We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a stop over”
Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent for a stop over”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, and were greeted so well by te reception staff they were very friendly ( reception manager not sure of name) we had a twin room which was spacious and comfortable and very clean.
We are in oscars and even though to us it's done very old fashioned and the food on the buffet was not so great the staff were attentive and tried there best. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stop over

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luganolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear luganolp

Thanks for leaving us a review here. All your comments are noted. Hope to see you again real soon.


Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    415
    244
    96
    88
See reviews for
201
306
79
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We put a two as we didn't see rats and roaches... But given the general cleanliness we wouldn't be surprised...

We didn't inspect the room too closely before going to dinner... But after the state of the dining room it was hard not to notice other people's hair in the bathroom, dust and general grub.

The food on the buffet was tasteless or had a funny taste to it. We had bets with ourselves at how many services the pork had seen... We were both a bit worried about our constitutions for the next day. The waiter/ manager did give us a discount as he 'noticed we hadn't eaten a lot' (translation: we overheard you joking about the quality of the food). To be honest we still felt over charged. Breakfast was better but still not a 4* hotel experience.

I think this is my overall problem. On the face of it the hotel has been high end. It looks a bit tired and poorly kept (mum had a hole in the headboard where her bedside table once was the lamp was loosing its grip on the wall and mould on the shower curtain). The details you expect of 4* just weren't there (hideous plastic flowers, there wasn't a bit of glass without finger marks on it, or a hair dryer with a cable long enough to see into the mirror etc).

On the plus side the staff were really helpful and friendly. Smiling and willing to help at all times. The room smelled fresh when we came in. It is easily accessible to the tube and town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank saraboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Let's start with the poor: Check In From 3pm, arrived at 3pm and reception said your rooms are not ready. 3pm is a little later than some hotels offer check in services anyway and to be told that the rooms are still not ready was disappointing.

The Good: Staff, very helpful, Food: Buffet £23 option was an assortment of starters (lots of ocean dishes too), main courses including a carved option (gammon on our evening - which was cooked beautifully) and desserts including help yourself cheese 'n biscuits .... I was very impressed with the buffet option, presentation was wonderful and also salad selection and choice was great ... I would recommend this.

Rooms have A/C with a medium sized TV and general Freeview.

Car Parking is £5 - which is great value as checked in on the Saturday and returned from Wimbledon on the Sunday evening rather late for a fiver...

Overall: I'd happily stay again and have no problems recommending this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Steve1202

Thanks for leaving us a review here. So sorry that your room was not ready at 3pm when you arrived, I can assure you that this was a very rare occasion.

Even though 3pm is our check-in time, if guests arrives and we have rooms ready before 3pm, its absolutely no problem to check them in.

Your kind comments regarding the food and the staff will be passed on and we hope to see you in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Was a busy Saturday afternoon and they were in over their heads. Had a Cliff Richard event and a large party. Did not have adequate staff in reception so took 25 minutes to check in and enable the disabled parking. On arrival in room, overall it was clean and well decorated but only equipped with supplies for one instead of the booked two! Most weird! Breakfast was yummy but table cloth was dirty when sat down, as was the cutlery so had to seek replacements. One member of staff barked at us to leave, two minutes we would have been gone anyway but it was the way she said it. Overall an 'ok' experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hElly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear hEllyB357

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Firstly I would like to apologise for the things that did not go quite so well during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience was only an 'ok' one as we strive for excellence, however, we seemed to have come up short in some areas.

All your comments are noted and will be addressed. Its my hope that you will give us a chance in the near future to show the hospitality that we so pride ourselves in giving.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

lunch was superb and very good value and service was excellent. As I only went for lunch the other ratings are irrelevant. My friend and I went for a spa treatment. The pool was small but adequate but we were disappointed that the jacuzzi was out of action. The facial and massage were fabulous.

Room Tip: I did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear FrancesO576

Thanks for leaving us a review here. Happy to see that you enjoyed the facilities that you used. Sorry to hear that the Jacuzzi was out of order when you came.

Why not treat yourself to an overnight stay with us? I am sure you will enjoy that too.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A one-night stay as part of a package. The hotel was pretty full on a Saturday night with what looked like several group bookings (including ours).

Check-in was not available until 3pm and some peoples' rooms were not ready until after 4pm. Restaurant stopped serving lunch at 2pm. Food in the bar was OK although pricey, service got rather stretched with people having to wait some time for their food.

Rooms rather drab and dated. We had a room on 5th floor. Not sure if this was a refurbished room, but if it was, then I'd hate to see the un-refurbished rooms. As an example, the mixer tap in the bathroom has been cleaned so often that the chrome plate had worn off exposing the brass underneath. On the plus side, the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast was the ususal buffet affair, again, nothing wrong with it, but nothing special.

So, not a hotel I'd actively avoid, but it didn't excite me. Fine for a few nights business stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms probably better. There's an array of a/c compressors which look to be outside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grundfuttock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Grundfuttock2

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your comments have been noted.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zejtun, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a four star hotel in Croydon on the outskirts of London, close to Gatwick airport. The CPH is easily reached by car, taxi or train which drops you practically on the hotel's doorstep. The hotel in itself is nothing impressive on the outside but the deal was excellent. Got two connecting rooms which were extremely spacious. Bed linen, towels etc were changed daily. Breakfast was very good, with an excellent choice of hot and cold food. The location is not exactly central London but the hotel is just 3 minutes walk from the train station where you can get to London Victoria in under 15 minutes. Besides being close to the station this hotel is within walking distance (about 10 minutes) from Croydon's main shopping centres were some realy good deals can be found. A word about the service in the hotel; the staff is really helpful. They really go out of their way to help. All in all it was a very positive experience staying at Croydon Park hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear IanS151

Thanks for leaving us a review here. WOW!!! Thanks a lot for sharing with the world your experience with us. We do appreciate this and hope to get the chance to host you again in the near future.

Your kind words will be passed to my colleagues who I am sure will be pleased to know that they were able to help in making your stay a great one.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#7 of 24 in Croydon
1,168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Property: Croydon Park Hotel
Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing