome your queries, say, where is the nearest available carpark or famous restaurants. The bed is only two feet and six inches only. It is barely enough for those who are less than 130 lbs. It is far worse than the Travelodge adjacent which is half its price. However, I don't know why they are charging the same price as Jurys Inn Croydon which is directly opposite the street. They are quite strict and won't let you check-in before the check-in time even there is room available. The swimming pool in the website doesn't belong to the hotel, it belongs to the adjacent fitness club only. The staff there don't seem to welcome the guest from the Lansdowne hotel. I don't know I have to register to get inside since I am a really a stranger and thought it was part of the hotel. The staff stopped me immediately at the entrance and gave very impolite warning to me that I couldn't do this again. It is totally not value for money since there are many good choices around that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HongKongPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita K, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Philip,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review.

I was very disappointed to read your dissatisfaction with the service you have received. I have discussed your feedback with the team to ensure all quires are welcome from the guests and answered to the best of the team’s knowledge. Regarding your dissatisfaction with the size of the bed I can assure you, in the double room we provide standard queen sized bed and in the twin room two standard single sized beds which are a meter wide.
The check in starts at 3pm, but if we have rooms available we are more than happy to check the guest in early; late check-out can also be requested on reception depending on availability. The swimming pool is operated by the Solution fitness club is a separate business. Our guests are welcome to use their facilities FREE of charge for which the voucher can be picked up from reception. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. If you wish to discuss the matter further feel free to contact me.

I hope you give us another chance to show you this is not the usual standard which we operate under.

Kind regards,

Anita Kadar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    89
    66
    34
    27
See reviews for
34
83
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 3 days, good location,close to shopping centre,bars,restaurants. Free use of gym facilities and pool! We've been travelling ,so it was very convenient for us,15 min by train from Gatwick airport.Only problem was the building itself I asuppose,bit old.Room was cozy,cleaned every day,staff ok.Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FastUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wan C, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Pleased to hear stay was enjoyable, free pool, gym and you found all the ameniites close by with clean & cozy rooms. Travel links is excellent. Thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived late looking for accommodation, after being turned away from several places, this hotel had rooms available. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable. It is in a great location and handy to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wan C, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Delighted you found everything to your satisfaction and in particular the staff friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been a using the hotel for the last 12 months. Excellent manager (Wan) and the team (Roxy, Marrisa, Althea, Sheerin, Valentine, Cordialia, sedique and the cleaners). I have nothing but great comments. I have been treated as part of the hotel and not just a guest. Whenever I have needed help, advice, room assistance, they have been spot on. Would I recommend the hotel - absolutely. Croydon is not the best place when working but great for london access. Great people, service and always with a smile. A credit to the hotel chain. Keep the great work up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wan C, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the team here ''Thank you very much'' for your kind feedback which is always greatly appreciated when the team is recognised. We are delighted you have found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found the hotel easily from the rail station and were a little early, our room was ready though and so we were allowed to check-in without extra charge. The room was comfortable with a big bathroom, telly, tea/coffee and alarm clock, was a little noisy with the window open but then you are near the centre of things.
Use of the adjoining leisure centre is included in your stay but sadly we did not have time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have bigger bathrooms with outside windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 158Trojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wan C, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your feed back which has been beneficial and we are pleased you were able to check in early as we had your room ready and you like the convenient location and facilities.

Regards
Wan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Given the title because it was nearly a hotel! Most of the staff quite unhelpful and without personality sadly. We were nearly able to get us both in the lift with our luggage. The room (311) at the end of the corridor next to the main road/tram stop was incredibly noisy. The window nearly shut. The curtains nearly closed. We nearly had enough room not to bump into each other. The room we think had been updated but sadly the bathroom had not. It was only for one night but that was enough.

I can't say anything else about this property except that with a lot of work it could be more than nearly a hotel! Very disappointing and pleased we didn't book at the £75+ a night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneNottingham_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feed back which is of help for us to improve and and we are disappointed to hear your comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is right near the centre of Croydon a 10 minute walk from the train station. There is no parking at the hotel, they suggest you park in the NCP, I parked on the meters opposite which charge £2.80 from 6pm - 8am.

There is a gym which stays open till 10pm and a pool which opens at 6.30am, in need of decoration and upgrade but I used it every day.

The room is compact, had I not been in the centre of town and had the gym I'd have felt very claustrophobic. In comparison, the bathroom is huge! There's bathroom supplies and tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits in the room. The room is clean and modern with a tilting window. I didn't see evidence of air con but there was a heater.

There's lots of places to eat all within walking distance as there's no restaurant within the hotel.

It's.....ok!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne_leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, glad you are please room is clean, gym, location and the provision of hot chocolate, coffee, biscuits etc

Look ofrward to seeing you soon

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in Croydon
1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Property: The Lansdowne Hotel
Address: 1 Lansdowne Road, Croydon CR0 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne Hotel is ideally located at the hub of Croydon's main business and shopping district, with superb transport links to central London (17 minutes), Heathrow and Gatwick airports and road links connecting to all the major motorways in the South East. Guests at the Lansdowne benefit from FREE WIFI, complimentary use of the extensive range of fitness equipment, relax in the pool or with a spa session at Solutions Health & Fitness Club within the hotel, discounted car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing