We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place, but shop for a bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Croydon Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Croydon Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Croydon
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“nice place, but shop for a bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice hotel, I had to wait almost 15 minutes to register as the receptionist was on duty alone and was taking enquireis for the gym. I booked a superior room through laterooms.com and got a real bargain, large room, almost a suite, plus robe and slippers etc for the price of a normal room. On saying that, it was nice, comfortable and clean but faceless and corporate.The bar is ok with a decent selection of beers and lager and reasonably priced food.
There was nothing to complain about and nothing to really praise, just ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TonyM

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your points are noted.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    384
    223
    85
    79
See reviews for
179
275
75
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here one night on business. Check in was smooth, the room OK, clean well laid out but just felt a bit dated. The food was very good and the staff spot on. I will stay here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myboyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear myboyjim

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

Its very pleasing to see that all went well with your stay, you kind word will be shared with my colleagues, and we do look forward to welcoing you back when you are in the area.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Rooms are a good size, and very comfortable. The challenge is that the decor is very dated, but I will say this...

The air con is the most powerful I have ever come across! Made the stay much more comfortable in the muggy late September I stayed.

Overall, service was very good, the bar is quite good with a good selection. Proximity to the train station is what sells it here as well as the fact that the rooms are very quiet. that for me is "a good thing"

Good value too, and in all likelihood, I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a "deluxe" if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear DamienKeegan

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

All your points are noted..

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

There is no choice in this area of good quality hotels and this may be why the hotel is as it is. The room (a junior suite) was a reasonable price for London - but this is not London and very much downtown Croydon. Spacious, clean but dated and in need of a makeover. Shower basic and cheap shower gels etc. The service was vaguely well intentioned but poor in practice. If you want a place to sleep which is reasonable and with ok facilities, and v close to the station, this is fine, Just don't expect any luxury - they get the 4 stars for the health club and 24 recep and not much more!
As written above, no good competition to up their game - owned by an Indian investment company with a large portfolio. Make your own judgement!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear katiefox

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I can assure you that it takes a whole lot more than Leisure Club and 24hr reception to obtain and sustain our 4 star rating. I am not sure why you would say that the hotel is owned by an indian company with a large portfolio.


Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've stayed at the Croydon Park on several occasions when visiting London. There are cheaper options nearby but have always found the Park the best choice. I booked as a single person for a reunion with ex works colleagues but was given a large double room which was very clean and tidy.

As on previous occasions the reception staff were friendly and helpful and the booking in and out process quick and painless. I had a few drinks with friends in the hotel bar and although prices were a bit more than the high street the atmosphere was pleasant and comfortable.

I did not eat in the hotel on this occasion as I was dining out with friends but on previous occasions Oscars restaurant was always enjoyable.

I will continue to use this hotel when visiting Croydon as I've never been dissapointed with the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear shiner54

Thanks for leaving us a review here.

I am really happy to see that as a returning guest you have always found us to be great. Thats really pleasing to us, as ensuring that all our guest have a great time with us is our priority.

We do looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on vacation with our baby. They did provide a crib (cot) for the baby. The hotel is dated but was overall ok. My husband enjoyed the sauna. For the price, they should include breakfast. We ate in the restaurant for lunch one day which was a buffet. It was ok though maybe overpriced (about 15 pounds each).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAF32082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear KAF32082

Thanks for leaving us a review here. We give guests the option of booking their reservations with or withour breakfast, so the next time you book try our breakfast option, I am sure you will enjoy it.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently stayed in the Croydon Park Hotel for a week when in Croydon for work. The hotel is in an ideal location as it is close to East Croydon train station, and it isn't far into the centre of Croydon.

The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. When I arrived on Sunday evening I found that the lock on my rooms window was broken, and the window would not shut. After phoning reception, it didn't take them long to send someone to look at it and then arrange for an alternative room when they couldn't fix it.

The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. Breakfast is also good with a wide range of choices.

The gym was not great as it was in two sections, with cardio downstairs and weights upstairs. There is not a lot of room in the weights area and so it would be quite difficult to train there if it was busy.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again if I visited Croydon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydonpark, Front Office Manager at Croydon Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear KateH

Thaks for leaving us a review here.

Here at The croydon Park Hotel its our wish that all our guest will leave having had a great stay, so that they will desire to return. I am so glad that in your case our wish has come through. Looking forward to hosting you agin in the near future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 23 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Croydon
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Park Hotel

Property: Croydon Park Hotel
Address: 7 Altyre Road, Croydon CR9 5AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Croydon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Croydon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warmest Welcome in Croydon...Look no further than Croydon Park Hotel London for all you would expect from a great 4* experience.We've just been through a fantastic refurbishment of our lobby and one floor of bedrooms to ensure your stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.When choosing your next break in London, be it leisure or business what more could you ask for than a great location in the metropolitan center of Croydon, a newly refurbished hotel, FREE WIFI, great values as well as a team of friendly and experienced staff to make your stay one to remember.Getting here could not be easier, we are 15 minutes off the M25, from Gatwick Airport we are just 15 minutes and East Croydon Station is just a stone's throw from our doorstep, as is Croydon's tram-link. By train you will be in London's West End in just 15 minutes.Car parking available £5 per day for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Croydon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing