We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail and that car park machine.”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently spent a Saturday night there on the 16th November, which is the norm, every 6/8 weeks when we visit our daughter who lives in the area. The reason,s we pick the Park Hotel are numerous. Its locality, standards, breakfasts, and attention to reasonable detail, especially since it has been refurbished. We have tried other hotels in the area but we return to this one.
On the visit above the only issue of concern was the problem in the dinning hall for breakfast, the restaurant is open from 08:00 to 10:30 hours we arrived down at 09:55 and found the place a little chaotic, no bacon, sausage, or mushrooms on the hot plates and the que as significant we spoke to the supervisor, (who is fantastic) she stated they always like to keep the food as fresh and just cooked as possible, but everyone had come into the room at about 10:00 hours and just swamped them. I had to sympathise with her as she was trying to do the best under the circumstances. And i also had to agree with her motives, as I have said before the food here is one of the reason we visit. We also noted on this visit that one of the lifts had broke down hence only one lift was working. They have 3 lifts one of which is normally not used hence it would be assumed that when one is faulty they would call into operation the third, but not this time we had to suffer the consequences.
One final moan, the car park or dare i say the gates they are a pain in the rectum, the exit particularly, the machine is in a very awkward position, half the time it does not work on a swiped card. overall it needs attention.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear 550DavidM

Thanks for leaving us a review here. All your comments have been noted and we look forward to hosting you again in the next 6/8 weeks.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel close to East Croydon railway station and trams. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Bar, reception and restaurant well decorated etc, our room could do with an update but clean nevertheless, and very comfortable. No noise from outside, all usual facilities in room, tea/coffee making, fresh towels, shower cap etc and complimentary bottle of water in the room. Wifi available in room at a charge of £3.50 ph or £10 for 24 hours, but you can use a terminal in the reception area for free for up to 15 minutes, although I didn't notice any timer attached to access, but you have to stand up so that probably dissuades most people for over staying their time. Breakfast needs to booked in advance for £10, otherwise it is about 50% more. Breakfast choice good. Eat in the bar at lunchtime and food was good, both sandwiches and cooked food. Car parking is under hotel at a charge of £5 per day, you can leave car until you finally depart from area at no extra charge, just need your ticket validated by reception, keep ticket received at entry barrier safe as you need this to get out of car park. Overall a good stay, no noise despite being near a road etc, comfortable beds, hot water readily available, shower okay but needs updating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear greytripper

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Its nice to see that you had a good stay with us. Wi-Fi is complimentary in all rooms with an access code that is given by Reception. I am not sure where you saw those cost being advertised and please accept my apologies if you did not enjoy the use of Wi-Fi in your room because you thought you had to pay. The next time you are with us pick a code a Reception.

We look forward to see you in the near future.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed here before, but usually it has been in, head down and out. This time I had some time on my hands and thought I would take in the experience. When I arrived the receptionist was friendly and helpful. I always have trouble understanding where to park my car! This was easy.
The room was clean and comfortable, plenty of room and tastefully decorated. The hotel itself is well situated for rail links into London or Heathrow and local links are all within walking distance.
A short walk past the law courts and you will find pubs and restaurants and a busy shopping centre. Perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms would appear fine, there are smoking rooms on floor I think?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear tonymac1960

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Happy to see that you took some time to enjoy the experience. And now that you have I am sure you will be back.

Hopefully you were able to try our facilities such as Restaurant, Bar and Leisure club. if you did not make sure you do on your return.

See you soon.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Have stayed here many times, always come away wanting to return. Rooms are excellent, clean and well maintained. Evening meals are a fantastic buffet with a massive selection, all very tasty and high quality. Breakfast is also a well stocked buffet and not to be missed. Reception staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient, quite a rarity at other hotels in this area. Oscars bar is just right for a relaxing drink. Hotel is in a surprisingly quiet street but just 2 minutes walk from East Croydon railway station which is a 20 minute train journey from central London. Why pay silly prices for a hotel up town when you can have this quality at half the price in easy travelling distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear 816paulr

Thanks for leaving us a review here. I have to agree with your statement when you say: 'why pay silly prices for a hotel uptown'.

Its really nice to see that you enjoy all that our hotel have to offer. I know you will be back soon, so we look forward to having you again.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Returned here for lunch with wife & friends after an absence of 4 years. All extremely pleased with the meal (buffet style) choice of starters was excellent. Only slight niggle was the gammon carvery main course choice was pre carved! A chef in attendance would have been a plus.
Good value for money,pleasant decor & a very enjoyable occasion.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank GOALS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear GOALS10

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Well, after seeing what you have been missing, I am sure you will not stay away for four years, but will be back very soon.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the 2nd year i've attended the Little Big Hero Charity Ball at Croydon Park Hotel, and all I can say is WOW!!! It was such an amazing evening. The food was good, the service excellent and the Staff were very acoomodating and extremely pleasant and professional. I particularly loved the helpful nature of Edgar, he made sure we had a fantastic evening. Also Sherree was very professional and friendly and helped us sort out a problem which we encountered. Overall a very enjoyable evening and a very good stay! Thank you guys, and I look forward to the next years one! Highly recommended! :) If you are looking to stay here ask for Sherree or Edgar, they will make your stay very good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yas013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Yas013

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Indeed 5* service is what we aim to deliver here at The Croydon Park Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself and we hope you will make it again next year.

Sheeree and Edgar will be well pleased to know that they contributed in making your event a great one.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I attended the little big hero event on saturday the 16th of november and i was over whelmed by the food, staff and the entertainment. Sheree who i believe organised the event was a star and is credit to your hotel and also Edgar who was very helpful aswell. Overall the event was a huge success and it was a very entertaining night in particular the beat boxing, dancing and the thai boxing demo, i am looking forward to the next little big hero event well done to the organisers and the staff at this hotel for raising so much money for such a worthy cause keep it up guys and cant wait for the next one!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear 910glennd

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Using the words excellent to describe our staff and great to describe our food and entertainment truly makes us happy.

Your kind comments are really appreciated and will be passed on to Sheeree and Edgar. We look forward to hosting the next event.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range: $73 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing